We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Carimar Beach Club

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Carimar Beach Club
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Midlothian, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

We just spent a week at the Carimar with our daughter and her boyfriend, and had a delightful time. We were just a few steps away from Mead's Bay, and took full advantage of our proximity to this beautiful beach. As other reviewers have noted, the Carimar villas are spacious, clean, and nicely decorated. I cannot say enough about the outstanding staff. We were greeted with a warm welcome as we arrived, and throughout our stay, the Carimar staff was friendly and helpful, making restaurant reservations for us, and answering any questions we had about Anguilla. Between the outstanding location, comfortable accommodations, and staff willing to "go the extra mile," the Carimar is one of the top places to stay in Anguilla.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PMC813
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear PMC813,

Our TEAM is thankful for your positive feedback of your recent stay with us. We hope you and your family will continue to be our guest and like so many others, achieve the "Honoured Guest Award," given on achieving ten stays. The award includes a complementary dinner and five free nights stay between May and November.
Please continue to share your comments with us in areas where you feel we may improve our service and enhance our product.

Regards,

G. M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

496 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    394
    92
    8
    0
    2
See reviews for
146
261
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hatboro, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2014

stayed at carimar april 12th-19th. for my wife and I, it was our third trip to axa but our first in 10 years. this trip we brought mom and our two young children along. while there are quite a few island changes since the last time we visited, the things which drew us there in the first place (the people, the beaches and the food) are still top notch. carimar was the perfect home base for us. we stayed in one of the ground floor units to the rear of the courtyard - spent mornings on meads bay, afternoons exploring other parts of the island, then back to meads bay late afternoon and off to dinner in the evening. the staff at carimar was professional and friendly, better than anywhere else we've ever stayed. carimar's (relatively) central island location makes it easy to get to everything. it is located right on meads bay which may be the best beach on the island. blanchards beach shack is right next door for quick eats/snacks and there are also a handful of nice restaurants on meads as well. decent snorkeling around the rock point - my 10 year old son did his first snorkeling here and loved it. mom, who doesn't travel much, didn't want to leave - her typically high blood pressure hadn't been so low and stable for years! the kids had a blast too - I think they spent as much time in the water as they did on land! for my wife and I, it was an even better trip than the first two - seeing our family experience and fall in love w/ the island the same way we did. hope to be back very soon! some random highlights of our trip included: chillin sunday at scilly cay w/ my pal eudoxie, snorkelling and cliff diving at little bay, lunch at palm grove, wed night at the dune preserve w/ bankie - moon was glowing as usual, goat stew and oxtail at tastys, hanging at the sunshine shack, lionfish dinner at mangoes, drinking w/ elvis, dinner at veya - my wife called it a flavour explosion!, and of course relaxing on meads bay!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank K3909ULmichaelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Poloma 47,

I am pleased that your Carimar Beach Club vacations continue to be good experiences. I appreciate hearing from our guests on areas where they feel that improvements can be made to enhance our offerings and service.
I totally agree that our location and closeness to some of the island's best restaurants on the island has added value to the Carimar experience.

Best,

G. M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

April was our second trip to Anguilla. The first time was 10 years ago and we stayed Malliouhana. At the time, we loved Meads Bay and said if we ever went back we would stay at Carimar, as it is a great value and has received consistently wonderful reviews. We were not disappointed. We had a 2 bedroom beachfront room on the second floor which had a tremendous view! The room was very clean and well maintained. The staff was very helpful and pre stocked our unit, which had a full kitchen, based on the grocery list we sent in advance. We loved the location. It is quiet and the beach is pristine. There are some great restaurants (Blanchard's, Straw Hat) an easy walk from the hotel. We would definitely return to Carimar!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TWKS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear TWKS,

Your review was a very pleasing read, thanks very much. It is truly amazing that ten years after your first stay on Anguilla, you returned to the same location and still found it to be your "place to be".
Meads Bay is truly a special place and our Team will try to keep it that way.

Please feel free to contact us prior to your next visit with any special requests you may have.

Sincerely,

G. M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014

It was the second time in Carimar and we have already booked our next stay.. The rooms are big, nicely decorated, fully equipped, 5 steps from a wonderful beach. Closed to many good restaurants (walking distance), the perfect place if you need relax and spend your time on the best beaches in all carribean islands. Some little renovation could help to even enhance the value of Carimar.. Price during Easter time (April) are higher, we came the first time in July and it was much cheaper. So, great value for money during the medium/low season (the weather in Anguilla is always fabulous), too much difference with the high season. Anyway: Carimar is a MUST!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paloma47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Paloma47,

I am pleased that your Carimar Beach Club vacations continue to be good experiences. I appreciate hearing from our guests on areas where they feel that improvements can be made to enhance our offerings and service. Our room rates cover "High Season", December 19th to March 31st. "Shoulder Season", April 1st to 30th and November 16th to December 18th and our "Low/Summer Season from May 1st to November 15th. We always have our Honeymoon and Summer Specials that run for the same period each year. Our property is closed for maintenance and renovations each year from September 1st to October 31st.

Looking forward to your next stay and keep your positive suggestions coming.

Regards,

G.M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

We just got back from a week away at this simple paradise. We highly recommend it!

This was our 2nd time to Meads Bay - the first was 10 years ago when we stayed at the now-shuttered (and currently under renovation) Malliouhana, which is right next door. Carimar is an excellent value for the same beach that Malliouhana guests will soon be paying 3 times more to enjoy. The beach has seen a significant amount of erosion in 10 years - there is a rather steep incline to the water, and there is a step (some on this site described it as a "cliff" which is a bit extreme) once you are in the ocean. Because of these features, this is probably not the best beach for little kids. But the water is clear as a swimming pool and the views are endless. And no crowds!

The Carimar is small (20 or so rooms) - and each unit is individually owned (so the decorations are different, but I think the furniture is the same). We had a beachfront unit (there are only 8 of these) on the lower level. I did think that the unit was worth the slightly higher costs, but there are no bad rooms at the Carimar. So if you are agonizing over the decision, you can stop. The place is amazing. I will say that I think the 2nd floor units probably provide a bit more privacy, but it's quiet here so there just aren't a lot of people around to worry about anyone peaking into your space.

The bed in our room was super comfortable, the AC worked very well in the BR (no AC in the main spaces but there are fans and those were fine to keep cool), and the place was spotless. Our kitchen had everything we needed (including a colander!) We also took advantage of the Carimar's offer to go to the grocery store for us. This was a big time saver and meant that the second we got to the hotel we could get on the beach!

We rented a car from the Carimar for 2 days during our week stay. Could not have been easier. They have them right on property. As others have noted, there is no restaurant on property, but the Blanchards Beach Shack is literally right next door and the food is great and relatively (for Anguilla) inexpensive. There is also no pool but who cares when Meads Bay is right there?!

If you want a nightlife, or lots of socializing, Carimar is not for you (and Anguilla probably isn't either). But if you want an affordable, very clean, modern room steps from the beauty of Meads Bay, Carimar is the place.

Also - The staff here is FANTASTIC. Everyone at the reception desk was super helpful and very friendly.

And there you have it. This place is a gem. We will be back!

Room Tip: Doesnt matter what room you pick - you will be just steps from Meads Bay! Oceanfront a little close...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCDoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carimar123, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear DCDol,

Thanks for your very positive post.

Mother Nature does not work with us 100% of the time. Sometimes she has her own way with our beach and changes things as she sees fit. She however returns things to her own perfection in time.
We have been through two similar steep step downs so far this year and each time the sand has returned.

I look forward to your next stay with us and hopefully the Meads Bay Magic will be in place for all of us.

Regards,

G. M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Just returned home to California from the Carimar last night, loved it. Reading some recent reviews, I feel like reviewer Cobi00 (March 16th) described it perfectly so will just add a few comments. We stayed in Villa 3, room 304, 2nd floor and loved it. The back of the unit faced the road, but it never bothered us a bit, you could occasionally hear a car/truck go by, but that was so far and few between (not much traffic in Anguilla). We liked it because although it wasn't beach front, it faced directly towards the beach rather than a side view, although really you can't go wrong with any unit on the property in my opinion. Hubby and I agreed it was the best beach we've been to from the many beaches we've been to (Caribbean, Hawaii, Mexico, Philippines, Vietnam, Bermuda! Aruba), the water is amazing. It really had all the amenities of home and then some. It's rare to find a resort that provides free coffee packets for the duration of the stay, and I thought that was great. The other thing I really appreciated was the large patio with a table and chairs for outside eating and also two very nice and comfy chaise loungers on the patio for just relaxing or reading, being in such beautiful surroundings, it's nice to have furnishings that are both functional and comfortable, which isn't always the case in beach resorts. The only two cons I can think of are (1) the tiny bugs in the kitchen (I think flour mites), we went grocery shopping and the next day woke to find them in our open box of box of cereal, crackers, etc. and had to toss - I did report them and they sprayed with Raid, but if you're familiar with them you know that won't do the trick, they remained the entire time - we started keeping everything we could in the refrigerator and someone I met while at the beach said they keep their food in the microwave, wish we had thought of it sooner as that worked perfectly (2) the other con was that after cleaning our room, housekeeping staff didn't lock it, we returned to an unlocked room at least 5 of the 10 days we were there, there is a safe in the room and we always kept our valuables locked, never bring many anyway. We felt quite safe and rarely ventured out much besides the beach right in front. Truthfully we should have reported it, as had something happened we would have been very upset. Aside for those two cons, it would not keep us from returning, we loved our stay, the resort and best of all the beach and the wonderful memories we made on the island of Anguilla!

Room Tip: I think 99%of people will be happy with any room at Carimar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SusieG1391
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We have been coming to Carimar since the 90's and feel this is the best place on the island. The beach is the prettiest for sunset and is not crowded. There are many great restaurants on Meads Bay that you can walk to. The staff at Carimar is the best !! And has been there a long time. They treat you like family. Hermia, Heather, LaVerne, Cindy were great !
The condo's are well appointed and all have balconies. We like having a kitchen so we don't have to eat out every night. We have stayed at a few other places on the island and feel Carimar is the best spot and also the best value !!
Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank 448peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.7 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
7.9 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
202 reviews
0.2 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,461 reviews
0.4 mi away
Frangipani Beach Resort
Frangipani Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in West End Village
492 reviews
1.5 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carimar Beach Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carimar Beach Club

Property: Carimar Beach Club
Address: Meads Bay, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
#2 Family Hotel in West End Village
#3 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Carimar Beach Club 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carimar Beach Club, located on the pristine white sands and turquoise waters of Meads Bay, is an exceptional beachfront resort. Each of our 24 suites offers unique, exquisitely appointed interiors featuring colorful, tropical motifs and exotic rattan furnishings. The spacious 1100 square foot beach front and beach view suites feature all the comforts of home including: full, modern kitchens with granite counters; a living room with flat screen cable Tv and WiFi; a dining area accomodating six people; and a balcony or patio with stunning ocean views and spectacular sunsets. Enjoy plush bedding with luxurious linens in our Caribbean style air-conditioned bedrooms. All suites offer one or two bedrooms and one or two bathrooms. En-Suite King Bedroom. Twin Bedroom with two beds ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, West Indies, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Carimar Beach Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carimar Beach Club Hotel Anguilla
Carimar Beach Hotel
Carimar Beach The Valley
Carimar Beach Club Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing