We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over £5 for a mediocre cheese and tomato sandwich” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Border House Teas

Border House Teas
Ranked #1 of 1 Coffee & Tea in Masham
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Over £5 for a mediocre cheese and tomato sandwich”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

I have been an occasional visitor to Bordar Cafe Masham for many years. It's a really nice place to aim for when I'm out on my bike, or somewhere to stop for a tea and a sandwich when I'm passing.
Went there today with the missus. We both had tea and something to eat.

A cheese and tomato sandwich cost over a fiver!

Ok maybe they could get away with this if it was lovely bread or special cheese or had something else attached like "home made" chutney, but it didn't. Sadly this expensive snack is a single smallish sandwich made with cheap ready sliced bread (just like the cheapest stuff you can buy in any supermarket) with a scant sprinkling of grated cheddar (also indistinguishable from the cheapest stuff you can buy in the supermarket) and some slices of hard flavourless tomato (guess what... Just like the cheapest ones you can buy in any supermarket.)
When I went to the counter to pay I was shocked by the price - I think it was £5.25.
Ok it's a nice place and lovely to sit outside in the summer, but get real!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Simonbikertrash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    55
    40
    12
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Lovely Littel Haven”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

Stopped here for bacon sandwiches and a pot of tea, lovely little cafe everything tasty and reasonably priced.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank helensmith135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
58 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Day Out Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stopped here to re-acquaint ourselves with an establishment we used to visit when the children were little. Assessing according to the "bacon and egg roll" standard gave a 9 out of 10. A nice egg and 3 and a half rashers of tasty lean bacon. The carrot and coriander soup was also very good. The service was almost instantaneous, impressively so and the waitresses were efficient and friendly. Certainly worthwhile if you fancy a cafe style meal in Masham.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nineteenhundred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1,450 reviews
592 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 681 helpful votes
“A popular cafe - and rightly so.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We visit Masham quite often and have tended to use this cafe, which seems to be the most popular in the village (although Johnny Baghdad across the square is vying hard for top spot!). The menu here doesn't include any surprises and is pretty standard fare, but what you get is tasty, well cooked and excellent value for money.

Service is invariably friendly and efficient and it is easy to see why they get so much repeat trade.
I would certainly recommend this cafe and would normally have said it's the best in the village - but after a recent visit to Johnny Baghdad's Sunshine Cafe (see separate review) I would now list this one as my second favourite.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank johnhouston2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Little Gem”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2013

Always busy which is a good sign, the food is cooked to order so it's always hot, you can sit inside or, on a nice day, outside on the picnic tables.

Staff are always friendly and helpful.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank YorkshireLass004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Border House Teas also viewed

 
Masham, North Yorkshire
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Border House Teas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing