We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Best Family Vacation Ever!”
Massive zero entry pool, swim thru tunnel and spa
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Massive zero entry pool, swim thru tunnel and spa
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
82 reviews
Massive zero entry pool, swim thru tunnel and spa
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
8 Bedrooms, 9 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Cabrera, Maria Trinidad Sanchez Province, Dominican Republic

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 82 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Cathy H
Miramar Beach
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Family Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed 2 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Our family of 17 described our stay at the villa as "The Best Family Vacation Ever." The staff was friendly and attentive and couldn't do enough for us. Available nannies added even more enjoyment for our children with infants. We all loved the many activities on site plus the lovely pool where we spent lots of time. Would recommend this for large families.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Pool area and local beach
Liked least: Exterior of the villa needed painting/pressure washing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JBHJasper
Jasper
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The staff made this vacation special!!”
Reviewed 17 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

From the moment we arrived, the staff at this villa welcomed us with open arms. Their sole purpose was to make our stay the best vacation ever, and they succeeded. Our glasses were never empty, and neither were our stomachs! The chef was amazing, but the service from Felix, Yamali and Rupert was top notch. We had so much fun floating in the pool, playing shuffleboard before dinner, shooting pool and some serious games of LCR. Music was piped outside every day while we lounged. The most relaxing vacation we've ever been on.

There are a couple of things that need to be said. Make sure to bring plenty of money!!!!!! The excursions are NOT on the bill. You must pay for these in cash. Even though the contract states that you can pay with a personal check, the villa manager would rather process a credit card which incurs a 4% upcharge. Trying to get money from the bank is more hassle than it's worth. Also, bring extra cash to tip the staff. They are worth it, and they deserve it. Average wage in the Dominican is less than $12 USD per day.

The inside of the villa is immaculate and in perfect condition, but the outside does need a bit of upkeep. The pool is missing some concrete, and the pool furniture and floats need to be replaced. The gardens are amazing. Those guys work non stop the entire time.

We managed to plan our own wedding for some very special friends. The flowers were from the gardens, and we used our own iPads for the music. Couldn't have been lovelier if we had planned for 6 months instead of 6 days!

Once again the staff jumped into high gear, place flowers on all the tables for dinner, and the chef even baked a cake for the occasion!

Villa Castellamonte is truly a special place made that way by the friendly Dominican people.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff and the food
Liked least: The villa manager
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
b_mclynn
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Exceeded all expectations!”
Reviewed 6 October 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

My company recently hosted our bi-annual retreat at the beautiful villa this past August. We are a software company of 18 people who gather twice a year to plan our next six months. It is a time for us to unwind, get out of our normal office setting, and catch up with our remote team members, the villa was PERFECT for our needs.

The home was beautiful, and well maintained. The staff was attentive (especially Felix and Yamalic), and exceptional! We had three meals a day at the villa, all of which were outstanding (we like food in this group). The chef even took special consideration for food aversions and dietary restrictions.

As far as activities go, we didn't leave the villa except to go to the beach one day. But, I highly recommend having a bonfire on the beach. We had so much fun drinking, dancing, and eating s'mores. We also had a cigar roller come in one day, which was fun.

The wireless is limited to one room.

We would love to go back to villa again for future retreats!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the food
Liked least: Slow/ weak WiFi
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
emmy m
Parsippany, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dream come true!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This villa is perfect for large or small groups. I stayed here with a couple for friends and family from July 10-July 14 and it was not long enough we can not wait to come back. I also had my wedding here which I must say was beyond my wildest dreams.
I can not say enough good things about the wedding coordinator, the staff, the owners everything. The staff is with you until I believe it was 11 or 10 pm. This is by far the best service any of us have ever received on any vacation. Everything is a la carte, fresh and you create your menu! This place is impeccable, and you have a breath taking view from every angle.

We were all speechless and will definitely be back.


Highly recommend this place!

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester
Reviewed 3 October 2013 for a stay in August 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Edward V
Fredericksburg, Virginia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Vacation/Honeymoon Villa”
Reviewed 26 September 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I spent a fabulous week at the Villa to celebrate her birthday and to enjoy a well-deserved honeymoon we never took after our marriage. I was looking for a place that offered exclusivity and peacefulness. The Villa is everything it is advertised to be, beautiful, peaceful, and relaxing. As others have also mentioned on their reviews, the pictures do not do the Villa justice. The Villa is much more beautiful in person. The best part of the Villa is the staff, management, and owners. From day one of booking the Villa, they did everything within their power to ensure our requests were met and that we were satisfied and happy. We requested activities not listed on their brochure and they fulfilled it, so do not hesitate to ask for whatever you want. We want to thank Jason, Samantha, Felix, Jay, Rupert, Marrari, and Rodolpho for all they did. Our best memories will be of them. Samantha was the concierge who made sure our stay was beyond expectations. Felix, Jay, Rupert, and Marrari were our hosts who ensured all of our needs were taken care of. Rodolpho was the chef who (I swear) can easily work in the finest restaurants anywhere. Each meal was divine.

I easily give the Villa a 5-star rating, but there are some suggestions. The game tables were in need of upkeep. There were no ping pong balls to play ping pong. The foosball table had people missing on it. The shuffleboard table had sticky spots on it and was hard to slide the shuffles around on it. The pool table had only one cue stick that was useable. I did not detract from my rating for these things because after all who goes to the DR to play pool, ping pong, foosball, or shuffleboard. Another minor upkeep issue is the pool has a couple of spots where the pool lining broke away exposing the concrete underneath. After some time in the pool, this would hurt the feet if scraped against it. Again, very minimal in nature and not detracting of the overall beauty and fun of the Villa.

If I had to say what was the least favorite part of the Villa, it is that it is located so far away from major attractions and activities. We went parasailing and swimming with the dolphins at Ocean World. Both of these required long taxi rides (2 hours) into Puerto Plata. Even a quick trip to a nearby beach like Playa Grande or Playa Diamonte requires a taxi ride. But if you know this going in, you can plan accordingly. Also, there is plenty to do in and around the Villa or around Cabrera. Also, there is a HUGE resort that is under construction at Playa Grande that is slated to open in 2016. I'm sure that when construction is completed it will bring some of those activities to the Cabrera area.

If you're thinking of staying here, I highly recommend it. Everyone we encountered, both within the Villa and within the DR, was so friendly and courteous. The DR country and its people are so beautiful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff was extremely helpful
Liked least: The Villa is located far away from major attractions
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2013
Thank you very much for your favorable review for our luxury vacation villa. We appreciate our guests feedback and constantly use it to help improve our services. Likely this is why we consistently receive 5 star reviews from virtually all of our guests.

I checked with Samantha and the villa staff regarding your concerns about the games tables. I am sorry you did not have the opportunity to mention your concerns about these items while you were in residence. We have hundreds (literally) of ping pong balls, ice (wax) for the shuffleboard and can repair any broken pool cue in less than 10 minutes with supplies from our maintenance staff. All of the staff are here at the villa to help address any concerns or problems so your vacation is as magical and smooth as can be.

Thank you again for sharing your special honeymoon with us at Villa Castellamonte. I'll make sure the staff know of your appreciation as well.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Reviewed 18 July 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing