We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect stay”
other travellers have booked this property
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
A warm welcome awaits you at The Snug. Guests keep returning to enjoy the comforts.
Enjoy that cosy feel. Logs provided.
Stylish period furniture.
Comfortable leather sofas.
Historic stone fireplace shown in an Ibbotson painting.
Master bedroom, spacious with good storage.
Master bedroom with super king size bed or twin beds. Room for a travel cot too!
Beds all made up for your arrival.
A snug bunk room with adult size mattresses for extra comfort.
Power shower and bath, hot water on demand with heated floor mat.
Good quality bedding and towels are included in the rental.
Secure storage for the cycles. Parking for motorbikes.
Lots of our guests love The Snug, one couple have stayed with us six times in one year.
Enjoy the Yorkshire sunshine, eating fresh crossiants and ground coffee after a morning walk.
The Snug is full of old charm with thick wobbly walls, beams, timber floors and old doors.
Welcome to Yorkshire Member
A must shop to visit - numerous local artists work displayed and lots more.
Theaskston's brewery a popular destination
World Heritage Centre - Fountains Abbey  truely magnificant, about 10 miles to south of Masham.
Popular Black Sheep Brewery - offering a bistro, brewery tour and sheepy shop.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Masham, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Sally T
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect stay”
Reviewed 7 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Stopped in the Snug in the heart of Masham for 3 wonderful days. Felt at home as soon as we walked through the door. Home from home, everything we needed, clean, cosy, quaint. Beautiful cake on arrival, with a lovely birthday message. Lovely and spacious, massive king size bed, so comfortable. Beautiful log fire at night. The cottage is a few steps away from both brewerys, great pubs, cafes, shops etc. Really recomend the steak pie in the Bruce Arms, which also has the best bear garden. All of the pubs are good, serving the best ale. We didnt want to leave the cottage or Masham. And will be stopping longer next time, so many walks and place to visit locally. Seen you soon Snug.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chris K
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing. ”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We booked the Snug for a short 3 day break at the beginning of April. I have been up to Masham a few times since the middle 1980s but mainly day trip's to see bands at the white bear and also to do the tour around the Theakstons brewery. We were looking so forward to staying at the snug after seeing the pictures on trip advisor. When we arrived at the cottage Karen the owner had left Sally a lemon drissle cake for her birthday which we thought was really nice. The cottage it's self is just so delightful. A warm welcomeing place that is just a lovely place to stay. The cottage is situated in the heart of this beautiful village and there is so much to do in walking distance or the car if you want to travel further out into north yokshire. The bed in the snug is one if not the most comfortable bed's I have ever slept in and it pained me to have to get out of it in the morning as I was so relaxed and comfortable. The kitchen has everything one needs to cook or eat in and is spacious. The iceing on the cake is the truly fantastic log burner. Karen leaves plenty of wood and stuff to light up the fire. It is just something special when the fire is on and really warms the whole cottage and just to sit in front of it with a nice glass of wine was just special. The fire is a doddle to clean in the morning. It took me less than five minutes to clean it so if you are reading this refue and are thinking of a luxurious place to stay at very reasonable prices I'd say go on and make a booking as you will not be at all disappointed. The snug cottage was as big a part of our break as the village of Masham and it's friendly folk. I truly left Masham feeling relaxed as did Sally and this cottage made that happen. Also the the pub's and the brewery are just wonderful . For me personally Theakstons beer is the best on planet earth so having this on tap and stopping in this fantastic cottage was just perfect. Roll on our next visit to the snug and it will not be too long in the future. Can't wait. ☺

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
So pleased to read you had such a fantastic and relaxing time. We look forward to welcoming you both back.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: huge comfy bed smelling of washing powder
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
TonyandCl...
Huissen
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage in great location”
Reviewed 22 February 2016 for a stay in February 2016

We spent a week in this very cosy and characterful cottage in the centre of Masham. Even though is was winter, we managed to get out and about a lot and we did several lovely walks in the surroundings of Masham. The cottage was well equipped and had a lovely warm fireplace. In the kitchen, however, we would have expected some form of ventilation for cooking fumes. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable, but a little noisy if you prefer sleeping with the window open. The bathroom had a good, powerful shower, but was a bit cramped. We found Masham a great place to stay in, with several wonderful places to eat. We would especially recommend the White Bear as a pub with super food and beer, and Johnny Bagdad for fab lunches, coffee and cake.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The village of Masham
Liked least: Size of the bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Feb 2016
Thank you for your helpful comments, we will review your suggestions. During the warmer months I suggest to guests to open the windows at the rear of the cottage for a night time breeze. I'd never thought of mentioning to guests staying during the winter but will do now. I know the cottage is always 'Snug' with or without the log burner on.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location, wood burner, comfy bed
Liked least: kitchen ventilation
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
mrsp20152...
South Yorkshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Quaint,comfortable and charming!”
Reviewed 27 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Perfect for a quiet get away, do as much or as little as you like. Plenty of places to visit - walking distance or short drive away. Even though the weather was poor, it was great to come back to the warmth and comfort of "The Snug" - a perfect home from home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The log fire!
Liked least: No extractor fan over the cooker - we set the alarms off cooking the bacon!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2015
The log burner in the cottage is great when the weather isn't!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chesham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 17 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing