We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small but beautifully formed!”

Claremont Landscape Garden
Ranked #1 of 17 things to do in Esher
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Small but beautifully formed!”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

You only need a couple of hours here as it is not a large parkland but it is beautiful for a leisurely and easy walk. Numbers of visitors are kept down by the small car parks and these can fill up quickly on nice days, so get there early! Cafe is similarly not overwhelmed by the restricted intake. No formal gardens or house but pleased to have visited. Entry charge is steep if you are not NT members tho!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    94
    35
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Reigate, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Peaceful gardens - great for kids”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Claremont is a favourite with my family. It is disconnected from the house, both by distance and ownership (the house is now a school) but the gardens are beautiful - it's more of a large park rather than formal gardens with borders etc.
This time of year, there is much to see, from the bluebells in the woods to ducklings and goslings on the main lake. There is lots to do for kids; there's a large playground with a 'castle' adjacent to the cafe, a wonderful thatched cottage deep in the park full of traditional children's toys and dressing up clothes and a natural play area to build bases in the woods!
The cafe has been recently refurbished and is now excellent - we all enjoyed our recent cream tea!

Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A beautiful tranquil place to walk around & enjoy”
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

A gorgeous landscape garden, lots of different birds & wildlife to see. A nice stroll around with lovely secret places to picnic & relax in, large lake to feed & observe ducks, geese, swans, doves. Leafy trees & bushes with seasonal flowers.
A great place to spend a beautiful afternoon

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful and idyllic on a sunny day. ”
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

What a stunning location. My husband and I and our 2 daughters (2.3 and 5 months) visited on our way home from a family visit. The weather was spectacular and feeding the ducks and geese was a highlight for my eldest. We had a picnic in the grounds so I can't comment on the café food but the drinks were the usual NT prices. There was also a buggy friendly route up to the view point with excellent views of the lake.

The only downside was the parking, the sign said the car park was full (which it wasn't) so wet used one on the opposite side of the busy road. There were cars lining the road and the lane to the other car park and trying to cross the main road with a double buggy was not easy, especially as people had parked where the path dipped to allow access!

Still an awesome ad hoc day out. We do have NT membership, so not sure on prices.

Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Pleasant stroll in a calm atmosphere”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Enjoyable morning out doing Easter Egg Hunt, £2.50 per child. Pleasant surroundings with no dogs or their excrement! Nice play area for younger children and would be even better with a good climbing area for older children. Overall a nice, relaxing walk with plenty of safe grassy areas for kids to run & shout as much as they want without being a nuisance to anyone.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nancymv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Claremont Landscape Garden also viewed

 

Been to Claremont Landscape Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing