We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience, no need to pay up for higher-end rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
New York
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great experience, no need to pay up for higher-end rooms”
Reviewed 19 March 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days on Anguilla - it's a beautiful island with great nightlife and outstanding dining options by any standard. My wife and I have typically approached the Caribbean as more of a low-key vacation to be spent hanging out in a room with a plunge pool or villa (Jade Mountain, Cayo Espanto), but we quickly realized that's not what Anguilla is all about. There are a lot of things to do off-resort, so I would not recommend paying up for a more expensive room as you're unlikely to spend a lot of time in it.

As for the Viceroy, though parts of it's faux-Miami architecture look a bit out-of-place with the rest of the island, it is a lovely resort with great views, helpful staff, and some solid dining options. We really enjoyed sitting out by the pool on the Sunset Deck and grabbing lunch on the beach at the Half Shell. You can easily walk up the beach to other great dining spots, including Blanchards and the Straw Hat. That being said, if you're looking for a quiet, private couples vacation, I would choose your room carefully unless you're staying in one of the villas (and even some of those have pools that are in plain view of the pedestrian path). Other than Buildings 32/33, most of the ocean-view suites look out onto the pools (same for roof-top suites) and directly into other suites (see photos). You have very little privacy and can hear everything your neighbors are doing, as well as noise from the fitness center, bar, etc. The balconies are covered so you can't get much sun on them anyway. This is all especially true on lower floors. I really didn't see anyone using their balconies or pools (the pools are basically small little hot tubs) at all during our stay. There are a ton of families and kids, so, again, be prepared if you're looking for a secluded/private couples retreat.

The beaches around the Viceroy are pretty eroded right now so there's was less of a beach scene than a pool scene. Unfortunately, the view from the beach on one side of the resort is currently marred by off-short dredging, but that is expected to be temporary. There are plenty of other beaches to visit, including the beach at Smokeys, which is close by, and the gorgeous Shoal Bay, which requires driving. The adult pools are great - plenty of people mingling, live music at night, easy access to drinks, great view of the water.

The staff is friendly and did everything they could to make our experience enjoyable. The concierge arranged any number of activities and dinner reservations, while the front desk found us a room in Building 33 when we weren't initially happy with our room in Building 34.

Room Tip: In terms of the one-bedroom ocean-view suites, I'd strongly recommend as high a floor as possibl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ny_wahoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 13 May 2013
We're happy that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us. As you state, there's an abundance of activities both on and off property. This, along with our wonderful staff and dining venues, make for a fun-filled escape. The off-shore dredging that you mention is temporary and is part of our efforts to enhance our already gorgeous beaches. Thanks again for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,456 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,082
    228
    76
    38
    32
See reviews for
300
809
27
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

This resort is the most beautiful resort I have ever been too! If it could be a museum it would, it's that pristine! But don't get me wrong, the staff made you feel VERY welcome the entire time you are there. With free treats by the pool/beach, free snorkel gear any time of day, and a wonderful dessert spread when you first get to your room, their is no room for complaints!

The spa was excellent with the staff being very friendly and accommodating. When we were there we had the vanishing edge pool to ourselves! It was wonderful taking a dip after my message. The front desk person Tristan was very nice. He even let my husband swim in the pool with me even though he didn't get a treatment.

My husband and I are really looking forward to going back soon and if you have any doubts about where to stay on this little gem of an island, look no further. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tduddie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review and kind words about our staff. We're happy you enjoyed your spa experience so much and will absolutely share your remarks with Tristan. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
atlanta
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

So, I wrote a review back in 2011 about my experience staying at the Viceroy for a week with my husband (our honeymoon). In that review I stated how beautiful the property was-still is- and how if they could only get their customer service issues under control, they would be a true five star resort....
Well, my husband and I decided to take the plunge and head back to the Viceroy for a 4 day stay last week. I am here to tell you, whatever issues they had going on back when I visited last, are gone. The trip, from check in to check out, couldn't of gone more smoothly. The hotel is as beautiful as ever, the food was delicious (specifically the sushi at Sunset Lounge), and the staff couldn't of been friendlier or more tentative.
I am back to being a believer in this lovely resort and can't wait to come back...hoping sooner rather than later!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank lizC8848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We're very glad that you noticed improvements in our customer service! It's something we constant strive to improve. We're so happy that your trip went so smoothly and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

We were initially surprised by how modern this hotel is but it quickly grew on us, particularly as the travertine used throughout is the same as in the hallway of our own house!! There was a very large party staying at the same time which could be a bit overwhelming but the staff were delightful and we never felt overlooked. The outside area is big enough that we could always find a quiet spot to ourselves. Our room was fantastic - the only quibble would be lack of sockets near the mirror for hairdressing purposes. The adult pool area was gorgeous with ample towels, suncreams, iced water etc. The beach is lovely too. We ate at Coba, their Italian restaurant once and dined out the rest of the week. There is not a huge amount to see on the island but a tour is worthwhile. We would definitely recommend the Viceroy and look forward to returning.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RandS523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We're pleased that you enjoyed the Sunset Lounge and it's many amenities. It's a great spot to relax and enjoy a snack or drink. We also look forward to your next stay with us! Our staff strives to provide each guest with the highest level of personalized service, which makes each stay unique and memorable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

It would be the Viceroy in Anguilla. Design and art along with the quality of the architecture are the top of the food chain. Staff is excellent and amenities are superior. Room my fiance and I had was incredible with its own private plunge pool on the roof that provides complete privacy. The price of the room is Very expensive but for a particularly special occasion or if monies no object I don't see how it can be done better. Have been to numerious high end carribean resorts and this one is the best I have seen.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a plunge pool and ocean view or frontage. The 6 penthouse rooms on the front ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Larry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
We're glad you and your fiance had a great stay with us. While we are appreciate that you recognized how our modern architectural forms interplay with the surrounding environment, it's our amazing staff that are truly the property's heart and soul. Thank you for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2013

There was nothing not to love about Anguilla or the Viceroy. The hotel, seemingly 'imbedded' into the rocks is an architectural marvel. The design of the property and the decor of the rooms are truly beautiful and Kelly Wearstler outdid herself on this one. As an adult family of 4 we stayed in the adult section of the hotel and our rooms were very spacious and beautifully appointed. Bathrooms were wonderful and the jacuzzi on the patio was a perfect place to gaze out at the ocean. The pool area and surrounds were gorgeous. We never tired of the sunsets and the tranquility. The Sunset Lounge has a great vibe especially at night; music, people, food, entertainment and all. Anguilla is charming and unspoiled, the people friendly and welcoming and if you want to experience it first hand, I would not miss the opportunity to do the escorted bike ride around the island, which is one of the excursions offered by the hotel. They say you never forget how to ride a bike...well not sure on that...but don't let that aspect deter you if that is the case with you too, as it is fascinating, informative and you will be glad you tried. Good food comes at a price and we tried a number of restaurants on and off property and most did not disappoint. DO rent a car ; that was our only complaint, taxis charge by 'zones' and you will realize that you could have rented a car for a third of the price, if you choose to venture to other hotels or restaurants, (which we would recommend). Don't miss the beach at nearby hotel, Cap Juluca. The expanse of the sugary white sands and turquoise ocean is the best on the island in our opinion, in a different bay from the Viceroy. The Viceroy has a sugar white sand beach on one side, open to all adults and families, from where you can walk endlessly and stop for a bite of lunch at one of the quaint restaurants along the way, (so take money with you). Don't forget about the small beach on the other side, (belonging to the hotel and where the villas are located) to which you can be taken by golf cart , though very walkable, or even swimmable, if you are feeling adventurous. Not sure the hotel would endorse this choice but we managed well. Nice bar and beautiful shells and corals await you, so don't miss it. Can't wait to go back to this beautiful treasure of an island and the Viceroy is a wonderful choice for discerning travelers expecting a luxurious vacation.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank worldtravelerfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 26 March 2013
Thank you for your review. We're happy you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotels, from the architecture and Kelly Wearstler design to the food and powder beaches. We're also happy that you enjoyed our island bike tour and completely agree that it's one of the best ways to see Anguilla! We hope you visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My wife and I love Anguilla, it is one of our favorite places to go on the planet, and we have been around it. We have stayed in a private Villa and some other places around Anguilla and St.Martins. The Viceroy really was hands down the TOP place to stay, no question. The feel of the place is amazing, the design and clean lines of everything was enough to make you not leave. The service was excellent and people were so kind and attentive to your every need. We had one of the Rooms with the hot-tub on the roof of it with the spiral staircase up to it, I think it was called the loft suite. It was fantastic! To watch the sunset every night from our hot-tub on the roof and have your favorite drink in your hand was seriously priceless. the food found at the resort was some of the best on the island. (but there are LOTS of great places to eat around the island, we rented a car and went out for lunch and dinner most days) The pool and Beach at the Viceroy are so well designed and again the service of them making up your chair and bringing around cool fruit snacks or cold lemon towels was heavenly. the Views around the resort are some of the best on the island, Meads bay is the main beach off the side of the hotel and you can sink almost ankle deep in soft sand when you are walking. it really is a increadilbe place on the planet. At the end of the beach (about a 30-45 minute walk) you have all these starfish and some cool rocks to walk out on. It is a beautiful spot and I would recommend this over any of the other hotels. (we stays at a few of the other top listed ones on T.A. and for the price difference, the little extra for Viceroy makes your holiday from good, to off the chart GREAT!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Blur75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richard A, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla, responded to this review, 14 March 2013
We're thrilled you enjoyed your ocean view room - Anguilla has some of the best ocean vistas in the world! We're even happier that you experienced the excellent service we strive to provide all our guests. We hope you'll be back soon for more fun in the sun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.8 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
6.0 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
76 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
297 reviews
8.7 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
199 reviews
1.0 mi away
Cap Juluca
Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla

Property: Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Address: Barnes Bay, West End Village AI-2640, Anguilla (Formerly Viceroy Anguilla)
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#3 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#4 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#4 Family Hotel in West End Village
#4 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla 5*
Number of rooms: 181
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla invites you to make yourself at home in 166 villas and resort accommodations, more than 80% of which overlook the breaking surf and blue horizons of two of Anguilla's 33 spectacular beaches. Relax in the seaside spa. Sample fresh cuisine with those you love, in a place where every sunset is theatrical. Immerse yourself in Anguilla's unique culture and stunning natural beauty as Four Seasons expertise takes the Caribbean to new levels of seaside luxury. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Viceroy Anguilla Hotel West End
Four Seasons Resort And Residences Anguilla West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing