We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in PNG”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wewak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
In Wewak Boutique hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wewak
Port Moresby, National Capital, Papua New Guinea
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Hotel in PNG”
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I live in Port Moresby and I am used to ridiculously priced accomodation with an unpleasant experience in Port Moresby hotels which claim to be anything over 2 stars. In Wewak Boutique Hotel was a pleasant surprise the moment I stepped into the reception. The staff were friendly and pleasant and would always greet us with welcoming smiles, the hotel was tastefully decorated with photographs of neighbouring islands and flora and fauna and traditional artifacts native to the East Sepik Province. The food is delicious and served in generous portions. The only downside experienced was that they got the laundry mixed up and a helpful suggestion to the management would be that ALL deluxe rooms should have double beds, you should not be made to pay more if you want a double bed in a "deluxe" room, single beds should only be placed in single bed budget rooms.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious and can fit a double bed and two single beds for a small family it also has amazi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wavz_03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    25
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
5
11
10
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

I recently stayed at the Boutique Hotel for a total of two nights before and after a trip on the Sepik river. As long as you are happy to pay the tariff then you will get a western experience in a frontier town. Their extensive local art and artefact collection is of very high quality - though (I believe) not for sale.

Room Tip: Try and book a seaside room - its on the nicer side of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vereheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Best place in town and the staff are delightful.When you return from 72 hours in the buggy Sepik region, with no AC, electricity or modern conveniences for awhile, this place becomes the Four Seasons. The restaurants Re both good, the WiFi is very good, and their bed linens are great.

Room Tip: Best place in town and the staff are delightful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillyjanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moresby
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2013

What a surprise to find this gem of a hotel in such a small town like Wewak! Having been used to third rate accommodation in most provincial centres in PNG, I was not expecting anything out of the ordinary when I made my reservation but I was quite wrong.

Perched on a cliff on Wewak Hill. everything about this boutique hotel shouted 'attention to detail'. The large room I had was akin to what you would find in a top notch hotel in Bali or Thailand. It looked as though they had even ironed the sheets after fitting them on the queen and single beds - not a crease to be found. The walls were tastefully decorated with beautiful framed photographs or paintings and a walk-in wardrobe led to a lovely bathroom that had a large array of toiletries for two guests including soap of a decent size. There was a chaise longue to relax on while watching the LCD TV that was fixed to the wall and a good sized desk. Several thoughtfully placed LED light fittings provided a nice ambience after dark. There were even three waste bins and three boxes of tissues all in the places you would want them.

Walk out of the room and straight onto a huge verandah decked with cane tables and chairs to sit and admire the superb views across the ocean to the islands on the horizon while been fanned by the gentle breeze. Every table had a small bowl of flowers picked from the garden and I noticed that these were refreshed several times a day. I even watched the Manager one evening lining up the chairs so that they were perfectly aligned.

The lovely restaurant had a large choice of dishes that were all reasonably priced many of them seafood. They even had crocodile steaks!The food was cooked to perfection with more than ample sized portions.

There were a few minor irritations like the window over the room door that let in light from the verandah when you wanted to sleep but this hotel serves as a shining example to other hotels in PNG.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the ocean are definitely the best but more expensive. Rooms over the pool are OK but ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raitman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2012

It was an absolute pleasure to get into a clean, air-conditioned room with an amazing shower. after a long trip on the sepik river. I did not want to leave the room. The hotel staff made sure that I have everything that I needed and was always very helpful: the room would get cleaned every morning, my washing would be done if asked, drop off and pick ups from town even helping me with wrapping my fragile sepik artefacts.. always with a smile. The food at the beautiful restaurant was delicious, diverse and the serve size was very generous.
By far the best hotel in Wewak and probably the best in PNG!
I'll be back again :)

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Alegra_Ally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Best choice in Wewak, rooms were comfortable and air-conditioned, and there were wide verandahs to relax on as well as a swimming pool.
Restaurant was good and not too expensive.
Overall good value and friendly staff.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hommar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ra'anana, Israel
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2012

We stayed in this hotel 2 nights on our way to and from Sepik river. This is by far the best hotel we stayed in PNG during our 3 weeks trip there.
Peaceful location with great seaside views. Clean, modern, good size room with all the amenities we needed. Nice common areas and restaurant. And superb collection of PNG artwork displayed all over the place.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Olga_Kira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wewak
0.0 mi away
Pacific Gardens Hotel
Pacific Gardens Hotel
#2 of 2 in Goroka
34 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kalibobo Village
Kalibobo Village
#2 of 6 in Madang
26 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bird Of Paradise Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Madang Resort Hotel
Madang Resort Hotel
#1 of 6 in Madang
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Airways Hotel
Airways Hotel
#1 of 15 in Port Moresby
424 reviews
0.0 mi away
Tawali Resort
Tawali Resort
#1 of 2 in Alotau
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to In Wewak Boutique hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about In Wewak Boutique hotel

Property: In Wewak Boutique hotel
Address: PO Box 96, Wewak, Papua New Guinea
Region: Papua New Guinea > Momase Region > Wewak
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Wewak
Number of rooms: 3

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing