We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely B and B” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 7 Masham B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely B and B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Really enjoyed our trip to Masham and staying at Millgate. A very warm welcome, a lovely, quiet location on the edge of Masham square, with a great view of the church spire from our room. Heartily recommended and hope to be back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ian D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 17 June 2014
Dear Ian
Thank you for your review of our B&B and for your recommendation. We are delighted that you plan to return as we are only a short hop from home in York.

Thank you too for your charming description of the location and the view. We are both looking forward to your next visit. Give our love to A.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

644 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    631
    10
    2
    0
    1
See reviews for
52
485
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
South West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

We loved our very short stay at Millgate - the rooms are beautiful, the town is very friendly and Sue is such a fun hostess. In fact we could have sat around all day chatting and having a laugh - just like staying with friends, thank you both so much. Am completely converted to lovely Yorkshire now and will be back.

Room Tip: If you want en suite book a double
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Outandabouti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear CharlesS883
Thank you for writing this review about your recent stay at Millgate. We are both delighted to have won a convert to the North Yorkshire pace of life. It is a great place to recharge your batteries and we are dielighted that you plan a return visit.

We hope to impress you when you visit Masham with some delightful ideas for days out and we look forward to having you stay for a little longer next time.

All our best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014

We stayed 3 nights and every thing was just perfect .The welcoming tea and home made scones on arrival and whatever you want breakfasts wonderful.The help we had on arrival and leaving was just so good and very appreciated Nothing too much trouble for Sue and Andrew. Very highly recommended,You will not find anything better. Valerie and Graham Smith.

Room Tip: They must all be excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank CharlesS883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Valerie & Graham
So many compliments in your review - Thank you. We were both touched by your flattering description. So glad you enjoyed the scones and our award winning breakfasts.

Thank you for the "highly recommended" comment. It was our pleasure to have you as our guests and we look forward to your return.

Best wishes to a lovely couple
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2014

Sue and Andrew are lovely people and it shows in their hospitality. You're not going to a B&B, you're going to a warm, friendly relation, who is willing to make your stay very memorable.
You really can't expect any better. It's a pity they can't control the weather, but they would if they could. All your needs are catered for and nothing is too much trouble. How many B&B's would serve fresh trout for breakfast, of course, caught by Andrew. Information on all aspects is very well prepared and Sue and Andrew will help with every need. Well done to you both for having a remarkable home / B&B. It's the first time ever, that we nearly extended our stay ! We will return in the very near future. Thank you so much for a lovely time. Good luck for the future. Andrew & Janice

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cravenmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Dear Andrew & Janice
Thank you for your good wishes and this magical review. Your comments are very kind and we are both delighted that you enjoyed your stay so much.

Your high praise for us, our home and the food are really appreciated and we are both looking forward to your return visit. This review made my day - Thank you.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

From the huge, warm and delicious scone on arrival to the immaculate room and marvellous breakfast we couldn't find fault with any part of our stay at Millgate. Sue and Andrew were welcoming and helpful; providing good advice on places to visit and printing off a map for us while we ate breakfast on Sunday. 5* treatment all round including the lovely touch of a birthday card for my partner as I had mentioned it would be his birthday when I booked the room. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bee159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Bee159
From the opening sentence to the last we loved every bit of your lovely review - thank you. We like to surprise our guests with a card and a little gift if we have advance warning of a celebration during their stay. ( I hope he didn't mind my singing Happy Birthday at breakfast).

We print Google maps to assist our guests planning their outings as there is so much to see and do in the area. We also have a huge file of invigorating walks - long and short for our guests to browse and use during their stay.

Thank you for highly recommending us and we hope you come back to Masham soon.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2014

Well-appointed accommodation with excellent en-suite bathroom, very nicely decorated, everything in excellent condition and a delicious breakfast to set you up for the day. The proprietors, Sue & Andrew, are are charming, helpful and friendly. Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ronny39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 12 June 2014
Dear Ronny39
Thank you for taking the time to write your delightful review of your stay at Millgate. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and our Award Winning Breakfast - we certainly enjoyed your company and hope to see you again one day.

Thank you for highly recommending us.

Best wishes
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

visited millgate for the first time 30th/31st may 2014 couldn't have been looked after better 1st class treatment so friendly and welcoming with lots of lovely extra touches will definitely stay again thankyou so much sue and Andrew. stayed in b&b in masham before but this was superior to that! love from Julia&wayne from barnsley

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yamahaxjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SueMillgateMasham, Owner at Millgate Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Dear Julia & Wayne

Thank you for awarding us your Gold Star. We enjoy spoiling our guests and the rewards we get in return is forming friendships with lovely people like yourselves.

We are really glad that you plan to return to Millgate B&B. We both look forward to showing you more of the treats that Masham has for visitors to enjoy.

Kindest regards
Sue & Andrew Burrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
1.1 mi away
Swinton Park
Swinton Park
#2 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,191 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Old Deanery
The Old Deanery
#1 of 5 in Ripon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
0.2 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#2 of 7 in Masham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Old Coach House
The Old Coach House
#1 of 1 in North Stainley
5.0 of 5 bubbles 790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millgate Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millgate Bed & Breakfast

Property: Millgate Bed & Breakfast
Address: 5 Millgate, Masham HG4 4EQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Masham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Millgate Bed & Breakfast we provide 3 lovely letting bedrooms for our guests with luxurious beds and high-quality bedding. Our Award Winning Breakfasts are cooked to order and served with freshly baked bread. Our guests receive all sorts of little extras; a sociable welcome with complimentary refreshments on arrival, chilled and filtered water and fresh milk for beverages, serviced rooms, conversation, views, a peaceful and quiet location, advice and guidance on the best places to visit, plus flat screen TV, Internet access etc. All presented in a unique, Grade 2 listed historic family home which is both characterful and idiosyncratic and run with painstaking attention to detail. Quite simply a joy to stay in which is why we receive 100% Excellent reviews from our guests. Come and try Millgate for yourself. Walking distance to all the pubs and restaurants,yards from Masham's historic Market Place with its galleries, shops, cafes and restaurants and a short walk to Theakston and Black Sheep Breweries. Lovely riverside walks just off Millgate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Millgate Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millgate Bed & Breakfast Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing