We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
180
49
7
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
180
49
7
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub wood burner bunk barn druids temple no electricity hen party tea lights fire pit fairy lights cool box log cabin shower block extra blankets cooking facilities off grid battery powered fantastic weekend
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2014

The most beautiful and relaxing place to stay...it opens up the British countryside by plonking you right in the middle of it. With Nature all around and walks that start from your doorstep. You can unpack, leave your car in the car park and set off on your own adventure. A stunning location away from the noise of any traffic, we spend an entire weekend in absolute heaven.
Highly recommended for any couples/families looking for a get away. You do see and hear other families and guests, but people remain respectful of their surroundings and peace descends on the camp from around 10.30 pm.
It's an all round - wish you could go every weekend kind of place.

Room Tip: The Yurts are brilliant if you like a bit of Vintage style
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Green74peace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Really lovely place. A large group of us stayed in the yurts and one of the shacks. We hired the hot tub for one afternoon too which was very nice with a few cocktails that we took ourselves. The food in the cafe was also very good - the full breakfast is definitely recommended! George in the cafe made our stay all the better and we had a great laugh with him. We had an evening meal on one of the nights which was a takeaway style and was also very good. Bit of a walk between the shack and the yurts so if you are planning on going as a group then get either the shacks or the yurts maybe.

Room Tip: If it's cold out then get the fire lit and keep it lit.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Anne-MarieRidge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We've just returned from a lovely weekend staying in the Bunk Barn here. There were 11 of us so the Bunk Barn was perfect… it had a lovely dorm room with comfy beds, sink area and kettle etc. We also had a living room space with chairs and beanbags. Accommodation was really good value and it was a lot better than we expected. Staff were helpful and friendly when checking us in.

We also booked the hot tub, but were very disappointed with this and cancelled it. When I enquired about it, I was told it would be suitable for 5/6 people and was next to the bunk barn. When we checked in we were told it was a drive away and was 4 people! It didn't end up being a drive away, but it certainly wasn't 'next to' the bunk barn. We walked up there to look and it took us about 8 minutes - still not ideal when you want a few drinks and only 4 can fit in it. There is nowhere around it to sit, so we would have had to walk up in separate groups of four. The hot tub did look lovely and in a lovely setting, so don't let this put you off. I just think we should have been made aware of this when we enquired, as if we knew this we wouldn't have booked it. They did offer us a 50% refund (as staff had gone to set it up for us etc.). We did appreciate this, but again, not really our fault when we had been advised it was suitable for 5/6 people and 'next to' the bunk barn.

We had dinner and breakfast in the cafe and I can't fault it. The staff were AMAZING. So helpful and friendly. Our party had quite a few dietary requirements and they sorted everything out - having gluten free, vegetarian and diary free options for dinner and breakfast. They went out of their way to make sure everything was okay for us. Lovely coffee and freshly made cakes that were gorgeous. The cookies also smelt divine - just coming out of the oven as we went in for breakfast! Food was reasonably priced and beautiful. Could not fault.

Overall a fabulous stay and we would definitely stay again (next time in the Shacks!).

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sarahhopkins76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I have read some of the reviews on here and despite some negativity I have to say if you are looking for something a bit different then Bivouac yurts are a must. Most of the guests are female, hen parties and renunions while we were there.
The toilets and showers are clean and warm, they are unisex also but as there was mostly women there I didn't see it as a problem.The cafe is pricey but the food is excellent and staff couldn't be more accommodating or helpful. Nothing was too much trouble.
The yurts had everything we needed, and the log burners were a little bit of a novelty when you are used to ordinary camping. The beds were comfortable and tea lights and firewood were all provided.
The views were stunning and we enjoyed a lovely walk to the Druid temple in the wood not far away.
Will certainly be back.

Room Tip: Yurts are handier for facilities, cafe, on site shop, shower block etc. wood shacks located a few minutes walk away but have ensuite facilities.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank danambird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

I came with a group of friends and we stayed in the woodland shacks. We had a fantastic time. The customer service was over and above the level expected by the reception team and the cafe staff. The food in the cafe was delicious for breakfast, afternoon tea and evening meal. The shower blocks were clean with great amenities. The surrounding area is beautiful and Bivouac is well worth a visit. Thanks for having us :-)

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank havenholidayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews