We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, but out of town” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tinapa Lakeside Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
85 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Clean, but out of town”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013 via mobile

Rooms are small but clean, no minibar or even kettle with tea/coffee in rooms. Service in some areas such as reception and restaurant good but variable at bar. Water park is fun particularly as no one else was there!buffet dinner would suit Those who like real Nigerian food. Breakfast is fine but not all dishes replenished quickly enough!hotel is some way out of town and we were quoted 20000n each way for airport pick up arranged by hotel but managed to get someone else much cheaper!probably is best hotel in area.oh...and no baby cots or high chairs!

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank graciej78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    18
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
6
2
2
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Warri, Nigeria
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

An outstanding hotel with class. Reception was awesome even with a little concern over accommodation booking done through a tour agency. The standard rooms are very clean and cozy with the amenities functioning as expected. The Wi-Fi is superb - strong signal strength throughout our stay. The food, especially national cuisines were fantastic and delicious. The staffs are wonderful. Their manner of approach is polite and subtle if there is a concern to be resolved. My wife, kids and I enjoyed the boat ride through the lake. The water park and games in the game room were cool too. In fact, I consider our stay too short and look forward to spending more time in this hotel next time, probably during carnival Calabar. I'll sure recommend this hotel to my friends and colleagues because I like quality and Tinapa Lakeside Hotel is it.

Room Tip: A room that is close to the lake side
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruggon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2013

It's a very very lovely hotel. The room and beds are small. However, it is very clean, very classy and the service is great. The free wi-fi doesn't work. There is no pool, unless you go to the water park, there is no gym either. It is a place to rest. It is very far from town and getting transportation to town is a hassle, so u might feel a bit caged. Cellular service sucks, it is a great struggle to get network there. The food is great. Your reservation comes with breakfast for 2 and 1 child, which makes their rates worth it. The environment is wow, that's if you are into nature and all.

Generally, awesome and classy hotel. Just get ready to spend on transportation.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aurora_Diva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2013 via mobile

Was for sure very nice when new, but really needs to keep up with maintenance - fx have a nice outside balcony at the restaurant that is just fallen apart.
Restaurant lacks service - Do NOT order a la carte unless you have a lot of time, the buffet is nice though, only Nigerian cuisine, so if you like Oyibo food, this is not the place.
Bar is nice and good atmosphere.
Most staff at reception helpfull and nice.
Rooms need upgrade, beds hard as stone. Not able to open a window, and doors that can hardly close.
The nearby waterpark is nice - but not as close as the website make it look..
We got a good discount rate, that made it worth, but another time in Calabar, we would stay in the city and drive to the waterpark.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chrkipp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Akwa Ibom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2013

I seriously was overwhelmed by the service improvement compared with the last time I visited. I think the Hotel got as an international Hotel. I invited a couple whom lodge at the resort, my visit to them showed how overwhelm they were with the beauty and difference in unique service.

Payment using International Credit cards like Visa and MasterCard via the POS on the front desk was so swift. The internet Speed at the lobby and at the bar area was great and it is free. In did this is a prove that the location is world calls. I enjoyed my visit.

I enjoyed my second visit to the resort.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank UbongEkpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra, Greater Accra, Ghana
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2013

Yes!!! It's one of the best places I have visited in Nigeria. The rooms are comfortable and the food is great. The waterloo park is the place to be. A fast internet would have perfected my stay there. It is a preferred West African holidays destination though. I just loved the view

Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank alexoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lagos, Nigeria
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2013

Some years back, I met a beautiful young graduate that i fell in love with and planned to marry ...... that was so many years back.
Even though she was beautiful and we had made our plans, one major problem we had was where to reside if we got married. Back then, she resided in Calabar and I in Lagos.

One major question I often asked her was "What is it about Calabar that would want to make spend the whole of your life there? Lagos has more to offer you , i would say" .... And she always declined with a simple reply, "A visit to Calabar will convince you."

All attempts on my part to visit Calabar for some reasons was unfruitful until late last year after we had got married to different spouses, yet remained best of friends.
In October 2012, i found myself in Calabar and to my amazement, discovered that a mini paradise existed in Nigeria.

For some people, a paradise is a place with the right infrastructure, but Calabar aptly captures nature's own from its eco-friendly environment to the warmness and friendly nature of the people. So it was no surprise when i decided to move into the Tinapa Lakeside Hotel on my second visit to Calabar in February 2013, that have been highly spoken of by most tour companies in Nigeria. The friendly and courteous nature of the staff especially the General Manager Mr Mike, as he is fondly called made my stay an unforgettable experience.

The big question is " What is it about Tinapa that would make me share my experience having stayed in some of the best hotels in Nigeria?"
Firstly, the breathtaking scenery and landscape makes it comparable to a mini paradise. The swimming pool is way out.... getting to the arena, you would have thought you were in Disney World. Oh! How i love the water steep jump. That was a real thriller for me. The boat ride on the lake, not to forget the special "Calabar Night" organised every friday evening where there is a display of calabar cuisines set amidst relaxing music from it's in house live band..If you want a peaceful but adventurous holiday,Tinapa Lakeside hotel is it anyday. The swimming pool is a major attraction and it is situated right beside the famous Nollywood Studios located in the heart of the resort. Finally, you can be guaranteed of poor telephone reception in some of the rooms that could be a plus for those who want a perfect hide out from all the "troubles of the world" and a minus for, .............your guess is as good as mine.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shinasmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calabar
16.1 mi away
Transcorp Hotels
Transcorp Hotels
#1 of 8 in Calabar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
20.9 mi away
Le Meridien Ibom Hotel & Golf Resort
0.0 mi away
Axari Hotel and Suites
Axari Hotel and Suites
#9 of 43 in Calabar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Marian Hotels Limited
Marian Hotels Limited
#2 of 8 in Calabar
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
3.5 mi away
Scholet Suites Hotel
Scholet Suites Hotel
#4 of 8 in Calabar
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
1.5 mi away
No photo provided
Beverly Heels Hotel
#8 of 43 in Calabar
3.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tinapa Lakeside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tinapa Lakeside Hotel

Property: Tinapa Lakeside Hotel
Address: Tinapa Business Free Zone | Adiabo, Calabar, Nigeria (Formerly Amber Tinapa)
Region: Nigeria > Cross River State > Calabar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Calabar
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Tinapa Lakeside Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 242
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tinapa Lakeside Hotel, formerly Amber Tinapa, is the premium hotel of choice for men and women of distinction. Exquisiteness and Class ooze out of every single one of the Hotel's 242 rooms. The Lakeside Hotel boasts of facilities and services which are nothing short of world class. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Jovago.com so you can book your Tinapa Lakeside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing