We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Flying High with these beautiful birds!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swinton Park Birds of Prey

Swinton Park Birds of Prey
Ranked #7 of 17 things to do in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This is a wonderful centre which offers many experiences for the whole family. Falconry, Birds of Prey hunting, demonstrations, childrens events etc. They also have fun things like Hawk and Bafrn Owl Ring Bearing and Dove release for weddings. The center is found at Swinton Park, but is owned and run by Sophie Abbott. Very much appreciated experience!
London
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Flying High with these beautiful birds!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

We booked a taster session with Sophie for my family to meet her beautiful birds. We were not disappointed. Sophie was absolutely excellent and a credit to Swinton Park. She is so knowledgable and clearly loves her birds very much. She was patient and brilliant with pitching her talk fabulously to cater for my five year old twins. They had a ball handling the birds and watching them fly.
Please, please, please book a taster session (at the very least) with Sophie if you are staying at Swinton Park - you will LOVE it.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank HenWeekender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014

There were 7 of us from a local camera club visiting for the day.
I had such a brilliant time and managed lots of superb shots of the birds.
Nothing was too much trouble. We had the photographer, Jed Wee, as part of the package to help if we were stuck.
Highly recommended you will not be disappointed!!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shyleir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful Owls!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014 via mobile

We treated our niece to the Owl Experience as she is a huge Harry Potter fan. Sophie was brilliant! Very knowledgeable and it was obvious how much she cared for her birds and the skill that had gone in to their training. We cannot recommend the experience highly enough and we have added this to our list of birthday gifts for family and friends. Swinton Park is a beautiful hotel with delightful grounds. After the owls, we had cream tea and the service and quality were excellent.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

After a walk around the stunning grounds of Swinton Park we had the delightful experience of calling an Eagle Owl and Harris Hawk with the help of Sophie. Recommended for anyone.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Robert D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Up close and very personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Fantastic saunter through the woods with Sophie and her Harrier Hawk, the opportunity to feed her Eagle Owl and Steppe Eagle, and see them fly onto our hands was such a privilege! Beautiful birds and Sophie is a generous and charming host.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank margotswift15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Swinton Park Birds of Prey also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Swinton Park Birds of Prey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing