We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (589)
Filter reviews
589 results
Traveller rating
483
94
8
1
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
483
94
8
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews full kitchen meads bay living room air conditioning straw hat grocery store within walking distance tennis courts laundry facilities front office snorkel gear best kept secret love anguilla home away from home ocean front car rental wonderful stay
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 589 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2018 via mobile

So here is the deal... this place is old. No swimming pool and the units are deathly hot with fans only. In the rooms are AC but the reason to have a big unit is to be comfortable so forget being able to relax in the living room as you will be in a full sweat day or night. Staff at front desk very off put to help and not welcoming. Just a bitter attitude. The other horrible aspect is there is an empty lot right next to the hotel and locals use it on the weekend to throw huge parties, so if you want to relax in peace and quiet....not happening....you’ll get super loud music all day until dark. Even in the units the music is loud so no refuge. The price is beyond laughable. Go to st Barth’s much better for everything. The only positive is that the beach is nice, but the rest of it is bad.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
2  Thank skinnyfats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarimarMgtStaff, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear skinnyfats,

Usually we like to thank our guests for staying with us and welcome their feedback, including suggestions for improvement. Sadly, not in your case. It seems that when you made your reservation 2 days before your arrival, you were not researching anything about the place you were going to stay at. Otherwise you would have not booked Carimar, as we clearly indicate on our website that we do NOT have a pool, that we do NOT have a restaurant on site (another complaint you made during your stay) and that our large living room area is NOT air-conditioned (bedrooms a/c only, although we are in the process to put a/c in living rooms too, starting this year with the beach front units).
Yes, Carimar was built over 35 years ago. However, we are constantly investing in upgrades of the property and make sure, we surprise our repeat guests with additional value every year. For example, the bathroom of the unit you stayed in was just completely renovated less than 10 months ago. We might not be a hipster place (which you might find in St. Barth’s) and we don’t want to be one. We want to be a laid-back beachfront property which offers the guests what they are looking for: A great service and accommodation in the perfect location for a reasonable rate.
Yes, once in a blue moon there are events on the beach (which is public and can be used by locals too). And it’s unfortunate that you felt so disturbed by the children’s birthday party next door on Sunday afternoon. Yes, there was Caribbean music played, but that’s part of our culture and lifestyle. Most guests either join in and enjoy it or move a little bit away on the 1 ½ miles of beach. Or why not discover any of the 33 other lovely beaches which Anguilla has to offer that one afternoon?
Since the passage of hurricane Irma 12 months ago, we had over 5,700 guests staying with us, most of them long time guests, and we received more than 70 five-star reviews on TripAdvisor (out of 73). We are very grateful for all their support and loyalty and we trust that they will be our ambassadors to keep Carimar what it is today: A lovely beach front property with excellent service and great accommodations, warm and professional staff, a great value for money and located on the best beach in the world!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018

My family recently stayed at Carimar and it is without a doubt the best value on the best beach on Anguilla. The Carimar Staff could not be more wonderful and welcoming. However, our only complaint is that while smoking is prohibited inside the units, they allow you to smoke on the patio. Everyday we would wake up to our bedroom being filled with cigarette smoke from the person smoking on the porch next door. The 4 units per each building are way to close to allow smoking on the porch. A smoker has the entire beach to light up so why allow it on the porch? Unfortunately until this policy is changed we will not be returning to Carimar.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
9  Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarimarMgtStaff, General Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear Susan,

Thank you for taking time to write about your recent stay at Carimar. Great to hear that you feel that Carimar is the best value on the best beach in Anguilla and that our staff took good care of you and your family.

Naturally, we feel deeply sorry to hear about the problem your family encountered with the smoking neighbors staying in the unit next to yours. Thankfully, we at Carimar have only very few guests who smoke, but if one of them happens to be your neighbor and you yourself are a non-smoker, we understand that this experience can ruin your vacation. We would have loved to address this problem during your stay to ensure that you could fully enjoy your vacation. We could have offered you another unit away from those guests to solve the problem.

Anyway, again we are very sorry for your experience. As we think you might not be the only guest having experienced a similar problem, I addressed the issue to the board (of owners) and we will work on a policy which will prevent such experiences in the future. We at Carimar want to make sure that our loyal guests can enjoy the beauty (and clean air) of Anguilla to the fullest. We would love to keep you updated and inform you when a decision is made. If you don't mind, please send me a short email to my personal email roma@carimar.com so we can stay in contact. Best regards Rolf Masshardt, GM Carimar Beach Club

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2018

The staff at Carimar Beach Club was very helpful, and welcoming in every way possible. They helped us with everything we needed, from restaurant reservations to calling us a cab to explore the island. We were in Anguilla during the off season (end of July) and the beach stretch in front of Carimar is by far the most beautiful beach we saw on our time on the island. Rooms are simple, but they're not meant to spend lots of time in, other then sleep.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank mattlower25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarimarMgtStaff, Guest Relations Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you for your kind review. Great to hear that you had a very positive experience with us and of course we do agree that the stretch of beach in front of Carimar is simply the best :).
Hoping to welcome you back with us soon.

Sunny regards
Your Carimar Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018

My daughter and I stayed at the resort while we went to Belmond Resort to discuss her destination wedding for April 2019. We enjoyed every aspect from location to hospitality and the beach. They all were very good. The only issue we had was the air conditioning. It only worked in the bedrooms which the rest of the area was very warm.

Room Tip: Keep the air on or it will get to warm...
Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bobragonese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarimarMgtStaff, Guest Relations Manager at Carimar Beach Club, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi there, thank you very much for staying with us at Carimar while planning your daughter's weeding (how exciting!).
The temperature in the summer months are usually in the high eighties here in Anguilla. We normally get very nice trade winds which create a wonderful cross ventilation in the living rooms. The units further back on our property do get a better breeze than the Ocean Front Units which gather the heat more because of facing towards the west. There might be days without the cooling breeze and for these days and for guests who are more sensitive to hot weather we offer additional standing fans which can be used in the living room area to help cool it. Up to now there is only A/C in the bedrooms, but we start to install A/Cs in the beachfront buildings now and will in time ad them also in the other units. Thank you again and we wish you a wonderful wedding next spring.

Sunny Regards
Your Carimar Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We stayed there 2 nights, and we booked a room with ocean view. The room was extremely big, and an amazing view! The room is really next to the beach! The hotel is quiet and nice! The team is amazing... The only downside is that there is no way to get a breakfast at the hotel (but you can order some pastries), so it's not an issue if you are there for a week (because you have a kitchen, and do some shopping to cook your own breakfast) but when you are there only for 2 days, you don't want to do any cooking :) But you can walk to a restaurant where they serve breakfast if you are lazy :) Anyway, this place is very very relaxing located on a real dreamy beach!

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews