We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My preferred place to stay in HVGB”
Review of Royal Inn + Suites

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Royal Inn + Suites
Reviewed 23 May 2012

This is my preferred hotel in HVGB. It is well situated in the “downtown” portion of town. There are several classes of rooms available and two different buildings: The Inn and the Suites. The Royal Inn units are more economical but are older and smaller than the units in the Royal Suites annex. I haven’t stayed in the Inn suites for a year and a half but assume they are much the same as last time I stayed there… clean, a bit cramped, reasonably comfortable bed. The Executive VIP rooms are equipped with microwave and small fridge. The Executive Guest Rooms also have the microwave and fridge but tend to be a bit more cramped because of the two double beds. When I’m staying for 2 or more days, I try to book a suite for the extra space. In my experience the rooms are always well cleaned and beds comfortable. The area is very quiet. I did notice on my most recent stay that there have been some paint scrapes on a couple of walls so it might be time for a paint job but that does not take away from the overall quality of this facility. I’ve also used the Executive Board room for small meetings. It is a bit cramped with more than 8 people.

Room Tip: In the Suites, ask for a room on the top (second) floor. For light sleepers, you will hear the occup...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (55)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

46 - 52 of 55 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2012

THis is a basic motel where a fair bit of effort has been made to upgrade the facilities.
It was clean comfortable and the front desk staff very pleasant.
An added bonus is the included breakfast.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AmberK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Monica on the front desk.....super nice person. Even loaned patrons her snow/ice scraper on several occasions as car rental companies don't provide them.
Continental breakfast is serve yourself which is great and opens at 7 a.m. but not on Saturday and Sunday so you'll have to go elsewhere. The pre-wrapped bowl of mixed fruit was wilted.....not as fresh as previous times but was still ok. Room was good value for the money and hotel cleaning staff were hardworking, attentive, sociable and kind. Room was very clean as well as aesthetically pleasing and color coordinated. I liked the matching mini fridge and microwave. Toilet was the only utility problem as you had to depress the handle for a long time to get it to work and then it wouldn't stop running unless you played with the handle again.....common problem in all hotels I think. Hotels should spend more money on quality flushboxes or kits. It took a long time for the hot water to come through to the taps......a really long time.
Good stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the newer section, a suite if your budget allows, if not, then a double. Check the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 2TsingTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

There is really no point in checking out all hotels in Happy Valley - Goose Bay before you choose... This is the best one, balancing value, accommodation and amenities. Rooms are large, extra clean, internet is super fast, breakfast is basic - but free. The staff (Kelly) is super helpful, very knowledgeable and goes out of her way to respond to your questions or needs. This is also one of the two hotels that offer the free satellite phone program. If you are going towards Labrador City - you will probably not need one as the road is very good, but if you are headed south towards Newfoundland you will need one - ask for it the day before - they tend to run out of them quickly!
Excellent hotel - if we ever end up in this part of the world - we will definitely stay again!

Room Tip: upper floor is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dessie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We drove across Northern Quebec, the interior of Labrador and all around the coast then over to Newfoundland - this hotel was one of the BEST we stayed in.

We stayed in the new addition - our room was clean, modern, tastefully decorated, nice flat screen TV and wireless internet. Room had a fridge and microwave and huge bathroom. Beds were extremely comfortable and the value was great....we spent MORE at other hotels that were no where near this nice!

Breakfast is free and available in the front office, have a full range of cereals (hot & cold), breads, bagels, juices, milk, coffee, yogurts etc.

Front desk service was fine, not out-of-their way friendly but certainly pleasant enough.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Suzandowen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2008

I recently stayed at the Royal Inn & Suites, in the new addition (room #35) and the experience was very positive.

The suite, a living room with flat screen TV, fully equipped kitchenette and bedroom (another flatscreen TV) and bathroom, was immaculate, well designed and comfortable.

It is apparent that the property is well cared for, as the common, public area, where breakfast is hosted in the morning, was also very tidy, clean and comfortable.

All in all, it was a great place to stay and I would not hesitate to recommend it to friends and business colleagues.

4  Thank htravelbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank highlander1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Royal Inn + Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn + Suites

Address: 3 Royal Street | P.O. Box 69 - Stn. B, Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Newfoundland and Labrador A0P 1C0, Canada
Region: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Labrador > Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Happy Valley-Goose Bay
Number of rooms: 37
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Inn + Suites is located in the centre of Happy Valley-Goose Bay, NL. Nestled on beautifully-landscaped lot, this property offers a wide range of options including luxurious suites and well-appointed guest rooms. All rooms include a fresh complimentary breakfast and Wi-Fi internet. The hotel is under new ownership as of December 19, 2016 and will be adding a new fitness centre in the near future. Meeting space is also available. We look forward to seeing you soon! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing