We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great”
Review of Transcorp Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Transcorp Hotels
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“Great”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Formerly Metropolitan hotel... Its a place worth staying especially just before the Calabar carnival. Its in the heart of the city with courteous staff members willing to help.

The last time i was there, the kitchen got my friend's order mixed and when he complained, it was changed without so much fuss. I was impressed.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diva_fatale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Business Development Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to share your experience. Your commendation was very much appreciated. We look forward to seeing you in future.

You can reach us on our Guest Relations line +234 708 770 7174 or email us via gr.calabar@transcorphotels.com if you need further information regarding our facility or services.

Thank you for choosing the pride of Calabar, thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels.


Chuma Mgbojikwe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    22
    13
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

Matropolitan Hotel is the home for the Super Eagles, and is part of the history of Calabar, a lot effort has been made to bring it up to international standard.

I would understand why a tourist from Europe would not understand the my 5 star rating, when there is no functioning swimmning, internet service is not available 24 hours, the bar is the size of a lounge in a regular Suite, Spanish omellete with Breakfast is an extra and the room cannot be describe as clean.

....but despite the result, the effort put into the Hotel makes is very special place to stay in calabar

Room Tip: Stay in the "tower" section of the hotel that has a functional lift
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank samozalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Business Development Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you for taking time to write a review on this platform and for recognizing our hotel as a 'special place to stay in Calabar'. We appreciate it and noted all your comments. Our recently acquired Transcorp Hotels is undergoing facility upgrade and capacity development to ensure good value for money for all our guests; and your comments have proved to be valuable in this regard. Please be assured of improved service delivery during your future visit.

You can reach us on our Guest Relations line +234 708 770 7174 or email us via gr.calabar@transcorphotels.com if you need further information regarding our facility or services.

Thank you for choosing the pride of Calabar, thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 July 2013

Transcorp calabar is a home away from home,located in a tranquil environment with its impeccable staff at every beck and call. every dime spent is worth it cuz u cant put a price tag on comfort.
The rooms are big and neat, great customer service and a good location.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dagabana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Business Development Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you very much for sharing your experience on www.tripadvisor.com platform. We are very much delighted to have served you, and for the wonderful comments mentioned. We look forward to hosting you in future.

You can reach us on our Guest Relations line +234 708 770 7174 or email us via gr.calabar@transcorphotels.com if you need further information regarding our facility or services.

Thank you for choosing the pride of Calabar, thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels.


Chuma Mgbojikwe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos
1 review
Reviewed 22 May 2013

The hotel's ambience is good, location is great and the hotel staff were very courteous and helpful. All you need to do is to ask for Kusi or Nuhu and you get excellent service. For food and beverage, ask for Stella or Wumi and for banqueting, ask for Iyam. They all did wonderfully well. Oooh! I forgot to mention their outstanding Chef from the Nicon Hilton, Jerry... He is indeed a guru. Also, Uju was very exceptional and courteous. Lastly, I like to commend the in-house Nurse, Marian for her advise and excellent customer service. For conferencing, do not hesitate to enjoy the wonderful service of Transcorp Metropolitan. However, I think they need to work more on their service boys and girls in terms of planning and organisational skills.

Room Tip: Try the chalets, they are very nice and spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phlaeky A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 1 August 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful commendation of our services and staff recognition. We are indeed delighted to have impressed you with our services and we are looking forward to hosting you in future. Once again, Thank you.

You can reach us on our Guest Relations line +234 708 770 7174 or email us via gr.calabar@transcorphotels.com if you need further information regarding our facility or services.

Thank you for choosing the pride of Calabar, thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels.

Chuma Mgbojikwe
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
1 review
Reviewed 27 April 2013

this is not a nice hotel. Unfortunately, did not have a good experience. facilities are dated, food was terrible and lift was notworking. Wifi was slow and place smells musty. Overpriced. Paid a deposit on checking in which was withdrawn from my card did not utilize up to the amount paid asked to be refunded to my card and was told it was not possible and was given cash.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chineze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Thank you for sparing time in writing your comments about our services and bringing this matter to our attention. We have taken necessary steps in correcting your areas of concern and sincerely hope you will be satisfied with the corrective action taken by us on your next visit.

Your comments will help us serve you and all our guests, better in the future.

We apologize for the annoyance/inconvenience that this may have caused to you. The hotel is actively working to improve service levels and your feedback has proved to be valuable.

We will continue to be committed to provide you and all our guests with the highest standard of service in the industry. We look forward to your continued patronage and wish you the best in your business and personal endeavors.

Sincerely yours.


CHUMA MGBOJIKWE
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calabar hotels

Dunblane, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

This hotel is the old original Government hotel in Calabar and has recently been taken over Transcorp - who also run the Hilton in Abuja.

Very central and close to the airport - 15 minutes. The reception areas have all been refurbished and look quite smart with a large restaurant - small bar and various shops.

The pool area is quite chilled out at the weekend with a pool party and barbecue.

The rooms are large with decent AC but the wireless signal is very weak but free to hotel guests.

Comfy bed but the furnishings are a bit dated and there was no safe in my room.

At £133 per night it is pricey by Calabar standards....

For business it works but a bit soulless.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room that faces away from the next door building as the generator is very loud a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank renniealdo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Business Development Manger at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar and leaving a feedback on your experience.

We are glad you had a pleasant and enjoyable stay with us. Your comments on the quality of service delivery from our team members, our well appointed bedrooms, the outdoor pool and our attention to the security of our guests are appreciated. We are constantly seeking ways and means of creating a refreshing environment where all our guests feel cared for, valued and respected.

Regarding the somewhat slow free internet service, we are working on a more enhanced infrastructure that will put smile to our esteemed guests’ faces. This should be in place later this year. Also, thank you for your comments regarding the noise pollution. We are looking into a resolution, soonest.

While we look forward to welcoming you back in future, we are happy to extend your comments to our team members.


Daniel Senn
General Manager (Ag.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2013

I lived and worked in Calabar in 1980/81 (building a new hospital for the Nigerian Navy), and remember the Metropolitan as the only "real" hotel in town. You could always get a cold beer and it was OK. Glad its survived.
Apologies the page makes you pick a travel date - 1980 ain't an option

Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank rwjohn2754
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NuhuSani, Business Development Manger at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 9 April 2013
Thank you for your continuous interest in TRANSCORP HOTELS, Calabar.

Sequel to its acquisition by Transcorp (owners of Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja), the hotel and conference facility, formerly known as Metropolitan Hotel, was rebranded to TRANSCORP HOTELS. Transcorp Hotels recently acquired by Transcorp Plc, is the biggest and most prestigious hotel in Calabar and Cross River State as a whole. The 132-room hotel is a premiere destination in Calabar, which is fast becoming the destination city for vacations and conferences in Nigeria.

We strive to maintain the leadership of hospitality business in Calabar.

Once again, thank you for your valuable feedback. We look forward to welcoming and being of service to you on your next trip to Calabar.

Daniel Senn
General Manager (Ag.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabar
3.7 mi away
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
#3 of 8 in Calabar
43 reviews
0.0 mi away
Scholet Suites Hotel
Scholet Suites Hotel
#4 of 8 in Calabar
3 reviews
131.7 mi away
Obudu Mountain Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Calabar Harbour Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
520 Hotels Asdam Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Axari Hotel and Suites
Axari Hotel and Suites
#12 of 46 in Calabar
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hotels

Property: Transcorp Hotels
Address: 10 Murtala Mohammed Highway | Calabar Municipality, Calabar 540001, Nigeria (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel)
Region: Nigeria > Cross River State > Calabar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Transcorp Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transcorp Hotels is fully owned by Transnational Hotels PLC, owners of Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja. Transcorp Hotels, recently acquired by Transcorp PLC is the biggest and most prestigious hotel in Calabar and Cross River State as a whole. The 132 room hotel is a premier destination in Calabar, which is fast becoming the destination city for vacation and conferences in Nigeria. The hotel is located in the heart of the city of Calabar and is a well known landmark in the community for local and international visitors for business and pleasure. It also provide outstanding conferencing facilities, fine dining, 24hours room service, fitness centre, lounge, bar, swimming pool, tennis court, complimentary airport shuttle, complimentary high speed WIFI internet access throughout the hotel, pastry shop, laundry shop etc. Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels, Calabar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Jovago.com, Evoline ltd, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing