We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect place to stay in Santa Clara!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Javier y Katia
Reviewed 30 October 2013

Honestly many casas are probably perfect in Santa Clara but we had a wonderful time staying with Javier and Katia. The location is excellent - a short walk from the central square. The room was clean and comfortable, with A/C and a really cool fan. Their home was lovely. They are genuinely good people who we appreciated staying with. Our preference was to eat at the casa and the food was delicious (we're vegetarians). Highly recommended! Loved Santa Clara! - Kiran and Shawn

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkp1021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (56)
There are newer reviews for Hostal Javier y Katia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 56 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2013

We came by accident into this Hostel, nevertheless, it was a wonderful experience. We met extraordinary helpful and nice people, who served us with their great hospitality. The meals were outstandig. We felt very much at home and in cuba for particular.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C_dric_M2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we stayed 3 June nights in a downstairs room with 2 double beds & private bath. Meals were plentiful, delicious & artful, even for us vegetarians. We went with Ivan & his car to Hanabanilla & then by small boat to swim waterfall & hike. Ivan spoke good English & was very informative & helped us bargain for boat. Also we walked the other direction from the Che Memorial to see the beautiful statue of Che with nina & up the hill for the Cerdo(overlook) for the train. One morning we took local bus #4? to university & enjoyed a tour of the botanic garden. There are several not to be missed murals in Santa Clara including the cartoons near the bus station.
Javier & Katia are very sociable & often have people dropping by, which is nice. We wish them good health.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank homefreeUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2013

Here we enjoyed the best food in the whole of Cuba and it was our favorite of all the places we stayed. Javier and Katia - and their son Freddy the Magician - made us feel very much at home - indeed, we felt more like friends of the family than paying guests. Warmly recommended!!

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lynne A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Javier was the GREATEST! We came to stay in his casa by accident, because our original casa was canceled on short notice by the host with no reason and a friend in Vinalles recomended us his Casa. We were not disapointed, far from it! Javier was so friendly and helpfull, he really made us feel great and welcome. The food was delicious, the meals, breakfast, everything really! We even went on a trip with him to Remedios, it was great, my first ride on a Moskovich. You wont find friendlier people than in Hostal Javier y Katia. "Se necessitas de algo, só lhamar Jaaaavieeeeer!" :D Thank you for a perfect stay and memories! :D

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jettaredPT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

We stayed with Javier and Katia for 3 nights and had an excellent time with them. They are both incredibly friendly and Javier loves to chat and make you feel welcome! They have 2 rooms to stay in now and we stayed in the spacious new room (with bathroom). Food was delicious and we loved how Katia would add some art to the fruit cuttings! We also watched their son, Freddy's magic show, which was great! The only reason why we are not giving a full 5* rating is because we would have liked the hot water to be a little hotter! Otherwise, it was perfect!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danielle956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2012

We stayed only for one night but felt like part of the family. Javier is great for local knowledge and a sit around the table for a chat. Katia makes a wonderful meal with shrimp and afterwards we could hardly move, delicious! If you have time, you should see the magic show from young Freddy! :) Very nice stay, clean and tidy apartment with the facilities to use for longer stays than one night. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
0.5 mi away
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Hostal Autentica Pergola
#4 of 55 in Santa Clara
699 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Colibri Azul
Hostal Colibri Azul
#1 of 47 in Santa Clara
96 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Amalia
Hostal Amalia
#3 of 47 in Santa Clara
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 55 in Santa Clara
305 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hostal Francisco
Hostal Francisco
#6 of 55 in Santa Clara
68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Casa Riki's Hostal
Casa Riki's Hostal
#11 of 55 in Santa Clara
24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Javier y Katia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Javier y Katia

Address: Colon 225 e/ Sindico (E.P. Morales) y Nazereno (Serafin Garcia) | Corner Sindico y Nazareno, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 47 Speciality Lodging in Santa Clara
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
My hostel is located in Santa Clara, Cuba 400 meters from Central Park near the main attractions of the city, the house has 5 bedrooms including a suite with its private terrace, kitchen, living room, private bathroom. offer services dinner, breakfast, lunch, the house has 3 terraces where you can difutrar of good coffee, a good read etc, work for the welfare of guests. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing