We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The only decent hotel in town - but you pay the price for it”
Review of Transcorp Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Transcorp Hotels
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Brighton, England
Level Contributor
56 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The only decent hotel in town - but you pay the price for it”
Reviewed 12 October 2010

I stayed on business after two enforced stays at Channel View. They had a "special rate" for Nigeria's 50th anniversary celebrations; the flat rate was comparable to inferior places in the rest of the town, but once you added the "plus plus" on top, it hiked it up considerably.

reverting to the normal rate (adding the "plus plus" of course) put it out of my expenses range, but it was by far the best place I've stayed in Nigeria: intelligent staff, scrupulously clean, decent plumbing (though when I asked for a plug for the bath, a man mysteriously turned up at my door with a ladder. Never did get my much-needed bath). I didn't eat there as it was horribly expensive, though I had a shoddy breakfast one morning of a dry croissant with a mysterious salty brown filling that even the staff couldn't identify.

I'd definitely stay there again if it's on expenses, couldn't afford to pay myself.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank melita666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuhu S, Guest Service Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Melita666,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Transcorp Hotels experience; particularly confirming our superiority in the city of Calabar and good value for money. We further appreciate your comment of our hotel cleanliness.

Please be informed that Transcorp Hotels has undergone a lot of transformation on the facility and service delivery in recent years. We work hard to maintain a friendly and efficient service delivery and sincerely hope to welcome you again at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar.

Kind regards,
Nuhu Sani - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    19
    22
    12
    1
See reviews for
3
4
2
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Korean first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2010

This is the best hotel in Calabar. The only international standard hotel.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bharat V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuhu S, Guest Service Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Sir,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Transcorp Hotels experience; particularly identifying us as the number one hotel in the city of Calabar. We very much appreciate it.

Please be informed that Transcorp Hotels has undergone a lot of transformation on the facility and service delivery in recent years. We work hard to maintain a friendly and efficient service delivery and sincerely hope to welcome you again at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar.

Kind regards,
Nuhu Sani - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lebanon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2008

I was extreamly surprised by the quality of service and accomodation, perfect room setting and amenities it's a real 5 star international standard applied in Calabar, the food is perfect especially the continental dishes you feel like you're in Europe, lot of facilites and perfect services. we had a buffet lunch it was great, and our meeting in the Pearl meeting was wonderfull wew up to 350 participants.The cost of my trip was a bit high but it worth the experience of enjoying proffesional hospitality in Calabar. Try it, it's something else.

  • Liked — quality of services
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Micheal H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuhu S, Guest Service Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Michael K,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Transcorp Hotels experience; particularly identifying us with 5star rating in the city of Calabar. We very much appreciate it.

Please be informed that Transcorp Hotels has undergone a lot of transformation on the facility and service delivery in recent years. We will continue to work hard to maintain a friendly and efficient service delivery and sincerely hope to welcome you again at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar.

Kind regards,
Nuhu Sani - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MARCHIN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2008

I was in this Hotel from 22/11/08 thrue 29/11/08, the place is fine, the rooms are beautiful, but the internet connexion was very slow. The food was not terrible.

But all is to expensive for this hotel.

All dishes more then 2000 ngn.

I never saw a expensive hotel like this in my life.

I was there for business.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FOXY4546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuhu S, Guest Service Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Foxy,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Transcorp Hotels experience.

Please be informed that Transcorp Hotels has undergone a lot of transformation on the facility and service delivery in recent years to ensure our guests continue to enjoy good value for money.

We will continue to work hard to maintain a friendly and efficient service delivery and sincerely hope to welcome you again at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar.

Kind regards,
Nuhu Sani - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calabar hotels

UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2008

A nice hotel in a very poor area, I stayed on business and can honestly say that i,m glad that i don't have to pay to stay there. The accomodation isn't too bad but it is let down by the food that is served - it is appalling.

  • Stayed April 2008, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank sparky4434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nuhu S, Guest Service Manager at Transcorp Hotels, responded to this review, 19 October 2015
Dear Sparky,

Thank you for taking time to post your kind review. We are so happy that you enjoyed the Transcorp Hotels experience.

Please be informed that Transcorp Hotels has undergone a lot of transformation on the facility and service delivery - inclusive of our Food and Beverage, in recent years to ensure increasing guests' satisfaction and good value for money.

We will continue to work hard to maintain a friendly and efficient service delivery and sincerely hope to welcome you again at Transcorp Hotels, Calabar.

Kind regards,
Nuhu Sani - Guest Service Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabar
3.7 mi away
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
#3 of 8 in Calabar
43 reviews
20.6 mi away
Le Meridien Ibom Hotel & Golf Resort
1.0 mi away
Scholet Suites Hotel
Scholet Suites Hotel
#4 of 8 in Calabar
3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Calabar Harbour Resort & Spa
1.1 mi away
520 Hotels Asdam Lodge & Spa
0.0 mi away
Axari Hotel and Suites
Axari Hotel and Suites
#11 of 46 in Calabar
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Transcorp Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Transcorp Hotels

Property: Transcorp Hotels
Address: 10 Murtala Mohammed Highway | Calabar Municipality, Calabar 540001, Nigeria (Formerly Metropolitan Hotel)
Region: Nigeria > Cross River State > Calabar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Transcorp Hotels 4*
Number of rooms: 132
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Transcorp Hotels is fully owned by Transnational Hotels PLC, owners of Transcorp Hilton Hotel Abuja. Transcorp Hotels, recently acquired by Transcorp PLC is the biggest and most prestigious hotel in Calabar and Cross River State as a whole. The 132 room hotel is a premier destination in Calabar, which is fast becoming the destination city for vacation and conferences in Nigeria. The hotel is located in the heart of the city of Calabar and is a well known landmark in the community for local and international visitors for business and pleasure. It also provide outstanding conferencing facilities, fine dining, 24hours room service, fitness centre, lounge, bar, swimming pool, tennis court, complimentary airport shuttle, complimentary high speed WIFI internet access throughout the hotel, pastry shop, laundry shop etc. Thank you for choosing Transcorp Hotels, Calabar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Transcorp Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing