We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a good day”

Sandown Park Racecourse
Ranked #3 of 17 things to do in Esher
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get your heart racing at Sandown Park Racecourse, Esher. Situated in the picturesque Surrey countryside, yet just 30 minutes from Central London, Sandown Park Racecourse is the versatile venue offering the best of both worlds. Whether you’re in the midst of the action in our Grandstand and Premier enclosures, or receiving some VIP hospitality treatment in our boxes and restaurant- Sandown Park’s race days are an ever-exciting pastime. Watching the Action. Sandown Park's spacious, modern Grandstand has been designed to get you as close to the racing champions as possible, whilst taking in the stunning Surrey scenery. Don’t forget to take a trip down to the Parade Ring to have look at the thoroughbreds and choose your favourite to win before cheering them on with the crowds. The Premier Enclosure. Sandown Park’s Premier Enclosure enjoys unparalleled views of the finish line, and access to a wider range of catering facilities including the Moet and Chandon Bar. Dress code for the racecourse's Premier Enclosure is smart casual. Collared shirts on men (including polo shirts and polo necked jumpers) are preferred and jeans are acceptable as long as they're not torn. Sandown Park doesn't allow trainers, non-tailored shorts, vests, rugby or football tops in its first class enclosure.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a good day”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Found the main stand to crowded no seating had to queue for drinks and toilets the only area we found to stand we where asked to move by a steward would never go again

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    89
    17
    6
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
“Visit to Sandown Races”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

This is an excellent day out . You do not have to bet any large amounts to experience the thrill and excitement of being at one of the best horse racing venues in the world.
You get excellent views and there all types of catering available ranging from fast food to fine dining.
Parking is free and there is a wonderful camaraderie.
It's very good value and racing is all year.
I prefer the racing over Jumps but the Flat is also excellent.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brian J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hen Party”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Went to Gentlemans Day on Saturday 9th November at Sandown Park for my Hen Party...The Buffet lunch was very good and the waiting staff were excellent ...After the races there was a Rock Band karaoke which was brilliant! We felt it was good value for money and a great day was had by all...I would recommend a day here for any occasion as the overall experience was excellent....

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lee W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“trade fair and dinner”
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I recently attended a trade fair and dinner at the sandown park race course.
Although extreemly busy with so many people taking part-the staff and catering staff at the venue are very helpfull and courteous at all times.
The refreshement area and the main hall was cleaned at very regular intervals and all the litter bins emptied without delay.
The annual gala dinner held in the above hall was fabulous-much exceeding my expectations.
despite many guests in attendance the food was served hot and in good timing with again, very courteous staff in attendance at the tables-waiting on our every need.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank turkishdelight14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, England
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
32 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A fun day at the races”
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Went with a group of work colleagues for a fun afternoon and that was exactly what we got. We were in the Premier Enclosure and had an amazing view of the finish line - the fact that, although I was only betting £1/£2 or so on a race, to end the day £30 up was a bonus! A great way to spend a fun afternoon if you don't take it all too seriously!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank jacksgrandma05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sandown Park Racecourse also viewed

 

Been to Sandown Park Racecourse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing