We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome! Best value on the island and on a beautiful beach!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
Ranked #10 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Reviewed 22 March 2012

The Great House is a single story, bunglalow style motel that is directly on the beach; you leave your room and walk straight to the sand and the gorgeous water of Rendezvous Beach, which in my opinion is the best beach on the island (of many beautiful beaches). You don't have to get in an elevator or walk down several flights of stairs or go through the lobby. If you forget something, you just walk the 50 or so steps back to your room. Easy and casual. The Great House rooms are fine; not the Ritz, but absolutely fine. Room 124 is the second closest room to the water and it has a king bed and a kitchenette (which we didn't use). It is large with an extra single bed in it which we didn't use either. The TV is small but the cable channels are numerous but are you really in the Caribbean to watch TV anyway? Our shower was the biggest shower I have ever been in and the water pressure and temperature were both fine. Occasionally there was an ant or two on the bathroom counter, but so what? The AC worked great, as did everything else in our room. The Great House restaurant is terrific. We ate out a lot during our vacation because we wanted to sample the different menus, but we also ate a lot at the Old Caribe restaurant at Great House and we really could of just eaten there the entire time. The pool is fine too, but I don't think I saw anyone in it as it is just steps from the most fantastic beach ever!

The staff at Great House is incredible. All our requests for extra towels or help getting a taxi or information were answered with smiles and real service.

What the Great House does not have is a fitness facility, a gift shop, a spa or round the clock front desk help. Who cares? If you want a massage, they can get an in-room one arranged for you or you can walk up the beach to the nearby resort. If you want exercise, walk or run the beach. It is gorgeous. There are 24-hour phone numbers to call in case you need something clearly posted in the rooms and frankly I would feel completely comfortable going to the next door room and asking for help.

The Great House is full of people who have been coming here for 10 or 20 years and who wouldn't stay anywhere else. That is it's best recommendation. People come back year after year. They are a large family and you will instantly feel a part of that. The owner, Will, is on-site and available daily. His Dad started the property and they take pride in their accomplishment.

Rendezvous Bay is the best beach on the island, bar none. It is 2 miles of wide soft sand on a bay looking south toward St. Maarten. There are hardly any waves and no seaweed and no rocks, and very few people during the week. So it is quiet and restful and splendid. On weekends, the number of people increase but it is still not crowded. It is the travel poster of Caribbean beaches!! Trust me.

We flew into St. Maarten and took the GB Express shuttle over to Anguilla. It went off without a hitch and I would recommend them. They take care of your luggage and immigration.

We also used Glennis Connor as our driver for the week. He is on-time, helpful, and professional and he will run you a tab for your trip and make you a good deal. I would highly recommend him to get you around the island if you aren't renting a car.

The Great House is the best value on an expensive island.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
14  Thank Christmas2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
There are newer reviews for Anguilla Great House Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 161 reviews

Reviewed 12 March 2012

We recently returned from our fourth week-long stay at Anguilla Great House over the past 10 years. Few places in the world are more relaxing. Cottage-style bungalows (with five units in each single-story building) are spread in a semi-circle around an expanse of grass opening on to a spectacular 1.5 mile crescent of sand and water (Rendezvous Bay). Saint Martin defines the horizon in the background. The rooms are simple but elegant, and guests of each villa share a covered veranda with comfortable lounge chairs. It's a great value on the best beach of the best island in the leeward Caribbean.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I could find a few things to complain about, but if travel frequently to the Caribbean you come expect certain small issues. With that said, the location is awesome. This is a no-frills option, on a high-end island.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Stef&Britt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

Imagine going back in time to the '50s (oh, maybe you're too young to recall that era!) to a simple beachfront cottage just steps from the prettiest walking beach in the Caribbean. Add in friendly folks eager to make your stay enjoyable (think clean rooms, decent food, simple check-in). Then, decide if you really come to Anguilla for the beach, warm water and breezes, relaxation and excellent island food within a short drive. If so (and you're ready to give up the classy resort acoutrements like designer soaps and jacuzzis which you may not need) in trade for a price you can really afford, Great House is for you. We've stayed at Great House many times and love the simplicity and being on the beach in seconds.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank JohnandLinda614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I have been staying at the Anguilla Great House for over 20 years. Casual and friendly are the merits of the property itself. The beach is the best on Anguilla, bar none. 2 miles of flat calm warm water, it is the only place I feel comfortable swimming at night.

As far as some of the other reviews, it is not The Ritz...it is a BEACH HOTEL. Sand does get in your bed (because you are right on the beach) and yes, if you leave your sugar, toothpaste or food out, ants find them. I have stayed at some of what are considered the most luxurious hotels on the island and if you leave food out...it will happen there too! These are the tropics...but in all my years I have NEVER experienced a "bug" problem.

The best part of the property is that it feels like your home, jump in the sea, jump in the pool, stroll up to the easily accessible bar for a top shelf cocktail, dine poolside, on the beach, on your porch -- easy, laid back. The staff is extremely helpful in a genuine way. Over the years we have grown to know them as friends, toured the island with some of them....it has become a true place of comfort...a beach lover's paradise and one of the best values on the island.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank InTheBucket
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

I was flying from Antigua to St Thomas on CAribbean regional airline LIAT and as we landed in Anguilla en route to our final destination, a technical faulty meant we were standed over night. The airline worked fast and hard and put each passenger up about 4 miles away from teh airport at the 27 bedroom Great House, right on the beach.

It is dated - it was built in the 80s I think, but its loved. Once upon a time it was part of the Pineapple Beach Club set up but today is independent.

The staff couldnt have been friendlier - or more helpful and I was shown to my room less then 10 minutes after de-coaching from the airport. The rooms wer tile floored with bright curtains and loads of white wash. The bed was firm and the bedroom itself attractive. Outside was a colonial style vernadah and a couple of sun chairs.

The bathroom had a massage shower and perfectly clean and servicable loo and basin - and though the valinty unit was old, it was in good condition, enhanced by great complimentary products and good quality towels.

As we arrived en masse and unexpectedly, the supper menu was limited - but the qulaity offered was very good and so to the service. Brealfast the next morning was equally good, and the service equally welcoming.

This is NOT a 5 star or a 4 star hotel - its in a fabulous location, is great value for money, delivers high end 3 star plus into 4 star in all areas and was spotlessly clean.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank IanBuckeridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2011

My wife and I have stayed at a couple different places in Anguilla, and this spot is our favorite!!! Will, the owner, and the staff are the friendliest I've ever met. The whole island is par to none. The cuisine and overall experience of The Great House is, well GREAT! We were actually married on the island at a different location, $$$, but enjoyed the comforting quaintness of this place. For our anniversary will be joining the hospitality of the GREAT HOUSE!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nate A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
1.6 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#3 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
2.0 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
9.0 mi away
Arawak Beach Inn
Arawak Beach Inn
#1 of 4 in Island Harbour
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
228 reviews
2.3 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Paradise Cove Resort
Paradise Cove Resort
#11 of 13 in West End Village
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anguilla Great House Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anguilla Great House Beach Resort

Address: Rendezvous Bay | PO box 157, West End Village, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#7 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#10 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: £144 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Anguilla Great House Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Anguilla Great House on Rendezvous Bay!The perfect beach...a soft brush of sunrise across white powder sands, turquoise water with a calm surf that sways in and out with the tides. A few palm trees mark the green edge of where the island’s interior meets the long, open and peaceful cove.The Anguilla Great House, with its easy atmosphere and gingerbread-laced cottages, is centered right in the middle of this perfect beach. Wake up.Roll out of bed and into the sea. Laze the afternoon away on the porch,move slow, stretch out the day.At sundown, stars pierce the black sky and from the beautiful shore ofAnguilla, the lights on the mountains of nearby St.Martin sparkle like a galaxy of stars and the moon shines bright on the white sands and sea foam…This is our home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Anguilla Great House Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anguilla Great House Beach Hotel West End
Anguilla Great Hotel Beach
Anguilla Great Resort Beach
Anguilla Great House Beach Resort West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing