We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay”
Review of The Bear Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bear Hotel
Ranked #2 of 5 Esher B&B and Inns
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
166 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“A good place to stay”
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Excellent large clean room which even though it was on the main road did not disturb the sleep of a couple of country bumpkins. Very friendly staff and an extremely good well cooked breakfast really made it a perfect place to stay whilst attending a local function.
Car park is a bit stange you have to register to get the number to open the barrier and there really is nowhere to park

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    44
    24
    17
    4
See reviews for
14
47
2
28
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

From the time of booking on the 'phone to our departure, the staff could not have done more for us - they were superb from organising a sandwich "breakfast" for one who had to leave very early, to fixing a taxi to get us from the station to the pub in time for supper. The room had excellent double glazing and there was very little traffic noise. Also, great bath towels.Yes the pub is noisy - but it is a PUB and, until throwing out time, they can be noisy - live with it, or use earplugs. Our room was very close to the traffic lights - no problem, draw the curtains. Breakfast was good and unhurried. Would we return? Yes, if we happen to be in or near Esher and needing somewhere to stay then certainly we would - five star it is not but friendly, helpful and comfortable it is. Oh yes, joy of joys - fresh milk in the fridge for the early morning tea. Nice touch.

Room Tip: we had room 6 - there are a few strange noises in the building but nothing to disturb the sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBear54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2012

I normally stay at The Crown in Chertsey, but as usual it was full. So unfortunately I tried the sister hotel in Esher. Arrived about 10pm and couldn't get into the car park. Had to get the hotel staff to move their car from the customer car park to free up a space.The manager and main receptionsit were friendly but I was so disappointed when shown my room. Clean but small, Dark and right above the main bar; you could hear everything, everyone was saying.
Breakfast was menu only. I seldolm have a cooked breakfast but i thought I'd treat myself. There was no fruit juice or anything to which you could help yourself. I order brown toast and two poached eggs on toast. 20 mins later two hard poached eggs turned up on one tiny slice of toast, plus one slice of toast. So the marks are for good staff, clean room. Must try harder.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BOR15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Esher hotels

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
309 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Let's start on the positive side.
Really helpful and pleasant staff who couldn't have been more helpful. The young lady a breakfast did a great job (although it was very busy) and the breakfast was delivered hot and as ordered. Also very tasty eggs benedict. My room was of reasonable size and clean. Nice touch to have gratis bottled sparkling water supplied, chilled in the fridge. The Bear was also a reasonable price for the location.
Now for the negative.
My basic reason for staying in a hotel is to get some sleep. I was allocated the Polar Bear room. No way you could hibernate in here. Right over looking the traffic lights used as a christmas tree at the start of a drag race. The Bear was there before the traffic junction but I think the bed was too. Broken springs all over so I tried by doubling the quilt up and sleeping on top. No use. Added all the available towels and spare pillows to no avail. I the words of Eurovision nil point. Shame really......................

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid a room the the front and confirm the mattress has been changed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TurboKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

We went to The Bear for Sunday lunch. There was one other table seated, yet we still had to wait a half hour for our food. My husband and I ordered the roast beef. The beef was dry and stringy, the roast potatoes were rock hard and shrivelled in the middle, the mashed potato was watery and tasteless, the veg, roast parsnips and boiled carrots were flavourless. The Yorkshire pudding was greasy and salty. My son had spicy squid which he couldn't chew and left it. Nothing tasted as it should. It was a huge disappointment, at a cost of £14.95 per roast lunch, which is very overpriced for a Sunday lunch in a pub. I had stomach ache all afternoon. We certainly will never go there again. The total bill was £52.00. Three meals, two soft drinks and 1 pint!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerripl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clacton-on-Sea, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012

We arrived at the hotel and on first impression it looked very nice, staff were friendly and check in was easy enough - the lady showed us up to our room (Brown grizzly bear) and it went down hill from there. Where do I start? The room was the size of a shoebox, the bed was broken, there was no ceiling light just small lamps beside the bed, the windows were practically falling apart, there were stains up the walls, there was a large damp/mould patch on the ceiling in the bathroom, the skirting boards were black and mouldy, there was damp in the cupboard, not what we expected from the very cleverly angled photos on their site. We then went down for something to eat, I had small fish and chips which when I say small I mean SMALL for nearly £7 I was shocked when it came out and my partner had the fajitas, what a disappointment they were overbearing taste of rosemary (who puts rosemary on fajitas?) we told the waitress and all we got was a 'we appreciate your feedback'. Breakfast was ok - but slow. When we checked out after a bad night sleep we begrudgingly handed over our money for our very over priced room and made the man aware of our complaints and he advised us 'I’ll pass your comments over to our manager and she will give you a courtesy call' - we stayed on Thursday 9th and I’m still waiting for our courtesy call!!! Luckily for The Bear they are in walking distance of Sandown Racecourse - so if you want somewhere within a 3 minute walk and aren't fussed about where you rest your head then stay here - otherwise spend your money elsewhere.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paige A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2012

On walking in to the pub entrance it looks a bit rough but don't let that fool you, Check in was very friendly and helpful and a rare thing these days I was shown to my room, I was allocated room 4The Black Bear which was at the back of the hotel and very quiet. Slept very well both nights I stayed there and found the bed very comfortable, nice selection of drinks provide in the room with fresh milk in the fridge, changed both days, also biscuits provided and fruit and water in the fridge all include in the price, breakfast both days was fine and all included, only slight negative was the sausage had chilly in it, I don't mind that but I could see some people having problems.
One star off as all though the room was clean and well presented some of the paint work cold do with a lick of paint

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfer36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Esher
2.4 mi away
Holiday Inn London-Kingston South
3.4 mi away
Oatlands Park Hotel
Oatlands Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Weybridge
4.0 of 5 bubbles 920 reviews
2.5 mi away
Premier Inn Cobham Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Brooklands Hotel
Brooklands Hotel
#1 of 4 in Weybridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,509 reviews
4.0 mi away
The Warren Lodge Hotel
The Warren Lodge Hotel
#1 of 3 in Shepperton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 571 reviews
4.8 mi away
Days Inn Cobham M25
Days Inn Cobham M25
#1 of 4 in Cobham
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bear Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bear Hotel

Property: The Bear Hotel
Address: 71 High Street, Esher KT10 9RQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Surrey > Esher
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Esher
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bear Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and HRS so you can book your The Bear Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bear Hotel Esher, Surrey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing