We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immediate Relaxation at Anacaona”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Ranked #8 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Reviewed 26 April 2014

Once upon a time (last week) we arrived at Anacaona for the first time ever from Boston (flew from JFK/ drove to NY) no later than 2:30 p.m. via taxi from ferry (we caught the 1:30 p.m, ferry and happened to encounter a rough sea day – at least 8 foot waves). The public ferry was easy to get on, but if you don’t stomach a rough sea, I would suggest flying. I was just scared, not sick. The way back was much more calming for sure. We had the taxi driver stop at a grocery store to pick up a few things. Upon arrival we were greeted with a nice rum punch and to the room we went. I would love to upload all of my pictures, but my camera broke the second day! Here’s the dish on Anacaona (and yes it took us like 5 tries to even say the name):

Standard queen rooms: Quaint, simple, TV, Refrigerator, coffee maker, ceramic coffee cups, glass drinking cups, silverware, ice bucket (ice available at bar), small deck with table and 2 chairs, safe, walk in shower, toiletries provided, plush towels, beach towels- can be exchanged daily at front desk, extra blanket/bedding, hand written note cards thanking us for our stay/ invitation to the managers reception – Monday nights, closet, alarm clock, IPod docking system, regular keys to the room- no cards, air conditioner, screen on deck door, a couple of paintings, pamphlets/ maps of Anguilla and much more.

Firefly/ D’ Sand Pit/ Folkloric Theatre:
Tweety – is a gem! She will mix you up any drink and greets you with a welcome, an introduction and a smile. The pizza was pretty good. It was actually quite healthy since they don't butter or oil the bottom. It seemed like a big hit on the island for we saw many people ordering it “to go” throughout the week. The menu at Firefly was delightful and the prices were comparable to other restaurants on the island, which I felt were very high. D’ Sand Pit is great- march right up on the beach around 10:30 -11 a.m. (time they open) and they will mix you up a delicious beach cocktail. The folkloric theatre on Thursdays was decent. The vocals of the performers were entertaining- harmonies and all, the band was uplifting and the buffet was filling. The one woman on the right all the way to the end was our favorite with her facial expressions. Would I see it again? Probably not. It was really difficult to understand the main character because of the microphones/ speakers. Don't get me wrong, it was nice, but I wouldn’t pay to see it again. It was however the busiest I saw the restaurant all week.

Location, Pool, Grounds:
Prime Meads Bay! You can't get any better than that. After touring the island via rental car- I prefer Shoal Bay East, but Meads Bay was great! The best thing about the hotel is the location- YES! You can walk to Best Buy Market, which I thought was the best one on the island. You can also walk to a variety of restaurants including the Viceroy, Blanchard’s Shack and Restaurant, Straw Hat, Ocean Echo…etc. (I will add my reviews soon to those establishments as well.) ZazAA boutique is quaint and offers a variety of clothing and trinkets. Pools galore- 2 total. We used them every day when we returned from the beach. I liked the one lower to the beach and I was surprised, but completely content with how deep they go. The grounds were great- hammocks, well marked paths to the beach (the walk isn’t that long at all), gives you a little exercise in the morning and by exercise, I mean a 3 minute walk. Speaking of exercise- no, they don’t have a gym. I was bummed since I hit the gym almost every day back in Boston. The lack of this didn’t bother me, it actually made me find other ways to exercise. Swim laps, jog to Cap Juluca- or the Viceroy (no the cars won’t run you off the road)- all in all, the lack of the gym wasn’t the worst thing ever. Spa- didn't try, but would give it a go next time for sure. The fountain was a nice touch and the cat lounging around was always nice to bump into. Yes there are roosters and yes, they may wake you up. Enjoy it! It’s not the blaring beep- beep- beep sound of your alarm clock; it makes you realize you’re in Anguilla, so I say take it all in and don’t let it ruin your vacation.

Conclusion: Value, Smiles and Simplicity go a long way at Anacaona. I am so glad that I stumbled upon the Blanchard’s book A Trip to the Beach and I am so fortunate to have the opportunity to have stayed at the Anacaona on Anguilla. I hope to be back one day. The End.

Room Tip: Second floor balcony- view of the ocean.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank callieq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (326)
There are newer reviews for Anacaona Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 326 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014

Anguilla is a fabulously beautiful place and is quite expensive, so this boutique hotel is a wonderful value for the location and service. It is a short walk to the beach and after visiting several beaches on the island, we found this one (Meads Bay) to be the best in terms of super soft sand and tranquil water. It also offers spectacular sunsets! The service by the front desk and housekeeping was great, they were very attentive and friendly. Raquel helped out with so many pre-arrival questions and set up a car rental for us as well. Everything was seamless! We were so pleased with our stay that we can't think of staying anywhere else if we decide to return to beautiful Anguilla!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JH3970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The service at the hotel was great, we were met at the walkway as soon as we got out of the taxi. The front desk arranged for our rental car half way through our week, assisted with choices for restaurants for dinner and even let us use their computer to do our flight check in at the end of our stay. You will need a rental car (they drive on the left side) since there are only a few places to eat near the hotel. There is not much shopping to bring souvenirs home to love ones...more of a sit back and relax island. The island is some what pricey..$8.00 for a gallon of gas, about $10.00 for a gallon of milk. At the restaurants you will see a service charge added to your bill, this is NOT a tax but 15% gratuity and when you ask what it is they do not tell you it is a tip so some places made out and got a 33% tip. One of our favorite restaurants on the island was Mango's, great beach, great service....the place we got engaged!! The Firefly was also nice but didn't have all the items listed on the menu, their chicken francaise was to die for, we ordered that a couple of times for dinner. On Thursday nights the Firefly has a buffet serving local cuisine, fish, ribs, ox tail as well as entertainment song and dance, watch out for the lady selling the coconuts.. ha ha. We stayed in a JR Suite above the check in (room 501), to get to the room you have to go up a spiral staircase, the suite was really nice (much better then the simple room which we had to stay in our first night because the travel agent over booked the suite and it wasn't available at the beginning of our stay). I do not know that room 501 would be so great during peak season since it is over the reception and bar area and the noise/sound traveled. Over all as the first day or so passed we fell into vacation mode and hated leaving by the end of the week, this is an island where 2 weeks would be great to explore and eat at all the great restaurants...the wallet and credit card bills after not so great!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lholber21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My husband and I spent 4 nights in April 2014 at Anacaona. The price of staying here is a huge bargain considering that it is a 5 minute walk to Meads Beach. We used to think that Shoal Bay was our favourite on Anguilla but we since changed our mind. Meads Beach is amazing! The service at this hotel is truly 5 star. The staff is warm and friendly - always genuinely smiling. The room is a little outdated and it is true that there are not enough flat surfaces to place things on. There are so many restaurants within walking distance and grocery store near by as well. We visited the Viceroy Spa and although the spa was awesome, we would never stay there since it has a cold atmosphere. We would stay here again for sure.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seaskybro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

The service at the front desk was terrific from check in by Kenisha to throughout the stay when asking for a torch for nighttime walks to band aids. Firefly restaurant for breakfast is not recommended. They were out of bacon. The view is of a pool, nothing to see. The grounds are poorly maintained, with yellowing and browning vegetation, broken path lighting, and weeds. The pools are sad. Best is to go to the beach and enjoy Meads Bay. Even though there wasn't sorbet afternoon service as promised, the beach is stunning. Go walk to the Viceroy to their Sunset Lounge for spectacular views, good drinks, nice service. Overall, a good value (we did a garden view ground floor standard room) but the grounds need care. If the grounds were well maintained, this would be a Highly Recommended property. Serious plus marks for front desk staff. Less so for restaurant staff but this was not atypical of many restaurants on the island.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank BoobsAndLoubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Everything on the island is super expensive, so this hotel is a great bargain to offset your other costs.

Pros
Very nice staff
Price
Reasonably priced restaurant and drinks in hotel
Next to viceroy
On meads bay

Cons
SO quiet- everywhere in anguilla is but this place borders on deserted
Could use an update
Staff is money concious, so they give suggestions to suit that-- they often suggest walking to dinner which was very scary and dark and not for people who enjoy a least a little bit of comfort and luxary

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jsg373
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

My wife and I spent April 10-14, 2014 @ Anacaona. The people were so friendly. Kenisha greeted us before we even got to the steps up to the open-air lobby. All the staff was very attentive. 75 yards to the beach was no big deal. Nice walking trail. My wife loved the fragrant frangipani trees all over the grounds. Our room was small, but nice and clean. The lanai was used regularly to chill after a few hours on the beach and to enjoy a glass of wine in the evening. Food at the Firefly restaurant was very good and less expensive than many area restaurants. The lack of a fitness center meant nothing to us....who works out on vacation, really. We will be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#3 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
8.6 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
228 reviews
0.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#2 of 13 in West End Village
309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
500 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Anguilla Great House Beach Resor...
#10 of 13 in West End Village
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anacaona Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anacaona Boutique Hotel

Address: Meads Bay Rd 200, West End Village AI 2640, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#8 Family Hotel in West End Village
#8 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#8 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: £176 - £345 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anacaona Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Anacaona Boutique Hotel on the island of Anguilla is a small, intimate, privately-owned and privately-run oasis set in tropical gardens, overlooking (and just a few paces from) one of the island’s most beautiful beaches, the mile-long, white-sand expanse of Meads Bay. It has 27 stylish guest rooms, that include junior suites, 2 & 3 bedroom villa suites and two swimming pools.The goal is affordable chic. The property's amenities also include full beach service, ZaZaa boutique and both on and off beach massage centers. All rooms feature either King, Queen Bed or 2-Double Beds and bathroom with large shower, Balcony/Patio, Frette Linens, Mini Fridge, Air Conditioning,Ceiling Fan, Cable TV, I-Pod Docking Station, Iron & board, Laptop size in Room Safe, Complimentary Wireless Internet,  Melita-Javapod Coffee Maker, Phone, Hairdryer and Locally Crafted Bathroom Amenities.  ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Anacaona Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sirena Hotel The Valley
Anacaona Boutique Hotel Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing