We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gracious service at this affordable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My wife and I spent April 5 - 12, 2014 at Anacaona Hotel and we thoroughly enjoyed it. Now, if what you are expecting is a new, high-luxury resort directly on the beach, this is not the place for you. Instead, Anacaona is a very quiet, pleasant, comfortable and clean small hotel that is nicely situated a couple of hundred yard's easy walk from Mead's Bay, one of most beautiful beaches on Anguilla. It's amenities include nice gardens, two pools, a spa and a good dining room. It also provides lounge chairs, umbrellas and a basic bar on the beach. If you want a variety of fine beach-side dining options, Mead's Bay is a great location for you: a walk up the beach will bring you to Straw Hat, Jacala and Blanchard's restaurants, some of the island's best. At Anacaona Hotel, we stayed in room 502, a second floor "junior suite" with a balcony that offered a view of the sea and sunsets. Though not sumptuous, it was well-appointed, comfortable and we'd happily stay there again. The thing we enjoyed most about Anacaona was the wonderful, friendly service: everyone - desk manager Raquel, waitresses Prudence and Rose - and others made us feel very welcome and could not have been more gracious.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sfendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

102 - 108 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just returned from a week long stay in Anguilla and St. Martin with my husband. The first 5 days of our trip were spent at the Anacaona and we didn't want to leave! I've read some of the complaints others have had with this hotel and just have to say that it depends on what kind of experience you want to have. Anacaona was perfect to us because we wanted to feel like we were staying in the Caribbean and not in some non-descript hotel room that could be in any city. If you are looking for a chain hotel experience that is the same in every city, this place is not for you.

We stayed in a superior room on the second floor with a lovely balcony that overlooked the gardens and the ocean. The room was basic but clean and comfortable. I'm used to being too cold in hotel rooms that have poor temperature control but the air conditioning here was very easily controlled. There was also a ceiling fan. The bathroom was spacious with lots of counter space for toiletries. The bed was very comfortable but the mattress did creak a little bit. There was free wi-fi which was spotty at times but good enough for our needs. There was also a refrigerator in the room which was nice.

The staff was so friendly that we felt let down by the service at our next hotel. Especially Tweety who works in the bar and restaurant. She asked us our names the first night we were there and greeted us (and many other guests) by name every time she saw us after that. She made us feel truly welcome. While at the beach, a staff member brought over a towel because he couldn't see that I had my towel in my bag. That's just another example of anticipating rather than reacting to guests' needs. Upon check-in, the front desk staff (can't remember her name) was very friendly and informative. We were asked to sit down while checking in and were offered a complimentary rum punch. When we said we didn't need bell service she offered to show us to the room herself. This is the kind of service you don't get at most larger/chain hotels. Other front desk staff were very helpful with making dinner reservations, calling taxis, and offering flashlights so we could walk on the beach at night.

The walk to the beach is about 5 minutes through the garden path. I cannot imagine how anyone can complain about this as it's a beautiful walk. The garden is full of palm trees, banana trees, and lovely flowers. There are hammocks strung between trees to allow for more places to relax. You also walk past one of the pools on the way to the beach. On the beach, the hotel offers beverage and lunch service right to your lounge chair which the mega resort next door does not offer. A short walk up the beach will provide any number of other restaurants or beach bars. We never had trouble getting beach chairs or an umbrella and the beach never felt overcrowded.

The restaurant and bar offered fabulous food and drinks. We did venture out to several other restaurants during our stay but had many meals at the hotel. We had breakfast every morning and there was enough on the menu that we weren't eating the same things every day. The french toast was phenomenal and the smoothies were a nice healthy option while still delicious. We had the crab pizza for lunch which was so great we ordered one more time before we left. Dinner standouts were the pumpkin soup, curried goat, grilled lobster and snapper.

A few other reviewers have mentioned the roosters. Yes, on Anguilla we saw roosters on the beach and on the property of Anacaona. Yes they crowed often but I was never woken up by the sound. Holding this against the hotel would be like staying in New York City and complaining about the traffic noise. Also there is a cat that roams the property. He is very friendly and I didn't see him bothering any guests. Not sure why anyone would complain about this.

Overall, this was the perfect relaxing get-away that we needed and we would definitely return to the Anacaona on future trips to Anguilla.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Everchase182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is a great lodging option on the West End of Anguilla, and on Mead's Bay (one of our favorite spots in the world). The walk to the beach was a little further than comfortable - we ended up driving to beaches more than originally planned.

Room Tip: if stairs don't bother you I'd ask for a higher floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rubyruby04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It is everything it claims to be, charming, lovely staff, great location, peaceful, beautiful gardens etc.

Access to the most fantastic beach is simple and only a short walk, mostly through the hotel garden. Most staff could not be more helpful and obliging attending to any queries or problems immediately.

Menu could be more imaginative and extensive but lots of great restaurants around within walking distance.

Certainly recommend.

Room Tip: No lift and many room up several flights, check for your desired location. Garden rooms good for fam...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank roninspector
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

A lovely boutique hotel, quiet and private, nice restaurant with a limited menu. Outstanding staff especially Lydia, the tall bar lady and the breakfast waitress. Three minutes walk from a first class beach. We can't wait to go back.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank DoctorOboe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The Anacoana Boutique Hotel is in the classic Caribbean style, stucco buildings weaving through lush tropical gardens and coconut palms. It is smallish in comparison to its large neighbor, the Viceroy. But unlike the Viceroy with all of it’s glittering marble, glass and chrome, at the Anacoana you can feel comfortable walking around in beach wear. I was vacationing with my wife of 45 years and our daughter who was in need of some serious R&R from here job. Thus we had a two-bedroom suite that was connected by a screened in porch. I am guessing that it was one of the first unattached buildings in the hotel complex. It was showing its age. The rooms were roomy enough, but there were very limited flat surfaces to put things, especially in the bathrooms. There were some rips along the edges of the screens in the porch, the outside light in the unscreened in patio did not have a bulb, the batteries were dead in one of the air-conditioning remote controls, and there was no draw fan in the bathroom. But the rooms where clean and the house staff did an exceptional job keeping everything clean, including the coffee pot and wine and drink glasses in the kitchen area. I did not have occasion to look at any other rooms or suites.

There are two well-maintained swimming pools. The larger of the two is near the main hotel building and close the hotel’s Firefly restaurant. The second pool is much smaller and closer to the beach. This pool should be “adults only” because it was invaded by young children who upset the tranquility of that secluded pool. The remainder of the grounds could have used a little more care. The lawn areas, though limited, needed to have the tall weeds mowed. And the lights that illuminated the walkways at night needed attention. Some were not working and lying on their sides.

We timed the walk to Meads Bay beach. It was almost exactly 5 minutes at a leisurely pace, once we knew the way. The first time you take the walk, you encounter a “T” intersection on an access road, facing a stucco wall. Do you go right or left? If you look sharp left you will see a small sign on a distant stucco wall pointing to the beach. We were not the only ones to have that initial problem as other newly arriving guest asked us how to get to the beach. And what a beach it is! As advertised, the resort has comfortable beach chairs and umbrellas there for the guests. There is also a beach bar/grill there run by the hotel.

This is a wonderful resort, though a little long in the tooth. The staff is very friendly and helpful. The restaurant is very good. It is very relaxing and peaceful, even with the crowing rooster. It is a Caribbean beauty with a few small warts, but I am already looking forward to a return trip.

Room Tip: The two bedroom suite on the east side is adjacent to a service road. But it is not much of a noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

STAY AWAY from the Anacaona Hotel if you want to sleep well. We were returning to Anguilla for a relaxing 6 night stay. We loved Anguilla because of it's peace and quiet. There is no peace and quiet at the Anacaona. The first night that we stayed, March 9, 2014 we were woken up at 1:00 a.m. by the shrill, loud screeching of a rooster. As soon as we fell asleep the rooster started screeching again. This happened every hour until sunrise. Another nightmare occurred that first night. I was suffering from a stomach bug that had me running to the bathroom every hour. At 4:00 a.m. I was startled to find that there was NO WATER in the room or any of the lobby bathrooms. The night person told me that I would have to wait until the morning!! I informed him that the whole resort probably had no water and that it would be a disaster for the guests. He reluctantly called the maintenance man. I spent the next 2 hours waiting (and being tortured by the cries of the rooster) as they tried to fix the main water pump. Finally the water came back on at dawn. This is what we get for $300+ per night?

We complained to the owner Robin Ricketts the next day about the rooster. His response was that they are wild and that he could not do anything about them. In our opinion the rooster is a pest and must be controlled.

Our next 2 nights were a replay of the first night. We got virtually no sleep. In addition, the rock hard beds, body numbing beds made what little sleep we had poor. At the end of the third night we could not take it any more and cut short our stay. The front desk person was not at all sympathetic. We were given a token refund of just under $400 which does not begin to compensate for a ruined vacation.

In summary this hotel is badly managed with an aging infrastructure that contributes to a terrible vacation.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Ed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnacaonaManager, General Manager at Anacaona Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

The Owners, Management and Staff of Anacaona Boutique Hotel are very sorry that we were unable to meet the expectations of this couple. We understand that our guests come to Anguilla for Peace and relaxation and we try to provide an environment where that is possible. We know that sleep is important. We are trying in every way we can to get rid of the seemingly wild rooster, which does not belong to us. We are talking to the local agricultural ministry to see if they have any ideas. He is not easy to catch that’s for sure.

The Guest’s starts his review with STAY AWAY from Anacaona Hotel. Well here is a reason to come to Anacaona Boutique Hotel. The staff at Anacaona Boutique Hotel is so attentive to the guest’s needs and so caring that the Maintenance person came in at 4:00 a.m. to ensure that a pump was fixed so that the guest’s would be comfortable and have water. As you will read in 95% of the comments on Trip Advisor the staff are always attentive to the guest experience.

The Guest’s allegation that the property is poorly managed is unfounded. Anacaona in the past four years has built a very high number of repeat customers who praise us for what we are doing. Some persons have mentioned that the Rooster makes noise at nighttime and even joke that the Rooster is confused about the time of day, but none of them allow it to ruin their vacation. they know we are doing everything we can to rectify the situation.

Again we do apologize for not meeting the guest’s expectations and trust that they will continue to come to Anguilla.

Delroy Lake
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
10.7 mi away
Arawak Beach Inn
Arawak Beach Inn
#1 of 4 in Island Harbour
122 reviews
8.6 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
230 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,509 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
310 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
500 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacaona Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Address: Meads Bay Rd 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#8 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#8 Family Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: £183 - £206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anacaona Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anacaona Boutique Hotel on the island of Anguilla is a small, intimate, privately-owned and privately-run oasis set in tropical gardens, overlooking (and just a few paces from) one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, the mile-long, white-sand expanse of Meads Bay. It has 27 stylish guest rooms, that include junior suites, 2 & 3 bedroom villa suites and two swimming pools.The goal is affordable chic. The property's amenities also include full beach service, ZaZaa boutique and both on and off beach massage centers. All rooms feature either King, Queen Bed or 2-Double Beds and bathroom with large shower, Balcony/Patio, Frette Linens, Mini Fridge, Air Conditioning,Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, I-Pod Docking Station, Iron & board, Laptop size in Room Safe, Complimentary Wireless Internet,  Melita-Javapod Coffee Maker, Phone, Hairdryer and Locally Crafted Bathroom Amenities.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Anacaona Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel The Valley
Anacaona Boutique Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing