We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent accommodation and hosts”

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Te Kauwhata
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
Ranked #3 of 3 Te Kauwhata B&B and Inns
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent accommodation and hosts”
Reviewed 26 December 2010

Stayed one night on our way south after travelling around for a couple of weeks. Certainly the best accommodation including cleanliness. Food was brilliant as we also took the dinner option. My daughter also came to stay and she said that she had had the best night sleep for a long time.
This is not a hotel but b&b with dinner option so a lot of the pointers below do not relate.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fl0wer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
15
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland
1 review
Reviewed 27 October 2010

John and Jaanet are great hosts - hard to believe they have been doing this since only three years. Very welcoming hospitality and easy-going. We chose the King Sperior room which comes with its ensuite and spa. We loved the hearty breakfast especially John's home baked bread and Janet's delicious museli. We ddin nott ry the dinner but am sure to try it during our next visit. Our little one had a great time touring the 16 acre plsu farm on John's tractor and feeding the various animals.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AucklandDesikiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chestnut_Ridge_NZ, Owner at Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B, responded to this review, 29 October 2010
Glad you enjoyed your stay and had a relaxing couple of days in your busy lives. We look forward to hosting you again, maybe when your parents are in NZ?
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2010

My wife and I had a great time relaxing at Chestnut Ridge. It was like visiting old friends. We were starting our trip around New Zealand and had just arrived. Chestnut Ridge is about 1 hour south from the international airport in Auckland, an easy drive. Our room was small but clean and very comfortable. We were adjacent to the garage which made it easy to organize our stuff. We could enter our room without going outside. The room (super king sized bed)and garage is separate from the house and was extremely quite. Perfect for rest. After getting freshened up, we relaxed in the house with Janet and John and had some wine and cheese before dinner. I highly recommend doing the prepared dinner option. It was served family style and was delicious. Breakfast was also good. There is a nice deck to sit outside with a nice view of a lake. The hosts are very knowledgeable about New Zealand and things to do in the area. I also enjoyed talking about gardening and farming with John and looking at the plants. I wish I had time to check out the sheep. Unfortunately, it was too early to see the chestnut harvest. I definitely recommend Chestnut Ridge especially to start or end a trip to New Zealand

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tornadohunter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Skipton
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2010

Janet and John are wonderful hosts and cooked us the best dinner we had during our two week visit to New Zealand. Their home is very convenient for Auckland International Airport and we can recommend it to any travelers. The only drawback for us was that we needed a two bedded room and this meant we had a rollaway in addition to the regular double bed so there was little spare space for our luggage. We did not sleep well because around midnight a local air raid siren sounded and a very loud volume and this meant a disturbed night, and there is a railway line running nearby. Next morning John explained that the siren was the method of calling out the local fire service volunteers, But the warmth of the welcome and the quality of the food more than compensated so we would certainly stay there again. Johnny & Susan Beerling

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdsjohnny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Wight
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 March 2010

Chestnut Ridge Farmstay was a perfect stopover for our trip from Bay of Islands to Waitomo. Janet and John welcomed us into their home and then suggested a wander around the farm. As the name suggests, lots of Chestnut trees and animals as well. The en suite bedroom was a good size, well equipped and separated from the main house by a large garage. We had asked for an evening meal, and as the weather was good, our hosts invited us for drinks and nibbles on their veranda first, followed by a delicious 3 course meal catering to our dietary requests. A very comfortable stay in a peaceful location with charming hosts.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MegIsleofWight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2010

Chestnut Ridge is a wonderful spot with perfect hosts. Janet & John really make you feel at home with a warm welcome and wonderful food. Knowing we were arriving direct from a long flight they invited us into their home to relax until our room was ready and when we discovered our credit card had been blocked they gave us every assistance to rectify the problem. The bed is the largest we have ever slept in and we even had our own garage for our car.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ethyl4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hampshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2010

We drove direct to this lovely little b and b direct from Auckland Airport. Greeted by Janet and John who made us very welcome with a cup of tea and cookies. Our room was totally separate to the house and very conveniently placed next to the garage where we put our hire car. The room had a huge double bed with lovely bathroom and a terrace. Ideally placed for the new hampton downs race track, this place is well worth a visit. We even persuaded Janet and John to come to the race track to watch my husband race. We had a delicious homecooked supper one night, definitely to be recommended. We thoroughly recommend this to anyone looking for peace and quiet, and friendly hosts. Janet and John were so helpful with anything that we asked, nothing was too much trouble. We shall definitley go back next time we return to NZ.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HampshireBumble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B

Property: Chestnut Ridge Farmstay B&B
Address: 40 Moorfield Road | PO Box 34, Te Kauwhata 3782, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Te Kauwhata
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Te Kauwhata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Quiet rural setting. Beautiful views. Six hectare chestnut orchard with sheep, cattle & chooks. Large gardens. Super-king room with spa-bath en-suite and Queen room with shower en-suite. Continental breakfast included. Full breakfast and dinner available as optional extras. Golf, Rangiriri Historic Battle Site, Whangamarino Wetland, Lake Waikare & Hampton Downs Motorsport Park close by. Only 45 mins drive south of Auckland International Airport, just off SH1. Ideal first or last relaxing stop for international travelers. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing