We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“the most relaxing and stress free place we have ever stayed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Frangipani Beach Resort
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
New york, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“the most relaxing and stress free place we have ever stayed”
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We went to the Frangipani for the first time over the christmas holidat on our 4th visit to Anguilla. Before we had stayed at Cap Juluca and Malliouhana. Even though the other resorts were great--we loved the Frangipani even more. First of all it is a boutique hotel with only 18 rooms/villas. It is beautiful and the setting on Meads Bay is perfect. Most rooms are ocean front, including ours, and as you look from your deck over the infinity pool and out to the beach and sea you experience a sense of privacy and peace. The hotel is situated so that you can see no other property nor do you hear any noise other than the lapping of the waves. The white sand beach has grass tiki type umbrellas which are positioned about 30 feet from each other so again you have a sense of privacy and space even at a busy season of the year. We also liked the other people that were there-. It did not cater to families with young children (even tho there were a few) but to couples and families with older kids or young adults. We found that our beach neighbors were people like us who like to quietly read and enjoy the peace.

The staff could not be friendlier--and the place is very well run. The managers, Jan and Alex went out of their way to be accomodating and they were also fun to talk to. Alex even let my fiance talk him into a game of tennis when he could not find anybody else to play with. They had a couple parties during our stay which enabled us to get to know some of the other nice guests.

The Straw Hat restuarant is there and that is a great plus. The food was delicious and the atmosphere lovely right on the beach. I do think the service at breakfast could be a little quicker. We will be back and back and recommend this lovely spot to anybody who wants to just chill out in beauty.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sharie_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    57
    12
    8
    7
See reviews for
88
314
9
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
1 review
Reviewed 7 January 2010

We found not only the location of the resort on beautiful Mead's Bay to be spectacular, but the staff made our vacation even better. We have travelled to many of the islands in the Caribean, but found the people of Anguilla to be some of the nicest people that we have ever met. Not only did Evette, our housekeeper, help out during a rain storm but a woman on her way to work, at the front desk, stoped and offered us a ride in her car as we were walking back to the hotel from the local grocery store. The resort is very low key but every request is attended to.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank islanders2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2010

This was my second trip to Anguilla but first time at Frangipani. The hotel was terrific and the beach was absolutely beautiful. We had a great time, and the staff went out of their way to make sure our trip was memorable. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank braskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lanark, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2009

This was our first visit to Anguilla and we chose Frangipani Resort for its location, its laid back attitude and the quality of its facilities. We were not disappointed. The hotel is located in the middle of Meads Bay Beach which is a beautiful beach with a light surf when we were there but very swimmable. We camped out under the hotel’s palapas on the beach most days but also used the stunning infinity pool just up from the beach. There is also a larger pool away from the beach which we didn’t use. Staff were always very friendly and helpful and not on top of you all the time as in some hotels. Nevertheless they were usually readily available with beach towels and water or drinks from the bar whenever you needed them. The only exception was Saturday when the regular beach staff was off and service was spotty.

We stayed in the Penthouse Room on the third floor with a beautiful view (only slightly marred by the new Viceroy resort at the far end of the beach), a good sized balcony and large room and bathroom and with a very comfy bed. Our only complaint was the lack of information provided in the room on the hotel’s services and facilities.

We ate all our breakfasts, some lunches and one dinner in the Straw Hat restaurant attached to the hotel. Dinner was very good although we found the portion sizes too big for us. Lunch portions were better sized and equally as good – try the fish sandwich. Continental breakfast is included but is not very exciting consisting of coffee, juice and three small pastries that didn’t change the four days we were there. More selection would definitely improve things.

We also ate dinners at DaVida’s, Oliver’s and Luna Rosa. All were very good but Oliver’s was tops – wonderful seafood and terrific service.

We have visited many Caribbean islands and we can truly say that we have never found the people as genuinely friendly and helpful as on Anguilla. All the beaches are wonderful and Meads is one of the best. You need a car or taxi to get to other restaurants as none are within walking distance of the hotel.

We will definitely return to Anguilla and Frangipani next year.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank estevan111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NYC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2009

My husband and I were in Anguilla this month for the third time. It was our first stay at the Frangipani, which we had scoped out on an earlier visit, but it definitely won't be our last unless we can find something less expensive (details below).

The Frangipani encompasses everything we love about Anguilla. While a few resorts there are coldly opulent, sprawling, and impersonal, the Frangipani is small and friendly, like the island itself. The staff -- like most of the people you meet in Anguilla -- are kind and friendly and seem genuinely glad to share their island with visitors (Anguilla developed its tourist industry pretty recently and gets a lot of its revenues from it). The beach is one of the best on an island full of gorgeous beaches -- it's as beautiful as any I've ever seen, and so uncrowded we were often the only people taking a walk or a swim. And the Straw Hat, the restaurant in the Frangipani, is one of the best restaurants on an island full of those too. the restaurant and bar are right on the beach, which goes along with the overall vibe -- luxurious yet laidback.

The Frangipani also exemplifies the one thing we DON'T love about Anguilla -- only here would paying more than $400 a night be considered "reasonable." We got a LOT for the money -- more than we needed, Our suite had not only a big living room but two full baths and a fully equipped kitchen. The housekeepers came by twice a day. And they offered free water sports (kayaking, tubing, water skiing and more) that looked like a lot of fun, but we didn't try any since my husband doesn't swim.

For us, I suspect a less expensive beach apartment with no maid service etc. would be a better value. But we loved our stay at the Frangipani, and if we go for a full-service hotel next time we're in Anguilla, it will definitely be there.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CityRat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphis, PA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 December 2009

We had never heard of Anguilla or the Frangipani but are so glad we stumbled across both. This vacation was the best one we have ever taken by far and much of that is due to the fact that we stayed here. The Frangipani Beach Resort is a small hotel with a staff that offers unparalleled customer service. Everyone is friendly and helpful and the managers (Jan and Alex) along with the rest of the staff make you feel like you're part of a new family. I literally shed a tear when we had to say goodbye.

On top of that, the beach, which is about 10 feet away from your room, is stunning and not crowded at all. Tubing, snorkeling, sailing and other water activities are included in your room rate. The breakfast at Straw Hat on site (again, about 10 feet from your room and the beach) is so great (I highly recommend the oatmeal - it's amazing!) as are the drinks at the bar. The room we had was beautiful, clean, large with two balconies that looked right over the pool and beach. The other people we met at the hotel were lovely and I'm sure we will stay in touch with them.

I would recommend having a car - although there are other restaurants nearby, it's hard to get to a greater variety of restaurants and other parts of the island without one and the taxi fares are almost as much as a daily car rental. This is a very quiet hotel and area - if you're looking for nightlife you will have to travel by car.

We traveled during the low season although the weather was perfect. Prices were a little less than during high season. I think the prices at high season are high but you certainly would get your money's worth. We did a "package" which worked out great.

Thank you to everyone who made our trip the memory of a lifetime. Very much looking forward to returning. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RandiSoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 15 December 2009

From the moment we arrived we knew we had made the right choice on where to stay in Anguilla. The resort is small and beautiful. The rooms were very nice. The beach was beatiful. The staff were very accomodating. The watersports provided with your room rate were a lot of fun. We went tubing and sailing and the staff there were very helpful. What a wonderful relaxing place. We had planned to tour the island and do other things in our 2 days there but felt we could not leave the resort it was so nice and had a wonderful relaxing time. Will definitely be back to Frangipani.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeQVirginia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.4 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
495 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
325 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
202 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#4 of 13 in West End Village
1,461 reviews
1.1 mi away
Belmond Cap Juluca
Belmond Cap Juluca
#5 of 13 in West End Village
798 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Frangipani Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Frangipani Beach Resort

Property: Frangipani Beach Resort
Address: Meads Bay | West End, West End Village, Anguilla
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in West End Village
#2 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#2 Spa Hotel in West End Village
#2 Luxury Hotel in West End Village
#2 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#3 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Frangipani Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the white sands of Meads Bay, the Frangipani Beach Resort is a boutique hotel offering the luxuries of a first-class resort in an intimate, Caribbean environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Frangipani Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Frangipani Beach Hotel Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Anguilla
Frangipani Beach Resort Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing