We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great country pub.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Bay Horse

The Bay Horse
Ranked #8 of 15 Restaurants in Masham
Price range: US$9 - US$22
Cuisines: Pizza, Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
135 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Great country pub.”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 via mobile

Only came in to shelter from the weather, but pleased we did. Lovely fires, nice atmosphere and cask ales from local breweries. Food menu looked good but we had already eaten.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kevin A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    50
    19
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barnsley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
144 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Only for a drink”
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Had a drink here one Saturday night. Didn't have anything to eat but what we did see on plates looked nice. Would drink here again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mooreclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rossendale
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty home cooked food”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Delicious home cooked traditional pub grub. Only complaint couldn't eat it all !!!! Real ales and log fires too.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub with extremely good food.”
Reviewed 15 February 2014

I visited this pub on a rainy afternoon with some friends. We sat down with a couple of beers and some great steaks and left very satisfied. There were no unnecessary bells and whistles, just great pub food in a real British pub.

I recommend this to anyone looking for something substantial (and delicious) to fill them up in this lovely town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CapitalDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“short break”
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Really enjoyed our stay at The Bay Horse.
Had a meal which was delicious and the atmosphere in the bar was brilliant. Met some of the locals who were great company and had two great nights in front of the log fire chatting away the night. Brilliant atmosphere.
Thanks for a great break.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank moirawilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bay Horse also viewed

Masham, North Yorkshire
 
Masham, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Bay Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing