We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Want to Relax and lose the crowd...MBBV hands down.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Meads Bay Beach Villas
Ranked #6 of 13 Hotels in West End Village
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2012

We take a family vacation every year and have grown very fond of Providenciales in the Turks Caicos Islands. Anguilla and Provo are two different places and provide different types of vacations. Both have beautiful beaches and both provide nice accomodations. We decided to try Anguilla for a week with the thought of enjoying more privacy and a place right on the water. MBBV was a great choice and surprise. We have stayed at some of the best resorts and Villas rentals in the caribbean, but what sets Meads Bay Beach Villas at the top of our list was the staff. After the longest and craziest travel day of my life (Left DFW at 5:45 AM , arrived Miami, flew to St Maarten, took cab to Marigot to catch the ferry to Anguilla, then a cab to MBBV. Went through so many lines I may need a therapist. We were not feeling too good about our choice, but those negative thoughts left the minute we arrived and out front waiting was Delta and Lollie to greet us. Big hugs for everyone and they made it feel like a homecoming. I simply fell in love with these two lovely ladies. You need something, they will get it no questions. Chris was off when we arrived and did not meet him until the next day. He shared the same attitude and offered to do anything we needed. He took the time to give us a map and marked it up with things we might want to consider. He had a car delivered and said use it when you are ready. We used it a couple of days which is more than enough to figure out there is no reason to leave the West End. My review is about the MBBV and the staff. My grade is "excellent" and if you are going to visit Anguilla with a party of 4, you will have made the best choice by staying a MBBV. This year we wanted a quite private place and this is exactly what we got. We stayed in Villa 1 right on the beach and it was like living in a post card. We maybe saw 4-6 people walk by per day. Yes, per "day". The other units were booked but we seldom saw anyone around. Not sure why, but we felt like we were the only ones on the grounds. I am going to give our impression of the island below, but again, if you are desiring a quite private experience in a fabulous Villa with the best staff I have ever enjoyed, this is "The Place". Bring big cans of mosquito repellent...they nearly carried us out to sea the first night, then we found the repellent and candles...problem solved.

Now for what we did and what we liked and disliked about Anguilla. We were a family with the youngest being 27 and no children. From what we read, we felt their would be more restaurants to choose from. We read trip advisor and had a perception things were a little expensive but worth it. This is where we missed Provo as we tried a few Anguilla restaurants and like they say, "if you don't have anything good to say, don't say anything". The best lunch and breakfast would be the Straw Hat, just 50 yards to the west of MBBV. Another good lunch and even a simple dinner choice would be Blanchard's Beach Shack about a quarter of a mile to the east of the MBBV. We enjoyed dinner at the Viceroy Hotel (1/2 mile to the west) and a Mexican Restaurant "Picante" just a little more to the west of the Viceroy. The four of us had Mexican food and drinks and the bill was just $250. The four of us had Sushi and drinks at the Viceroy at about $100 a person. We were still a little hungry and had some snacks back at the Villa. We ate at some other highly recommended restaurants that left our wallets empty and taste buds disappointed. Sorry, but it is true. Having drinks at the Viceroy in the Sunset Lounge is really fabulous, so do that, but know that a martini with all of the crazy charges added will set you back about $18-$19 each. Strange when you can buy a bottle the best vodka for $25. Truthfully, buy your alcohol at the grocery and make you own. The view is just as nice from the patio of Villa 1. Chris and Delta will be happy to pick up any supplies you desire, so take advantage of that and do not forget to tip (just a reminder) haha. Chris set up a half day boat rental and we used Gotcha 2 and that was a highlight of our trip. We went to Pickly Pear Island for snorkling (fair), we went to Sandy Island (Disappointment), and then to Little Bay (fabulous) we could have stayed at Little Bay for half a day easily. I would say if you want to Venture out for a day, go rent a kayak at Sandy Ground or pay to be dropped off at Little Bay for a few hours. Then you can drive over to Shoal Bay and have a late lunch and walk the beach. Again, Meads Bay is nicer, but you can see another nice beach and get an idea of what has happened to Anguilla. The poor economy has hit this island pretty hard. Prior to the realestate bust, Anguilla was headed for some big development, but it has pretty well dried up and a lot of unfinished projects can be seen all around the island.

Over-all, our first visit to Anguilla provided us with a good overview of why one would pick the Island for an extended vacation. Honeymooners and Families would enjoy it the most. Those that want to relax and enjoy spending time with family. The Viceroy is a very nice place for a couple, but the prices are stupid crazy. A hamburger for $25, "really". Expensive everything brings a lot of competition to this resort. Couples might want to do a couple of days there and then stay in St. Maarten where everything is much cheaper and a lot more to do, especially night life. Anguilla has you in a neck lock when it comes to going back and forth to St. Maarten. First you have the $40 fee for the round trip, plus the last Ferry is around 7 PM ish. So if you wanted to go to St Marrten for a day and even have a early dinner, you would have to spend the night.

My summary is, I would go back for a private quite vacation. I would have the Villa stocked with alcohol, mixes, food, snacks, etc. I would bring a couple of swim suits, some sandals and flip flops, shorts, tees, and a couple of button downs for those wild nights...then enjoy the beautiful ocean right in front of the villa, have drinks at sunset, enjoy the staff and other friendly Island people. That is why you would go there. I already miss my girls "Delta an Lollie".

Room Tip: Villa 1 would be my only choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank walknthepark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2012

we just spent 10 days at MBBV and we had a wonderful time. we (2 adults + 2 young kids) stayed at villa 2 and villa 1, and both, although different (from the location standpoint) were just perfect. the staff is very professional and very sweet (thanks to the whole team). the location of MBBV is just perfect, the Meads Bay beach is a large beautiful white sand beach with turquoise water. villa 2 has a sea view and is very quiet, 2 large bedrooms with private bathrooms, nice living room with a ktichen, a nice terrace and swimming pool, surrounded by a beautiful garden. villa 1 is on the beach, very similar to villa 2 from inside, but you are on the beach, so the view is amazing. everything you need is available, and if you want anything, Delta and Chris will be delighted to help. The Straw Hat restaurant is 50m from the villas, so really easy to have lunch and dinner.
one negative would be the mosquitos......

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CC1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

My wife and I just returned from our first visit to Anguilla and MBBV was the perfect choice for our week long stay.

Prior to arriving, Chris who is one of the managers arranged for our transport to the island from St. Maarten. After a 20 minute boat ride we reached Angullia. Another ten minute cab ride and we were at MBBV. Chris and Delta who is one of the other managers, greeted us upon arrival and showed us our villa.

We were in villa four which is the furthest from the beach but still only a one minute walk to a picture perfect beach on Mead's Bay. As others have said in their reviews, we liked villa four because it seems to offer the most privacy. The villas are very nicely decorated and impeccably clean. There is a nice fully equipped kitchen which allows you to cook in your villa if you are looking to save a little money as dining on the island can be expensive. The villa pool was a little larger than I expected and was cleaned on a daily basis by MBBV's excellent staff. The bathrooms are a tad small but nothing that would warrant even a small complaint when you consider the huge outdoor shower that is right outside the master bedroom door. All of the villas have wireless internet which worked better than my experiences in most major chain U.S. hotels. Overall, I would rate the villa as good as any place I have stayed which includes a number of five star hotels.

The service is what puts MBBV over the top. Chris, Delta and the rest of the staff make sure every need is met. They make you reservations for day trips, restaurants, tell you good local spots (Chris, thanks for telling us to go to B&D BBQ our first night!). However, in my opinion, good service is best illustrated when there is a potential problem which happened on our first day on the island. The evening of our first night and most of our second day we were without water in our villa. Upon contacting Chris he had the plumber to the Villa in less than a half hour to get the problem fixed. They got water restored briefly but it was out again the next morning. Chris had the plumber there again in a half hour and the water was back on later that day. Chris was very apologetic and we were completely fine as these things sometimes just happen so it really wasn't a huge deal in our minds. Despite the fact that we were fine and completely happy with their prompt response Chris gave us a gift card to Blanchard's (which is great) and paid for our breakfast the next morning. We actually felt bad that they also bought our breakfast but they insisted which shows how committed MBBV is to customer service.

Some other quick tips and suggestions:

1. Rent a car! Chris rented a car for us and we used it every day for day trips. The island is very easy to navigate so get out and explore.

2. Dining is expensive on the island but you can find some lower cost options like the local BBQ stands on the weekends. Just ask Chris to steer you in the right direction. Blanchard's, Lucy's, Straw Hat, Mangoe's, Oliver's, and Picante are all no more than 10 minutes from MBBV. You really cannot go wrong with most places on the island but do be prepared to shell out some money for the nicer restaurants.

3. Good day trips include Sandy Island which is good fun with a nice lunch. Also highly recommend going for a day at the beach at Junk Hole Bay and have lunch at Palm Grove/Nat's Pace for some good chicken or grilled lobster.

Overall would highly recommend MBBV. We were a little nervous about going to such a small island but are already trying to figure out when we can return. Great food, wonderful people and beaches that are second to none!!

Room Tip: Villa four is the furthest from the beach but offers the most privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank tsindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2012

We have been 2X to Anguilla. The first time we went, we were a little nervous as to where to stay. This time we didnt use trip advisor at all. We knew were we were going. And MBBV didnt dissapoint. As everyone has always written, the villas are very nice. We prefer #4, as it is the most private, and the most affordable. But the staff is what makes this place. They actually care about getting you back as a repeat customer. I am a repeat customer. and always will be. This is my favorite place on earth. You cant go wrong.

Room Tip: Villa #4---private villa#1---beachfront
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SDMEATGUY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Meads Bay Beach Villas in January of 2012. We were in Villa 4 for the first 5 or so nights and then, as planned, moved to Villa 3 for another 3 nights. Both Villas were in good shape. Villa 4 had a few little problems: the kitchen sink handle kept falling off, the fridge kept turning itself off if the door was left open for too long, the toilet seat wasn't securely fastened. there was also a problem with the DVD player. But Chris, the manager, did his best to address these concerns. he's not a magician and couldn't fix everything, but he sure bent over backwards trying. Staying at Meads Bay Beach Villas (MBBV) was especially attractive to my husband and I because we're picky eaters and loved having our own kitchen. You don't get the 5-start treatment as you would staying at the Viceroy, but having your own kitchen, pool and beach right outside our door was worth it for us. We would definitely stay there again. The staff there (Delta, Chris, numerous gardeners) were all outstanding. They all really care about making the experience special and memorable. Delta ran around town looking for a pool raft and blew it up herself. Our only problem was that we didn't stay longer!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

Best of the best. Villa, beach and staff were terrific. Just can't say enough, my family had a great time.


Tony

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Npig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2012

MBBV is the perfect beach getaway spot -- amazing location, great value, all of the amenities of home and people managing the Villa who are extremely warm and welcoming. This was our 4th trip to Anguilla and our 3rd stay at Meads Bay Beach Villas. We have extensively scouted the island and there is little question in our mind that this is the place to be. We are already planning our next trip and are not even considering anyplace else. There is an intimacy to Meads Bay (driven by the small size --- there are only 4 -- 2 bedroom condos and the accommodating staff) that makes this place different than any other vacation spot that we have been fortunate to visit. It is absolutely perfect for 2 couples with 2 master bedroom suites surrounding a large common living area.

One last thought as you picture this as a potential destination ... in Villa #1, the only thing between you and your own very secluded beach is your own private dunking pool.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near West End Village
0.4 mi away
Carimar Beach Club
Carimar Beach Club
#2 of 13 in West End Village
513 reviews
5.6 mi away
CeBlue Beach Resort
CeBlue Beach Resort
#2 of 3 in The Valley
77 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
Anacaona Boutique Hotel
#8 of 13 in West End Village
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
Zemi Beach House, Resort & Spa
#1 of 3 in Shoal Bay Village
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Four Seasons Resort and Residences Anguilla
Four Seasons Resort and Residenc...
#3 of 13 in West End Village
1,509 reviews
0.6 mi away
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
Malliouhana, An Auberge Resort
#1 of 13 in West End Village
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Meads Bay Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Meads Bay Beach Villas

Address: Meads Bay Road, West End Village AI2640, Anguilla
Region: Caribbean > Anguilla > West End Village
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in West End Village
#3 Family Hotel in West End Village
#5 Top resorts Hotel in West End Village
#6 On the Beach Hotel in West End Village
Price Range: £231 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Meads Bay Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Meads Bay Beach Villas is a collection of 4 two-bedroom private villas on Meads Bay Beach, on the western shores of Anguilla in the British West Indies. Each villa features 1700 square feet of living space, including a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living room, 2 ½ bathrooms, a large pool and sun deck with private swimming pool as well as a lounge and outdoor dining area. The property offers one of Anguilla’s exclusive beachfront villa settings, where guests step out directly onto the powder white sand of Meads Bay. The warm turquoise ocean water is only steps away from each villa. Meads Bay Beach Villas is the perfect option for honeymooners, couples, families and friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Meads Bay Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Meads Bay Beach Villas Hotel West End
Meads Bay Hotel
Meads Bay Beach Villas Anguilla/West End Village

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing