We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Right on the beach”
Review of Belmond Cap Juluca

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Cap Juluca
Ranked #5 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Right on the beach”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

There's nothing like opening up your room to the Caribbean Sea. This place is pricey, but you get what you pay for. Great place for couples.

The only criticism I have is the diving. It's not good on Anguilla. But don't let that deter you from visiting the island.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Longhorns0205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

798 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    540
    147
    65
    27
    19
See reviews for
92
609
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln Park, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I seem to be in the minority, but I just returned from a 5 night trip to Cap Juluca with my husband and we were so disappointed. It's ok, just not worth the money. Had we known, I would have preferred to pay slightly extra for the Viceroy. Cap Juluca is definitely NOT a 5 star resort.

I will say that the people there were absolutely wonderful (except for the concierge, Denise!). I actually felt bad that they were so nice, but couldn't make up for all the hotel was lacking. And the privacy was very nice - we were in Villa 18 which is at the very end of the private beach, and for most of the trip had no neighbors. That meant that we essentially had the beach to ourselves and our own personal waiter.

Now for the areas we were disappointed - food. There are 3 restaurants at Cap Juluca, and all are terrible. They try everything to get you to eat there, but don't fall for it - the food is barely average, but is priced as if it were good. We did enjoy Veya, Blanchard's, and Straw Hat. They were expensive, but well worth it. We were SUPPOSED to have dinner at Coba (Viceroy restaurant) but found out when we showed up that our concierge Denise had never made the reservation. There was a private event being held, so they did not accept any reservations for that night. She failed to tell us this, so on our last night after spending the $30 in cab fare to get to the Vicerory, we were forced to just eat at the bar. And our room itself. . . . .not terrible, but again not what I expected from a 5 star hotel. Our bathroom had no A/C and no exhaust fan, so you couldn't actually put makeup on, do your hair, or anything like that in there without having sweat dripping off you. Maybe not a big deal for some, but I found it very inconvenient to not be able to use the mirror in there for anything. I resorted to using a little handheld that I could take out into the main part of the room. And finally, the lack of a decent pool - I didn't think I would mind not having a pool, but I actually did. There is one main pool by the restaurant, but no one uses it because it's dirty and just not conveniently placed. If you never go to the pool, it's not an issue because the beach is truly gorgeous, but I find it really nice to end the day at the pool with a nice drink and you just didn't have that at Cap Juluca.

So my overall recommendation is that while this hotel is ok, it's just not worth the $. Go to a true 5 star hotel, NOT Cap Juluca.

Room Tip: We were at the very end - Villa 18, which was a perk for me because I LOVE long walks and it forced...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGP7577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is absolutely fabulous, but don't tell too many people..................we want to keep it our secret!
Wonderful people. Gorgeous beach! Delicious food. Romantic beyond belief! Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Redhead5609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2014

First off, my husband and I went to Cap Juluca Last year for our anniversary during July 4th weekend, Ive been so busy wihtkids, that i just got the change to finish my review! This is overall a great hotel and you wont be disappointed if you come here. The best thing about this resort is your access to the beach, hands out....this is why you come to Cap Juluca over the Viceroy...is the beach access, you can basically walk out of your room and a couple of steps away and your at the beach...we didnt really go to the pool, we just hung out at the beach. We visited the viceroy and its def a hotel that belongs in Miami or LA, it doesnt have that carribean flair to it...so if you want something that is trendy, then go tothe Viceroy, if you want a nice relaxing vacation, privacy, go to Cap...Now at CAp the rooms are a bit outdated, the bathrooms are redone, but the rooms itself are nothing spectacular... Also the breakfast is just ok too, its not as good as some breakfast buffets ive been to...but the people at the resort are really nice...We went to dinner at Pimms, and it was good..We liked Cap overall, but we did wish the rooms were done up a little nicer esp for the price, but again you are paying for the location... hope this helps!

Room Tip: You dont really need a room with that extra solarium thing by the bathroom, and at the tea time in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daisy827
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katy, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We've been literally all over the world and never seen a beach as beautiful as this one. Stayed in a Junior Suite overlooking the beach with a private sundeck on the roof that was perfect in evey way.

We took a chance and booked a September trip and arrived the day before a tropical storm passed overhead, but the staff took excellent care of us and we actually enjoyed the 24 hours we were more or less confined to our room. They prepped us with tons of food, candles, water, flashlights, everything we could possibly need. Within a day of the storm , the staff had regroomed to beach to a pristine condition.

The restaurants were a tad expensive but hey, the quality of the food was gourmet and this IS an island. Every meal we had was top flight! Can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Beachfront Junior Suites are so fine. Loved the balcony and private sundeck on the roof.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Cap Juluca Resort has a choice of three restaurants we ate at the Spice, this water front restaurant has a great position and on the Friday night we visited we had live music and dancing,a very good evening with friendly and playful staff along with good food just like all Anguilla restaurants the wine is over priced or in my view does not drink to the price and the food is not that reasonable. We had ok food and a nice evening and would return as the atmosphere was lovely with the ocean waves creating a few shouts as it crashed into the wall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mimosaSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asbury, New Jersey
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I booked a long weekend at Cap Juluca for our anniversary. From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, we truly felt like we were in paradise. The beach is stunningly beautiful, the water is calm, clear, and warm. The sand is soft as baby powder and extremely clean. We flew into St. Martin and arranged for a private boat to take us to Cap Juluca, all professionally organized by sending one email to the concierge. We were concerned that the extra inconvenience of landing and then taking a boat would detract from our experience, as we were only staying for a short time. The boat ride was spectacular and only added about 30 minutes to our travel day. This is a thousand times better than what we have experienced staying at other resorts where we had to take a bus from the airport. Taking the boat improved our overall experience. The hotel is small, no crowds, and very private. If you are looking for group activities and nightlife, this is not the place for you. If you are looking for a beautiful beach with impeccable service, you have found the right place. The beach was extremely private. In fact, at time there were no other guests anywhere in sight, as the beach is long and there are not that many villas. A short walk to the end of the beach gave us 100% privacy to do what ever we wanted to do, far away and out of view of anyone else. This is a love resort and a place we intend to return to. Service is top notch. And, while lounging away under an umbrella on the beach, all you do is raise a flag and a beach attendant promptly arrives,to take your order. Classy.

Room Tip: We stayed in a second floor room. The ocean view from our room was incredible. Our room had a pri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.5 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
6.4 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
76 reviews
1.0 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
297 reviews
9.1 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
199 reviews
1.9 mi away
CuisinArt Golf Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Cap Juluca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Cap Juluca

Property: Belmond Cap Juluca
Address: Maundays Bay, West End Village AI - 2640, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#4 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#5 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#5 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#6 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Cap Juluca 5*
Number of rooms: 70
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Insulated from the outside world, yet only minutes by air or motor launch from St. Maarten, Belmond Cap Juluca resort is a private self-contained enclave along two miles of the best pristine white-sand beaches in the Caribbean. Spacious Moorish villas, five-star restaurants, exotic landscaped tropical gardens, and friendly and abundant service professionals provide an unparalleled level of luxury. Belmond Cap Juluca features a comprehensive array of entertainment amenities, including a fully equipped fitness center, private golf carts and bicycles, aqua golf driving range, bunker and putting green, croquet lawn, Junior Olympic-size swimming pool, a library, tennis courts with a full-time resident pro, and water sports, including snorkeling, wind surfing, water skiing, and sailing. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, West Indies, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Belmond Cap Juluca reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cap Juluca Hotel West End
Cap Juluca Hotel Anguilla
Cap Juluca Anguilla
Cap Juluca Resort Anguilla
Belmond Cap Juluca Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing