We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Your Private All-inclusive”
Main house, view from poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach Orchid Bay beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
107 reviews
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach
Orchid Bay beach
Garden Suite
Diamante Suite
Presidente Suite bath
Royal Palm Suite bath with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Samana Suite sits cliffside for stunning views
Sun bathing overlook
Diamonte Suite
Royal Palm bath
Hot tub view
Cliffside sitting area
Dining deck
Beachview from cliff
Beach view from cliff
Party-sized hot tub
Cliff side gazebo
Front of main house
Entrance
View from great room
Garden suites building
On the beach
Presidente living room and bar
Presidente and Piscina suites building
View from cliff looking towards the main area
Outdoor chess
garden Suite bedroom
Elevated walkway to Garden suites from main house
View as you drive in
Royal Palm bath
Presidente bath
Billiards and gaming area
Custom card table
Great room
Dining room
Diamonte suite
Hot tub verandah
Hot tub verandah
Beach overlook
Covered hot tub
Manana Bar, open on three sides
Manana bar
Wedding ceremony site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cabrera, Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 107 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
TJinMD
Baltimore
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Your Private All-inclusive”
Reviewed 16 January 2013 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

My review is a bit overdue, however three months in the rear view mirror has not tempered my strong endorsement of this property, the house , the location, the staff, the weather, the view...

The moment the vans pulled up to the villa everyone looked at each other and said "no friggin way!". The drive from the airport was around 90 minutes maybe a little less. Vans met us at the airport and off we went with refreshments in tow.

The property is privately situated on 2 amazing acres of tropically manicured paradise. It rests on a bluff that overlooks the ocean with gorgeous views and breezes all day long. Each bedroom is either in its own bungalow or shares a bungalow. The rooms are tastefully decorated with all of the conveniences you need. Rooms are air conditioned, sofas pull out to beds if needed.

The pool is the large centerpiece to the back of the property. Lie there while your music plays through the outdoor speakers and Ramon makes your favorite beverage and brings it to you. Sit by the bar, the pool, the pool table, the in ground jacuzzi (it's massive) it doesn't matter. Ramon will take excellent care of you. You only pay for what you consume. Prices for cases of beer and bottles of liquor are very reasonable.

Tanya coordinates everything and does a fantastic job of making sure you have no worries. Every meal was prepared there by the cook staff and it was delicious. Freshly caught lobster and fish at every dinner with a local flavor to it was off the hook. Whether it was breakfast lunch or dinner, the staff prepared a buffet on par with anything you find in the U.S. at a nice hotel. There is no cleaning up, no going to the grocery store, no credit cards, nothing. The whole day is about relaxation and they deliver and then some.

You must experience the little town of Cabrera. What a little gem this place is. We stumbled upon a little beach bar called Manny's. The caparinhas were devilishly good. Manny made fried plantains that were awesome. We enjoyed Manny's so much we came back two more times including on the way to the airport on our departure. I recommend the walk to/from Cabrera. It is a good 20-30 minute walk but well worth it.

Playa Grande golf course is about a 20 minute drive. Tanya coordinates transportation to/from. Although the greens were a little rough, the layout and view are second to none. Enjoy having your own caddy and walking this beautiful course. The holes along the coast are postcard. Wish we would have played more. Bring your own golf shoes, gloves, balls. They have club rentals there.

Sunset Villa would be an ideal location for a family reunion or a group of friends who have talked about going to a special place without the kids. Look no further. Stay away from the large all-inclusives and enjoy the luxury, service, safety, and privacy of Sunset Villa. If We could give 6 stars we would. I do not think a weekend goes by without us talking about how we get back before next fall. I honestly cannot imagine having a better time than we did. Our group of 12 friends had a time we will never forget and a destination that will become our go-to place for years to come. Muchas Gracias a mis amigos en Sunset Villa. Nos vemos pronto.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great staff in an amazing setting
Liked least: I can't live there permanently
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA USA
Reviewed 15 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
West Palm Beach
Reviewed 17 September 2012 for a stay in September 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington
Reviewed 2 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
CA
Reviewed 1 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WA
Reviewed 31 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
memoriesb...
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
“A slice of tropical heaven, a piece of paradise!”
Reviewed 31 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have stayed at Mexican, Jamaican, and Costa Rican villas that were very nice, but Sunrise Villa tops them all. Where do I began, first Chris, the House Manager answered every question I had and made suggestions to me when I reached out to him via email prior to our arrival. I’m a little anal, but he was very gracious and patiently replied and answered each question. Chris is extremely knowledgeable about any and all things Dominican Republic!

Secondly, the Bali style bungalows and grounds were ideal. Everyone had their own little private nook and space for alone time to enjoy the scenery, yet the main house that houses the large outdoor covered terrace beside the Manna bar was where the group gathered together when we were not eating. The outdoor terrace overlooks the hot tub and pool, which makes it an outdoor great room where everybody can see and talk to each other, but be in different areas.

Thirdly, the service was great and the food was excellent and very plentiful. We were served lots of fresh seafood, fruits, and vegetables daily. Tanya, also a House Manager made sure everything was taken care of and that we had whatever we needed. The masseuse was excellent and did a great job. The grounds keepers were meticulous and on the job working daily shortly after sunrise. But, the person we all agreed was our favorite staff person was without a doubt Ramon. He had the most direct interaction with us; besides mixing the drinks, he played pool with the guys at night, cleaned up after us, explained in Spanish to the staff what we wanted and needed when they did not understand what we were asking. He hosted our bonfire and showed us how to toast our marshmallows without burning ourselves. But, the thing the makes Ramon the most special is he learned all our names! He even remembered our drink choices, and anticipated what we needed before we asked!

The other thing that makes Sunrise Villa so unique are the additional options that are included in the price. We were given lunch on Playa Grande beach. They provided transportation, and the local restaurants provided us with a hot lunch. We were able to swim and buy souvenirs from the locals selling jewelry, art, and statues. Additionally, you are provided dinner at Hotel Catalina. The restaurant was quaint and intimate with views of the mountains and ocean from an outdoor terrace. The food was good and we were allowed to order anything on the menu. Three courses were provided, appetizer, entrée, and dessert.

While visiting Sunrise Villa please take the horseback riding tour at Rancho Paraiso. My comments about the ranch will be under sightseeing. Yet again, Sunrise Villa goes out of their way to accommodate their guests. We took the 3-hour tour and because we would be gone during lunch they made lunch, packed a cooler with water, soda and beer, and a bag of beach towels.
We only have two small criticisms, the desserts were not great. The first night we had homemade chocolate cake that was very good. The next day we had a Carmel style pudding cake that is native to the DR, but our group did not like it, and another night we had store bought cheesecake that was not special. The other small issue we had was with the two cats that were always around. Two people in our group are allergic to cats, which was a problem mainly around meal times. That was primarily when they came around.

To close, Sunrise Villa gets 6 out of 5 stars from our group for, their service, Bali style design, immaculate grounds, lush tropical exterior, food, all the included options, but most importantly their staff!
The Davis Party – July 25-29, 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Their service, Bali style design, immaculate grounds, lush tropical exterior, food, all the included options, and their staff!
Liked least: The desserts were not great and the two cats that were always around. Two people in our group were allergic to cats, which was a problem mainly around meal times.
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing