We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (242)
Filter reviews
242 results
Traveller rating
176
46
5
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
176
46
5
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub wood burner bunk barn druids temple no electricity hen party tea lights cool box shower block log cabin fairy lights extra blankets off grid cafe food camping experience great cafe hand soap
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 242 reviews
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I've just returned from my hen party where our group took over 3 of the woodland huts. It was ideal for us - the huts were beautifully fitted out and contained everything we needed. The setting was gorgeous - such a lovely view over the fields in the morning. We arrived in the evening and it was pretty dark so make sure you bring a head torch along with extra candles and lanterns for inside the hut. I would also recommend bringing wellies rather than walking boots as they're so much easier to pull on and off when you need to nip between the huts and back to the car park - it was pretty muddy underfoot. The staff at Bivouac were all lovely - incredibly friendly and happy to help. They were easy to get hold of on the out of hours mobile number and were more than happy to come up to the huts when we needed a battery for the smoke alarm. We ate at the cafe on the first evening and the food was delicious. We also took part in a Christmas wreath making workshop and the cafe provided mulled wine and cheese - and plenty of it. Thanks very much for a lovely stay. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend you.

Room Tip: Go for the huts if you're travelling out of the summer. Once you get the fire going they're lovely and cosy.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I had no idea what was in store as the long weekend had been arranged by my wife for our 27th wedding anniversary. We have been fans of the great outdoor adventure most of our lives and enjoy Yurts, tepees, log cabins anything quirky really. We were met by a young man who showed us the shack down a muddy track. Would have appreciated a little assistance or at least offer of assistance with the luggage (tricky underfoot in the mud carrying your cases, food etc rather than than trying to identify some of the local fungus). The shack was great and free refills for the wood stove at the shop. No problems with the primitive but functional fixtures and fittings as you know what you are getting into when booking. Druids temple was an interesting folly and the countryside lovely with herons, deer and other assorted wildlife in abundance. The cafe at the Bivouac produced excellent food and the interior was imaginatively fitted out with furniture constructed from machinery and local timber such as stools made from clutch plates and tractor seats with skillfully put together hand made ballustrades and bannisters. Everything was very organic and recycled and did justice to the owners vision. On the down side we felt that service was lacking and attention to detail needed a little work to justify the price tag. For instance within an hour of unpacking we decided to start cooking our meal on the camp stove, the gas lasted 5 minutes and ran out! We then rang the out of hours phone number and had to leave a message as no-one responded. Eventually I had to make my way down to the farm house and speak to the people on reception who were hardly empathetic although the problem was remedied promptly. The choices of food items in the shop were limited to organic drinks and snack bars. Apparently it was not worth keeping bacon, sausages and so on as during this time of the season there is not enough demand. Sorry folks but I want my cooked breakfast in the morning and not have to drive to the Coop at Masham to get them. We had also pre-booked a hot tub for £60 for the entire day. It was fairly obvious that the staff were not keen on setting this up as we had various excuses and attempts to avoid doing so i.e. "it,s not working". Then we could not have it until 2pm on the day which was not much good as most of the party had to leave at 3pm, eventutally and after much badgering the hot tub was finally made ready, very nice too with a few beers and the fairy lights lit as a backdrop in the pitch black. So in summation, accommodation very good but the service lacked. Please pay a little more attention to your guests and their needs as this has the potential to be a little gold mine if you get the balance right. Customer service excellence should be consistent throughout and not vary depending on the time of season or how many guests that you might have. Would still come again though.

Room Tip: Bring powerful torches. Be prepared to slog your luggage through the mud when applicable. Remind the children that technology ceases to exist at this point unless you enjoy watching them panic as their battery power keeps declining with no means of charging up!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steve w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We held our wedding weekend at the Bivouac. We were looking for a relaxed and friendly place to get our family together for a relaxed weekend and a party to celebrate our marriage. The Bivouac team were amazing all weekend and we absolutely could not have asked for more. The setting of the cabins and yurts were perfect and our whole gang of friends and family had a great time. The food and service provided made our day perfect, they even arranged for the sun to come out for our pictures ;-) If your looking for somewhere unique with a friendly service and brilliant food and atmosphere then look no further than the Bivouac. Book your wedding here, you won't be disappointed xx

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CatTPhoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We, a family of five, stayed in one of the woodland shacks and it was fantastic! So much thought had gone into the facilities. It was super cosy and comfortable. Stunning countryside, tonnes to do and staff who couldn't do enough for us. All in all a thoroughly enjoyable weekend, we hope to return soon!

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cecandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We were a family staying. The setting is exceptional and the staff are indeed friendly, but for the price the toilets and common room were not as clean as expected. I felt the yurt was quite small, as well, really better for 2 rather than for a family. I do think the awful weather impacted our stay, but even in the sunshine this is still very much a camping experience (extremely expensive camping, that is). It is possible that they were short of staff. For about the same money, I would say that the Featherdown Farms are more comfortable and spacious for a family. (I am comparing the yurt; I did not see the shacks.) The food at the cafe was good quality and the beer excellent. I thought it was crazy that they were charging children £1 to make a leaf picture.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank E Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews