We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Utopia”
Main house, view from poolside
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach Orchid Bay beach
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
131 reviews
Main house, view from poolside
Elevated view from the beach
Orchid Bay beach
Garden Suite
Diamante Suite
Presidente Suite bath
Royal Palm Suite bath with Tropical Outdoor Shower
Samana Suite sits cliffside for stunning views
Sun bathing overlook
Diamonte Suite
Royal Palm bath
Hot tub view
Cliffside sitting area
Dining deck
Beachview from cliff
Beach view from cliff
Party-sized hot tub
Cliff side gazebo
Front of main house
Entrance
View from great room
Garden suites building
On the beach
Presidente living room and bar
Presidente and Piscina suites building
View from cliff looking towards the main area
Outdoor chess
garden Suite bedroom
Elevated walkway to Garden suites from main house
View as you drive in
Royal Palm bath
Presidente bath
Billiards and gaming area
Custom card table
Great room
Dining room
Diamonte suite
Hot tub verandah
Hot tub verandah
Beach overlook
Covered hot tub
Manana Bar, open on three sides
Manana bar
Wedding ceremony site
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 24
Cabrera, Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 131 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

frankva12...
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Utopia”
Reviewed 31 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Wow, I don’t even know where to start. Simply amazing! Best vacation ever.
My wife and I visited Sunrise Villa with 7 other couples and were treated like royalty beyond our expectations. Right from the start upon arrival we were greeted by the Sunrise staff and were made to feel comfortable and welcome immediately!! The entire staff continued to impress us with courteous service and hospitality above and beyond…everyday!

The food was 5 star quality all week…every meal. I love seafood and I the dishes served was by far the freshest and tastiest I’ve ever had. Breakfast always included fresh squeezed fruit juices…the lunches and dinners were always perfectly cooked and presented (and I tend to be a food snob). It got to the point where you couldn’t wait for the lunch/dinner bell to ring.

The design and layout of the villa itself was well thought out. The open concept throughout the main house is comfortable and very inviting allowing for shade if wanted or needed, and cover during a shower. Not to mention this is the location of the Manana Bar (my favorite), which ended up being the most popular meeting and hanging spot in the villa. Kudos to Ramon the bartender, who took care of the group with exotic drinks upon request and always at the ready for pleasant conversation. The guest villas are gorgeous, spacious and meticulously clean.

Chris, the on-site manager, catered to our every whim and never once disappointed. From the trip downtown to Cabrera for local shopping; the day trip to Playa Grande Beach (a picturesque beach which also included a white linen lunch on the beach…of lobster and chicken!!); dinner and dancing at a local Cabrera staple called Manny’s and a delicious Italian dinner at Entre Amigos…all arranged by Chris and the Sunrise staff.

The staff also provides massage, manicures and pedicures…onsite! I had a beautiful massage on the villa cliff overlooking the ocean…it was amazing.

In closing, the best part about Sunrise Villa experience is that you NEVER worry about details. Chris and the staff handle EVERY detail based on your recommendation and desire. You just sit back and enjoy the experience.

If you want a touristy, crowded, overpriced location, go somewhere else…if want a relaxing, no hassle, no worry UTOPIA…choose Sunrise Villa.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Steven M
Atlantic Beach, Florida
2 reviews
“Serene casual luxury unequalled”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

I have visited Sunrise a half dozen times. With 13 adults on this trip I never cease to be amazed at the amount of space and openness of the buildings and grounds that affords everyone privacy as well as group gatherings (the later of which is particularly frequent due to the irresistible setting of the Manana Bar!). A private bonfire party on the beach was icing on the cake!

Trips into town for shopping, dinner out (Italian heaven!), Manny's oceanfront bar, as well as a lunch day at Playa Grande with all its sights and beach vendors! The rest of the time reading a book or laying on my back working on a laptop computer.

My wife and I stayed in the large Diamonte bedroom on the second story of the main lodge (as close to smell of morning coffee and breakfast as one can be here!). I love the privacy and the treetop overlook from the large balcony of this room.

Everyone will tell you about the staff. You are special from the moment you step on the property. Frank's cooking is superb and Ramon the bartender cannot do enough to keep everyone smiling and lazily relaxing in their respective lounge chairs around the pool.

This is my favorite Caribbean get-away. Never fails to delight.

Steve M

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
davjr2000
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 16 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

If you're looking for tropical perfection this place is for you. We just spent a week here with several couples and families and it really was beyond amazing. We arrived late afternoon to the staff standing on the front porch waiving and clapping, eager to welcome us with smiles and hugs.
The property feels like your own tropical home with every detail from views, decor and comfort absolutely perfect. Your family can be in the pool, playing pool, having a cocktail or lounging on one of the many pillow packed sofas all while enjoying the warm tropical breeze that flows throughout the villa. Steps from the main house are private villas, each with its own spectacular views and comforts from outdoor showers to private jacuzzis. I slept like a baby with windows open and ocean in the air.
The beach is just down the steps , surrounded by beautiful coral cliffs. It's quiet and with plenty of shade and space to enjoy. The staff will pack up a cooler and make sure you have everything you need. This is the most beautiful beach I have ever visited....hands down.
The food.....it's effortless. Each meal is prepared for you, Chef Frank and his staff put out a spread of fresh local ingredients prepared perfectly. you will not be hungry or disappointed here. We were always excited to see what was cooked for us and it was always plentiful and delicious with something for everyone.
We loved the staff. They cared for us like family. Ramon at the bar and Chris the Concierge can take care of anything you need on or off the property. If you're venturing off property everything is handled for you.....so there was never a moment of stress.
We had so much fun kicking back and relaxing here.....truly a gem.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah...
2 reviews
“Comfortable luxury for an unforgettable experience”
Reviewed 15 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Sunrise Villa is a perfect blend of opulence and comfort. Even with a full house (16 people plus staff) there are still plenty of nooks and corners to maintain a sense of privacy and intimacy. The grounds are immaculate and there isn't a "bad room" in the place. The beach is quiet during the day and your own private discotech on bonfire night if you choose. There's something for everyone to do; I'm a read-by-the-pool kind of girl but there are local outdoor adventures for the go-getters, multiple beaches nearby (all stunning, though Diamonte is my favorite), as well as massages, manicures and pedicures that can be received from the comfort of the villa.

I can't say enough about the incredible staff; they make you feel like family the moment you step foot through the door. Frank is a fantastic chef who makes mealtime the highlight of your day. The bartender and overall go-to guy Ramon will keep the drinks flowing and be more than happy to point you in the direction of the best places to go dancing in town. Your Spanish a little rusty? No fear. Chris heads the staff and speaks perfect English as well as Spanish and will make sure nothing gets lost in translation.

By now you're probably just skimming because who reads novels like this anyway? The point is, whether you come with friends, family, or for a special event, Sunrise Villa will never disappoint.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David S
1 review
“Spectacular Setting for a relaxing vacation”
Reviewed 14 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was my fourth time going to Sunrise Villa and as usual it was awesome. Couldn't have had better weather although this time of year it can be unpredictable. As usual the staff is so friendly and accommodating. They always greet you with a smile and warm greeting. Ramon is the bartender and he is so fun and makes awesome cocktails of all and any variety. Massages are given by Rosa out on a point that overlooks the ocean from atop the cliff. Very relaxing and Rosa is a true pro. The scenery is so beautiful you will use up all of you camera's memory taking pictures. Although it is not safe to swim on the beach there because of the coral, rocks and sea urchins, it is not a very long cab ride to one of the beautiful beaches that are nearby. We usually will make a couple day trips to go swimming and snorkeling. The rooms and villa are kept so clean you literally can eat off the floor. Speaking of eating. You will never go hungry at Sunrise Villa. Frank the chef is excellent and the food is awesome. He creates a lot of different varieties of food from local fresh fish to steak and lobster (aka Langostino). There is always fresh squeezed fruit juice in the morning with breakfast not to mention the local Dominican coffee, which is incredible. The management, with Sandy and Chris are very attentive and will make sure whatever you need you will get (as long as it can be obtained on the island). Thanks again for having us and taking care of us as if we were family. Can't wait till next year.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunshine6...
Glen Aubrey, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Most Memorable Vacation Ever”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Our family recently spent an unforgettable week at Sunrise Villa! There were 15 of us including 4 of our children, 3 of their spouses, and 6 grandchildren ages 9 to 17 years. Upon
arrival, Chris and Sandy warmly greeted and welcomed us. I cannot say enough about the wonderful and awesome staff who work at Sunrise Villa; They are the most warm and
friendly people who are always readily available and attentive to whatever the need may be at
at the moment, yet non intrusive. The staff definitely goes above and beyond. Ramon, the bartender would come in every afternoon to mix up fresh piña coladas, passion fruit drinks, and any other requested drink, as well as special non alcoholic drink treats for the kids. We were also appreciative of Ramon who was always looking out for the safety of all of us, especially at Laguna DuDu which is a freshwater sinkhole a short distance from the villa. We are thankful to Ramon for walking with all the gals into Cabrera for one final shopping spree, and then providing unique transportation for our return trip back to Sunrise Villa! Frank, the chef, prepared a variety of unbelievable and most delicious meals which were cooked to perfection. Fresh juices, fruits, vegetables, fish, lobster, tasty meat dishes with sauces, and Dominican dishes which we all enjoyed! The 'anniversary' dinner of fresh lobster and beef fillets will long be remembered as the best anyone could ever eat; Also, the tasty decorative cake which Ramon had ordered from the bakery. Thanks to all the staff who assisted in making it a memorable evening for all. Rosa, the masseuse, gave me two of the most wonderful and relaxing massages, one of which I had at the cliffside pergola where it overlooks the ocean and you can listen to the sounds of the surf as it crashes against the beach! Sandy, the house manager who 'wears many hats' did a most thorough pedicure. Viviana, Rosa, and Fior all do a wonderful job in maintaining and keeping the rooms and surrounding areas impeccably clean as well as Papito and Negron who keep the grounds, pool area, and floral landscaping looking continually beautiful. When our air conditioner stopped working, Francisco, who is in charge of maintenance solved the problem immediately. The gals had a lot of fun dancing with Yonathon (who also takes care of maintenance) and Papito at the Meringue band bonfire beach party. All of the grandchildren found an endless number of things to keep them occupied at Sunrise, especially the never ending jumps into the pool and hot tub as well as playing pool, ping pong, and chess. Almost everyone participated in searching for unique worn colored glass, and sea treasures down at the beach. Some of the kids had fun creating a hermit crab habitat in which they enjoyed watching the activities of the hermies before having to let them go when we were ready to leave! Babe, the Villa's 'protector dog' became a great friend to all of us and we were deeply saddened when we had to say goodbye! We were delighted to having spent a week in 'paradise' and feel blessed to having met all the wonderful people who work at Sunrise Villa.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: It's a Total Paradise
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Thank you! Such a wonderful group of people.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florencem...
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
“Beyond Expectations!”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

From day one, the service was great...the villa was beautiful...the food delicious.
We honestly have nothing negative to say about this place. We will definitely be planning a trip back!

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Staff
Liked least: Nothing bad to say
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2022 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.