We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun spot with a good view for sunset”

DOOlittle's restaurant + bar
Ranked #7 of 17 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Price range: US$8 - US$37
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: DOOlittle's restaurant + bar aims to create a menu that pleases all palates with locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients creating a reciprocal partnership with the island's farmers and food suppliers. Our menu reflects international selections infused with a Saint Lucian twist and cooking methods. Our philosophy is to create a dining experience that provides delicious food served by professionals who share the love for gathering around a table and enjoying one's company over food and drink.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun spot with a good view for sunset”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Has a good happy hour and good food. I saw the fish stew on the menu knew that was what I was going to have. It was fabulous Two at our table had the steak special and said it was average. Another friend had the Mahi Mahi and said it was the best he'd had. The service was great. Btw you take a taxi to the restaurant from the doc. The owner greeted us as we came into the bar. Very friendly and casual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

691 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    172
    199
    154
    91
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, NY
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited Doolittle's several times during our recent 10-day stay at Oasis Marigot, having at least one breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and several evenings of drinks.

The menu did not "wow" us--it's fairly standard fare for St. Lucia and not particularly inventive, but in all cases, we found the food and drink to be of good quality and satisfying. In particular, I loved the "fish and chips"; they are not the standard fish and chips, but very tasty.

The service was on par with other locations, and we have no complaints.

The open-air bar/lounge is very interesting and can be relaxing: comfortable soft sofas and pool-tables. It felt like a club "back home", but with two sides open to lovely Marigot Bay.

Our only complaint was the music: At every visit, all we heard was 60's and 70's era rock and roll. After a while, it was, honestly, a bit tiring. Toss in a bit of island music here and there, David!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ate at Doolittle's last night, with high hopes as the restaurant is in a beautiful location and the menu has many dishes which sound delicious. It was interesting to meet the owner David before our food arrived, and he seemed a nice chap too. However, the food was very disappointing and the service left a lot to be desired, such a pity, made all the more so when the bill arrived. It's been our most expensive meal in St Lucia and easily the worst! Maybe the chef had a night off or something? Our waitress was delightfully friendly but didn't know about dishes on the menu. To have two calamari starters served five to six minutes apart was bizarre, the kids drinks came 10 minutes or so before our wine. My grilled scallops and greens were tiny, maybe it was one sliced into three, served with lettuce and onion. My chicken breast in a white wine sauce with a medley of seasonal vegetables, was in fact also served with lettuce and onion plus rice and tasted suspiciously like it had been prepared with a Batchelor's Cook-in-Sauce. Shame! Best part of the evening was taking the ferry boat across with lovely friendly Dwight and seeing the kids swinging on a rope round a palm tree, on the beach outside and frolicking in the waves in the moonlight. Buck up Doolittle's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMaria444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at DOOlittle's restaurant + bar, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am sorry that you did not have the expected service you were craving. I was present that evening and saw nothing that was disturbing. you were sitting at the waters edge behind me so i had the perfect position of seeing both your food and service.
I think that , as a lot of tourists do, that they believe everything in the Caribbean is cheap! Scallops all over the world are expensive and one would not expect a bowl full and especially not for $18-00. in fact we have now taken that item off the menu because of the high price of purchasing the scallops.
Quite simple about the juices coming first and your children getting served first, and that is the soft drinks are served by the waitress and the wine is served from the bar and if the barman is serving someone already then it would cause a small delay. i can assure you that we do not use bachelors cook in sauce ( shame on you for suggesting it ) we have an open planned glass Kitchen and ALL can be seen , maybe i could take it as a compliment if i thought you were the kind of person who handed out compliments, touche ! certainly not the most expensive in fact we are very competitive and a lot cheaper unless you were eating on the beach. ! No Madam i dont think my chef had an OFF day ( 35 years in the trade and ex Sandals ) could it possibly be that it was you that had the off day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful atmosphere and food”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Beautiful view of the bay. The restaurant has a great lounge with pool tables and a family atmosphere. I was hesitant to go to Doolittle's because of some of the reviews I read. As far as prices, it really isn't that bad and you are on an island so things tend to be more expensive. We ate at Doolittle's 7 times while we were staying in Marigot Bay. Every one of our meals were great! The fish was fresh, the breakfast was delicious, we ordered lunch one day and took it out to the beach to eat. We spent one evening there dancing to the band, drinking rum punch and playing pool. The owner spoke to us a few times and was very nice. Bonus: Pepsi the black lab is a sweetheart.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Republic, Maryland
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great location to relax and enjoy a leisurely meal or drinks.”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed this spot. They gladly accommodated our son's guide dog, Nonnie, who enjoyed meeting the owner's easy going Labrador retriever, Pepsi. Wonderful, relaxing atmosphere in an idyllic location. The food was good as was the service. I recognize that some folks have made comments about the speed of the service. If u like being rushed through a meal so they can turn over the table to the next customer then this place, and most places in the region, may not be for you. Relax and enjoy the chance to slow it down with a front row seat in paradise!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kwrichmond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DOOlittle's restaurant + bar also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to DOOlittle's restaurant + bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing