We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Hosts, great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kauwhata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
Ranked #1 of 3 Te Kauwhata B&B and Inns
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Hosts, great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Janet and John are top hosts. They were so thoughtful during our stay with a 3 year old and 1 year old., offering toys,books and guided tours around the farm. A lovely relaxed stay, the breakfast was also one of the best we had in NZ. Overall great value, stay with them if you can!!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lupincat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yeovil, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2011

lovely location
great hospitality
great breakfast + dinner
this b&b contributed far beond our expectations

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cidergang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2010

Stayed one night on our way south after travelling around for a couple of weeks. Certainly the best accommodation including cleanliness. Food was brilliant as we also took the dinner option. My daughter also came to stay and she said that she had had the best night sleep for a long time.
This is not a hotel but b&b with dinner option so a lot of the pointers below do not relate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fl0wer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2010

John and Jaanet are great hosts - hard to believe they have been doing this since only three years. Very welcoming hospitality and easy-going. We chose the King Sperior room which comes with its ensuite and spa. We loved the hearty breakfast especially John's home baked bread and Janet's delicious museli. We ddin nott ry the dinner but am sure to try it during our next visit. Our little one had a great time touring the 16 acre plsu farm on John's tractor and feeding the various animals.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandDesikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut_Ridge_NZ, Owner at Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing couple of days in your busy lives. We look forward to hosting you again, maybe when your parents are in NZ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2010

My wife and I had a great time relaxing at Chestnut Ridge. It was like visiting old friends. We were starting our trip around New Zealand and had just arrived. Chestnut Ridge is about 1 hour south from the international airport in Auckland, an easy drive. Our room was small but clean and very comfortable. We were adjacent to the garage which made it easy to organize our stuff. We could enter our room without going outside. The room (super king sized bed)and garage is separate from the house and was extremely quite. Perfect for rest. After getting freshened up, we relaxed in the house with Janet and John and had some wine and cheese before dinner. I highly recommend doing the prepared dinner option. It was served family style and was delicious. Breakfast was also good. There is a nice deck to sit outside with a nice view of a lake. The hosts are very knowledgeable about New Zealand and things to do in the area. I also enjoyed talking about gardening and farming with John and looking at the plants. I wish I had time to check out the sheep. Unfortunately, it was too early to see the chestnut harvest. I definitely recommend Chestnut Ridge especially to start or end a trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2010

Janet and John are wonderful hosts and cooked us the best dinner we had during our two week visit to New Zealand. Their home is very convenient for Auckland International Airport and we can recommend it to any travelers. The only drawback for us was that we needed a two bedded room and this meant we had a rollaway in addition to the regular double bed so there was little spare space for our luggage. We did not sleep well because around midnight a local air raid siren sounded and a very loud volume and this meant a disturbed night, and there is a railway line running nearby. Next morning John explained that the siren was the method of calling out the local fire service volunteers, But the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the food more than compensated so we would certainly stay there again. Johnny & Susan Beerling

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2010

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay was a perfect stopover for our trip from Bay of Islands to Waitomo. Janet and John welcomed us into their home and then suggested a wander around the farm. As the name suggests, lots of Chestnut trees and animals as well. The en suite bedroom was a good size, well equipped and separated from the main house by a large garage. We had asked for an evening meal, and as the weather was good, our hosts invited us for drinks and nibbles on their veranda first, followed by a delicious 3 course meal catering to our dietary requests. A very comfortable stay in a peaceful location with charming hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MegIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Te Kauwhata
11.5 mi away
Manor Views
Manor Views
#2 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
13.7 mi away
Hillside Hotel
Hillside Hotel
#1 of 3 in Huntly
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
14.2 mi away
Tuakau Hotel
Tuakau Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tuakau
4.5 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
North End Motel
North End Motel
#3 of 3 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
19.1 mi away
Aveda Motor Lodge
Aveda Motor Lodge
#2 of 2 in Pukekohe
4.5 of 5 bubbles 76 reviews
11.2 mi away
Essex Arms
Essex Arms
#2 of 2 in Huntly
4.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B

Property: Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
Address: 40 Moorfield Road | PO Box 34, Te Kauwhata 3782, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kauwhata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kauwhata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet rural setting. Beautiful views. Six hectare chestnut orchard with sheep, cattle & chooks. Large gardens. Super-king room with spa-bath en-suite and Queen room with shower en-suite. Continental breakfast included. Full breakfast and dinner available as optional extras. Golf, Rangiriri Historic Battle Site, Whangamarino Wetland, Lake Waikare & Hampton Downs Motorsport Park close by. Only 45 mins drive south of Auckland International Airport, just off SH1. Ideal first or last relaxing stop for international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing