We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect hen weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Bivouac at Druid's Temple
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I returned from my hen weekend yesterday. We booked 2 woodland shacks for 2 nights. The staff were lovely and friendly and all went perfectly.
We started the Saturday with breakfast in the cafe. Food was lovely. Then we did a woodland treasure hunt which was fun even though the weather was pants! Good fun and the treasure was brill (I won't spoil it just in case :0)).
We then chilled out in the shacks for a few hours and had lunch. We then went to the cafe for cocktail making with George. He was a lovely man and he was funny :0) we definitely got our money's worth of alcohol, and were a tad 'tipsy' after that lol! We had the hot tub too which was lovely once we'd cooled it down! It's heated by burning logs which is lovely and like I said, was lovely once we'd added some cold water. The day was finished off at the camp fire where we cooked our tea and chilled out.
Overall I had the best hen do I could have asked for. Obviously this was down to the people I shared it with and their hard work and planning thT had gone into it. However without the bivouac and their great service etc it wouldn't have been possible. Thank you so so much! :0)

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jemm85a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (193)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 193 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

The most beautiful and relaxing place to stay...it opens up the British countryside by plonking you right in the middle of it. With Nature all around and walks that start from your doorstep. You can unpack, leave your car in the car park and set off on your own adventure. A stunning location away from the noise of any traffic, we spend an entire weekend in absolute heaven.
Highly recommended for any couples/families looking for a get away. You do see and hear other families and guests, but people remain respectful of their surroundings and peace descends on the camp from around 10.30 pm.
It's an all round - wish you could go every weekend kind of place.

Room Tip: The Yurts are brilliant if you like a bit of Vintage style
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green74peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really lovely place. A large group of us stayed in the yurts and one of the shacks. We hired the hot tub for one afternoon too which was very nice with a few cocktails that we took ourselves. The food in the cafe was also very good - the full breakfast is definitely recommended! George in the cafe made our stay all the better and we had a great laugh with him. We had an evening meal on one of the nights which was a takeaway style and was also very good. Bit of a walk between the shack and the yurts so if you are planning on going as a group then get either the shacks or the yurts maybe.

Room Tip: If it's cold out then get the fire lit and keep it lit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne-MarieRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've just returned from a lovely weekend staying in the Bunk Barn here. There were 11 of us so the Bunk Barn was perfect… it had a lovely dorm room with comfy beds, sink area and kettle etc. We also had a living room space with chairs and beanbags. Accommodation was really good value and it was a lot better than we expected. Staff were helpful and friendly when checking us in.

We also booked the hot tub, but were very disappointed with this and cancelled it. When I enquired about it, I was told it would be suitable for 5/6 people and was next to the bunk barn. When we checked in we were told it was a drive away and was 4 people! It didn't end up being a drive away, but it certainly wasn't 'next to' the bunk barn. We walked up there to look and it took us about 8 minutes - still not ideal when you want a few drinks and only 4 can fit in it. There is nowhere around it to sit, so we would have had to walk up in separate groups of four. The hot tub did look lovely and in a lovely setting, so don't let this put you off. I just think we should have been made aware of this when we enquired, as if we knew this we wouldn't have booked it. They did offer us a 50% refund (as staff had gone to set it up for us etc.). We did appreciate this, but again, not really our fault when we had been advised it was suitable for 5/6 people and 'next to' the bunk barn.

We had dinner and breakfast in the cafe and I can't fault it. The staff were AMAZING. So helpful and friendly. Our party had quite a few dietary requirements and they sorted everything out - having gluten free, vegetarian and diary free options for dinner and breakfast. They went out of their way to make sure everything was okay for us. Lovely coffee and freshly made cakes that were gorgeous. The cookies also smelt divine - just coming out of the oven as we went in for breakfast! Food was reasonably priced and beautiful. Could not fault.

Overall a fabulous stay and we would definitely stay again (next time in the Shacks!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhopkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have read some of the reviews on here and despite some negativity I have to say if you are looking for something a bit different then Bivouac yurts are a must. Most of the guests are female, hen parties and renunions while we were there.
The toilets and showers are clean and warm, they are unisex also but as there was mostly women there I didn't see it as a problem.The cafe is pricey but the food is excellent and staff couldn't be more accommodating or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The yurts had everything we needed, and the log burners were a little bit of a novelty when you are used to ordinary camping. The beds were comfortable and tea lights and firewood were all provided.
The views were stunning and we enjoyed a lovely walk to the Druid temple in the wood not far away.
Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Yurts are handier for facilities, cafe, on site shop, shower block etc. wood shacks located a few mi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danambird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I came with a group of friends and we stayed in the woodland shacks. We had a fantastic time. The customer service was over and above the level expected by the reception team and the cafe staff. The food in the cafe was delicious for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal. The shower blocks were clean with great amenities. The surrounding area is beautiful and Bivouac is well worth a visit. Thanks for having us :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Excellent food at the restaurant, and a lovely place to walk with scenic views. Very child friendly, with toys available. Very relaxed atmosphere and helpful staff. Really recommend a visit to the Bivouac.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Masham
2.3 mi away
Swinton Park Country Club and Spa
1.7 mi away
The Black Swan Inn
The Black Swan Inn
#1 of 1 in Fearby
597 reviews
3.2 mi away
The Bay Horse
The Bay Horse
#2 of 7 in Masham
431 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Millgate Bed & Breakfast
3.3 mi away
Kings Head Hotel Masham
3.3 mi away
Bank Villa
Bank Villa
#3 of 7 in Masham
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bivouac at Druid's Temple? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bivouac at Druid's Temple

Address: Off of Knowle Lane | Ripon, Masham HG4 4JZ, England (Formerly Bivouac Swinton)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Masham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Masham
Price Range: £122 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bivouac at Druid's Temple 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Handmade rustic luxury Woodland Shacks, Meadow Yurts and Bunk Barn on a picturesque farm in Wensleydale, North Yorkshire. Barns converted to a cafe/bistro, shop, comfortable facilities and luxury showers. Open every day with stunning views across the Yorkshire Dales, open moorland and beyond. Non-residents welcome to enjoy cafe, walks and views. 19th Century folly stone circle ‘The Druid’s Temple’ in the heart of 40 acres of woodland. Find a hearty Yorkshire welcome, with activities including climbing and foraging and (nearby) pony trekking, falconry and fly-fishing. Hot tub by the Woodland Shacks and massage treatments. Enjoy fresh air, long views, outdoor adventure, relaxation by the fires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and PitchUp so you can book your Bivouac at Druid's Temple reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bivouac At Druid's Temple Masham, North Yorkshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing