We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendliest host you will find”
Review of Hostal Jose Ramon

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Santa Clara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hostal Jose Ramon
Ranked #21 of 49 Santa Clara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendliest host you will find”
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Jose will do his utmost to make you feel at home in Santa Clara, and is always ready to answer questions, recommend places to see, restaurants to visit and help organise further travel arrangements for your trip in Cuba. In other words: the perfect host. Traveling as vegetarians, it was sometimes hard to find good food in Cuba, but at Jose's we also got one of the best meals of the trip.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank astrid_elvira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    10
    3
    0
    3
See reviews for
17
48
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2012

I made a reservation at this hostel two weeks before my arrival date for a 10 day stay and spoke to Jose (--) personally and told him what I was looking for. I wanted an apartment with a working kitchen. He told me that was no problem, the kitchen was equipped for this. The afternoon before I was supposed to arrive I received a call and he told me he did not want anyone staying at the hostel using the kitchen facilities. He was afraid of fires and he made more money by providing meals. He was cancelling my reservation. That would be fine if he had told me this before I made plans to stay here. Because it was so late I could not find any other accommodations in Santa Clara because it was high season so I had to change my plans and book something in Varadero. This totally ruined my vacation. I have stayed in several apartments over the years in Santa Clara without incident so to say I was shocked and saddened by this news was putting it mildly. This type of behaviour is rare but beware. I am writing this so that other people who want to stay here do not have the same bad experience and have a ruined vacation like I did.

Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
13 Thank Stormdme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
josetur, Propietario at Hostal Jose Ramon, responded to this review, 19 October 2012
I do not know you .I do not written with you. We will never have offered you the kitchen and the apartment. Our hostal is open to the world and we always have good communication with our clients and we never deceive and lied the tourists will be our main premise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2012

We stayed here on a recommendation from our tour guide in Havana for 2 nights. It was fantastic. Jose Ramon and his family were extremely welcoming and friendly. You get the whole first floor to yourself and a terrace with some nice chairs to relax in after a days sightseeing. I cannot recommend enough eating here. It was the best food we had in Cuba hands down. Jose Ramons mother does all the cooking and she is a fantastic cook. I wish I could have brought her home with me we had the pork 1 night and chicken the other absolutely delicious. Nothing was too much trouble for Jose our bus was at 7am so he arrived at 6.20am to give us breakfast and make sure the taxi arrived for us. He organised the taxi driver on our second day to bring us to all the sights in Santa Clara for a half day. It is well worth doing it and really cheap. Overall I would come back here in the morning if I could and stay a bit longer with the ever smiling Jose Ramon and his lovely family

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dee085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberaltertheim, Bayern, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Hostal Jose Ramon was a recomment of my casa particulare - family in Playa Rancho Luna and I'm very thankfull for this insider-tip! The house is nice, the appartment big (good for families, couples or a group of friends... the whole first floor is available for onesselves) and clean and the terrace is amaizing with it's great view over the roofs of St. Clara! The welcome of the family was very friendly and everybody was very helpful and nice! Unfortunatelly I didn't have a long time in St. Clara and José Ramon's Hostel... I think I could have spend more days there!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, IN
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 April 2012

My friend and I were on our way back to Havana from Santiago and decided to spend some time in Santa Clara to break up the bus ride, and I am so glad we did! Jose Ramon met us at the bus station, even though it was the middle of the night and arranged for transportation for us back to the hostal. When we got there it was beautiful, very spacious, fresh, with a balcony, kitchen, bedroom, and bathroom. He brought an amazing breakfast in the morning. Besides being very welcoming and friendly, everything was also very clean and professional. If you get a chance sit down and have a conversation with them do it! That was one of the highlights of our stay. They are also very knowledgeable about the city and working with travelers, Jose Ramon even arranged a low cost taxi to take us from Santa Clara to Havana, who was also a very friendly, professional fellow. I wish we could have stayed more than one short night, there was more to see in Santa Clara and this hostal was a breath of fresh air on our travels. I highly recommend staying at Hostal Jose Ramon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rosalyn E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Wayne
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 March 2012

My stay at Jose Ramon Hostal in Sta Clara was a breath of fresh air. After having been on a bus from Santiago, Cuba for more than 12 hours, and arriving at somewhere around 230 in the morning, the smiling face of Jose Ramon greeted me and my travel companion as we hauled our packs onto our backs.
Jose was recommended to us by another Casa in another city in Cuba and we found that this was the best way to get around - traveling from Casa to Casa and taking the recommendations of the owners of Casas as they got to know us pretty well during our stay usually. We only had one day to see things in Sta Clara and Jose Ramon and his family made sure that we were rested, fed, and got to see everything we wanted to, as well as arranging transportation for us back to Havana by that same night. They even made us a hearty afternoon snack at the last minute so that our stomachs would not be empty as we made our way back to Havana that evening.
The apartment was spacious, with high ceilings, windows, and even an upstairs terrace. The bed was comfortable, shower and bathroom and the rest of the apartment were very clean, and the food was not only delicious but also more than adequate to fill our tummies.
As two college students, we had a variety of living experiences in Cuba before arriving to this Hostal and Jose Ramon and his family made us immediately feel safe and comfortable, being two young women traveling alone. Jose Ramon and his family were also very helpful

We highly recommend staying here, and for more than a night if you can!

Room Tip: NA - one upstairs apartment that you'll have all to yourself or yourselves :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alma R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I just arrived back to Sweden after two delightful weeks in Cuba. On my way through Santa Clara I stayed att Hostal "Jose Ramon" in Santa Clara. It is a very confortable, clean, and private place. I did not have an issue about bugs or another pest. On the other side, the host and his family were very friendly and helpful att all times.
Its is quite strategically located, close to downtown. I do recommend the place, and if I ever travel back I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Magnus H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Santa Clara hotels
23.2 mi away
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
Hotel Islazul Hanabanilla
#4 of 7 in Santa Clara
3.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
60.2 mi away
Hotel Islazul Elguea
Hotel Islazul Elguea
#6 of 7 in Santa Clara
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hostal D' Cordero
Hostal D' Cordero
#1 of 49 in Santa Clara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hostal Autentica Pergola
Hostal Autentica Pergola
#3 of 49 in Santa Clara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Jose Ramon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Jose Ramon

Property: Hostal Jose Ramon
Address: Maximo Gomez St No 208 | Between Berenguer & Yanes St, Santa Clara 50100, Cuba
Region: Caribbean > Cuba > Villa Clara Province > Santa Clara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Clara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We rent apartment with total privacy in a second level with 80m2, just 350metros Square Park 50 metres Vidal and El Carmen, where they founded the city of Santa Clara in Cuba.We rent luxury suite with all amenities including a terrace Semitech with sofas, chairs, plain water, stereo From here you can enjoy a panoramic view of the city in its four cardinal points. The apartment is for four people, we have a double bed and two other space personal apartments. The apartment is equipped with new air conditioning, two closets for clothing, two single beds and a camera with all the bedding and towels, televisions 29 pulg. stereo, extra size refrigerator, complete kitchen, dining room set, colonial 10 plazas. Hot water the 24 hours. Box security .The room rate included City Map Tour guide Welcome cocktail Up to 15minutes of internet access. Bicycle and motorcycle parking National Phone ServiceAnd we offer the following services Breakfasts, dinners and snacks 24 hours. Cuban and international cuisine. Cocktail bar, International telephone service, Internet access more than 15 minutes, car parking, laundry, massage therapy and dance classes. Taxi service, Pick up at the airport for half the price. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing