We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Short Stay, Great Experience”
Review of La Granjita

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
La Granjita
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Clara
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stumbled upon this property, when our Cubana Airlines flight was delayed by 7 hours. The airline sent us to this nearby resort for us to eat and rest up a bit. The resort is a hidden gem. Although it is not on the beach, it is a tranquil getaway spot. The rooms are very clean and cool. There is a small clean pool, and a nice restaurant. I can't say a whole lot about the food since we just had sandwiches, but they were tasty. Our stay was just a few hours, but a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Tiffany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (285)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

34 - 40 of 285 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2014

Together with a group of Belgian union people, I stayed for one night at this hotel. We arrived there on Friday, 2 May 2014 in the evening. As our luggage was being delivered to our rooms, one luggage of one of my friends was put in my room. Unfortunately, I didn't notice it, so my friend thought his luggage had gone missing. In the next hours, and through the entire night, several people were mobilized: staff of the hotel and police, searching the entire ressort. The next morning I discovered the "lost" luggage! Everybody was very upset, especially the Cubans, because they had put many efforts and ressources in searching for that luggage. They did so because they wanted to uphold their fame of being a safe hotel, where the entire staff aims at serving its guests to the best of its ability. In other countries, mine included, the police would show up, make a report,have a quick look and then say "we'll get back to you if we find something". Here, the police stayed all night and the next morning. Our group felt very sorry for all this. We offered our excuses and praised the efforts of the hotel management and staff, and the work of the police. We know the good image of the Cuban tourist sector is important, and this incident shows that this image is indeed based on a reality. The Cuban people really work hard to develop their tourist industry so it can contribute to the general economic and social development of all Cubans. Erwin Carpentier, Belgium

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Erwin C C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Out in the country, surrounded by horse pasture and palm trees. Cool little two story cabins with a great bar next to the pool. Horses, goats, chickens roam the property maintaing the grass and shrubs. ( organic landscape maintenance!!) A relaxing reprieve from the city!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Having read the reviews before our stay, we didn't have great expectations, but we were pleasantly surprised.
We stayed in one of the round huts, 1. floor, very clean and very quiet.
The buffet restaurant was perhaps not the most exciting, but it was ok.
The surroundings were wonderful, a small park with beautiful flowers.
Staff was very nice.

Stayed: January 2014
6  Thank lillisan115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2014

Villa Granjita is located in lovely surroundings, but quite a bit from the city center. Some reviewers have complained about noise from the pool area, but my "hut" was located quite a bit away so I had no problems with that.

The room was clean, the air conditioning very powerful, and the electricity was supplied in 200 volts, but with North American outlets which was kind of strange.

The main gripe I have is the restaurant. We attended a special Christmas dinner which wasn't worth the price. The food was bad, the waiters inattentive and at times nonchalant. When they ran out of toilet paper in the bathroom they just handed over a couple of napkins to instead of restocking the bathroom.

Room Tip: If you're worried about noise from the pool area I can recommend room 117, the room I was stayin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nick O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

We stayed for 2 weeks overall in a mix of hotels and casas, and this was the laest successful experience. Worst of the 3 hotels by far, and not as clean and atmospheric as the casas. Unless you have to stay here as part of a tour, there are better options (wish we had not listened to our booking agent as we had a car and would rather have been in a casa in Santa Clara) We thought the rooms shoddy- bathrooms in particular were not clean. Hairs all over the floor in mine- yuk. when we arrived (admittedly on a Saturday) pool FULL of locals. Next morning totally empty until 11 so at least we had a private swim the following day. Poor breakfast- thanksfully ate dinner out in Santa Clara. Staff mixed. First check in receptionist was literally eating throughout check in and uttered not one word let alone a smile. But next day they were friendly and helpful. We had no entertainment - good or bad! So no noise.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MissFussyBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

I enjoyed my one night stay at La Granjita. After some really ropey rooms around Cuba, this stood out as refreshingly well appointed, fairly recently renovated accommodation, set in pleasant gardens. The pool area was quiet in the early evening once all the day-trippers had left, and there was cheesy entertainment provided in the evening. The restaurant was perfectly acceptable and we found the staff to be friendly and professional.

Two things worth nothing: although our room was screened from the pool and restaurant areas by other huts, those in rooms closer to the pool area were kept awake until the small hours by very loud music. . Secondly, each hut has its own little solar heated water tank outside. Three of us showered on arrival late afternoon so there was very little hot water left the following morning...

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the pool area for a quet night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank swansilvertone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Clara
5 mi away
Hotel Los Caneyes
Hotel Los Caneyes
#2 of 7 in Santa Clara
489 reviews
44.4 mi away
IBEROSTAR Grand Hotel Trinidad
60.1 mi away
Hotel Islazul Elguea
Hotel Islazul Elguea
#5 of 7 in Santa Clara
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
48.6 mi away
Club Amigo Costasur
Club Amigo Costasur
#1 of 2 in Playa Ancon
600 reviews
42 mi away
Hotel Faro Luna
Hotel Faro Luna
#4 of 7 in Cienfuegos
127 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 57 in Santa Clara
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Granjita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Granjita

Address: Carretera de Maleza Km. 21 1/2, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Santa Clara
Price Range: £53 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — La Granjita 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your La Granjita reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carrusel La Granjita Hotel Santa Clara
Carrusel La Granjita Cuba

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing