We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK dinner....bad service...don't be misled” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DOOlittle's restaurant + bar

DOOlittle's restaurant + bar
Ranked #9 of 17 Restaurants in Marigot Bay
Price range: US$8 - US$37
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Bar, Seafood, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Buffet, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: DOOlittle's restaurant + bar aims to create a menu that pleases all palates with locally sourced, seasonal and sustainable ingredients creating a reciprocal partnership with the island's farmers and food suppliers. Our menu reflects international selections infused with a Saint Lucian twist and cooking methods. Our philosophy is to create a dining experience that provides delicious food served by professionals who share the love for gathering around a table and enjoying one's company over food and drink.
Nazareth, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“OK dinner....bad service...don't be misled”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

Once ferried over to this little island, we were weary from traveling and ate dinner at Doolittles. The dinner was mixed.

Roasted pumpkin soup while plentiful lacked any hint of pumkin and had no flavor whatsoever. Also sampled was the tomato, eggplant and goat cheese brushetta. This was fresh and flavorful.
Dinners were Doolittle's Jerk salmon. Salmon was cooked well and served with tasty fruit salsa. Jasmine rice was soft and flavored with small pieces of carrots and tiny peas.
My husband had Three Peppercorn Marlin and enjoyed.
Baby back ribs were my oldest daughter's choice and fell off the bone. Other daughter had Creamy Linguini with shrimp which was good. Desserts were great. VERY EXPENSIVE.....$267 US with one drink each.

Here's where it went horribly wrong. next morning we were asked what room we were in and told continental breakfast was included. We chose off that menu due to that fact. meal was one egg, a piece of toast and some small wedges of fruit. When done, the brought us a check with $84 US dollars!!!! Turns out waitress was new and misinformed. We could have ordered off of the regular menu and it would have been cheaper though still prices.

Argued with manager(?) who had to make at least 3 phone calls to someone else. The whole time, being eaten alive by the mosquitos that infest this resort. Were given back $20

so beware....extremely expensive and we had better meals in Rodney Bay later in the week.

Do Have to say it was a nice atmosphere. Outside on the water. Tranquil and lovely.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Danalli4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at DOOlittle's restaurant + bar, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Madam
I am sorry but you should check your invoices. and in fact the breakfast was included in your room price but get guests to sign for stock taking purposes YOU WERE NOT CHARGED YOU WERE COMPED .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    178
    141
    87
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good area to view green spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We were staying at oasis marigot for our third visit during the football final went every night for happy hour (5-7)
We always found Dave the owner and his great guard dog very friendly and great humour also,very generous especially
Football final week every table was suppled free of charge popcorn and monkey nuts.
We ate there on our first night for dinner food was ok however the Calamari was superb I could have eaten this every day.
The staff were very good even the barman served us at our table.
All the waitress were good especially in the heat it was quite humid. one in particular it was her first night and she did very well.
I love the water taxi to get on the island.
We had a great holiday helped by Dave and his staff.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank avril51sunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
203 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Fun spot with a good view for sunset”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

Has a good happy hour and good food. I saw the fish stew on the menu knew that was what I was going to have. It was fabulous Two at our table had the steak special and said it was average. Another friend had the Mahi Mahi and said it was the best he'd had. The service was great. Btw you take a taxi to the restaurant from the doc. The owner greeted us as we came into the bar. Very friendly and casual.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rose W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Give it a try!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We visited Doolittle's several times during our recent 10-day stay at Oasis Marigot, having at least one breakfast, lunch, and dinner, and several evenings of drinks.

The menu did not "wow" us--it's fairly standard fare for St. Lucia and not particularly inventive, but in all cases, we found the food and drink to be of good quality and satisfying. In particular, I loved the "fish and chips"; they are not the standard fish and chips, but very tasty.

The service was on par with other locations, and we have no complaints.

The open-air bar/lounge is very interesting and can be relaxing: comfortable soft sofas and pool-tables. It felt like a club "back home", but with two sides open to lovely Marigot Bay.

Our only complaint was the music: At every visit, all we heard was 60's and 70's era rock and roll. After a while, it was, honestly, a bit tiring. Toss in a bit of island music here and there, David!

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vicnroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We ate at Doolittle's last night, with high hopes as the restaurant is in a beautiful location and the menu has many dishes which sound delicious. It was interesting to meet the owner David before our food arrived, and he seemed a nice chap too. However, the food was very disappointing and the service left a lot to be desired, such a pity, made all the more so when the bill arrived. It's been our most expensive meal in St Lucia and easily the worst! Maybe the chef had a night off or something? Our waitress was delightfully friendly but didn't know about dishes on the menu. To have two calamari starters served five to six minutes apart was bizarre, the kids drinks came 10 minutes or so before our wine. My grilled scallops and greens were tiny, maybe it was one sliced into three, served with lettuce and onion. My chicken breast in a white wine sauce with a medley of seasonal vegetables, was in fact also served with lettuce and onion plus rice and tasted suspiciously like it had been prepared with a Batchelor's Cook-in-Sauce. Shame! Best part of the evening was taking the ferry boat across with lovely friendly Dwight and seeing the kids swinging on a rope round a palm tree, on the beach outside and frolicking in the waves in the moonlight. Buck up Doolittle's!

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank AnnaMaria444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at DOOlittle's restaurant + bar, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
I am sorry that you did not have the expected service you were craving. I was present that evening and saw nothing that was disturbing. you were sitting at the waters edge behind me so i had the perfect position of seeing both your food and service.
I think that , as a lot of tourists do, that they believe everything in the Caribbean is cheap! Scallops all over the world are expensive and one would not expect a bowl full and especially not for $18-00. in fact we have now taken that item off the menu because of the high price of purchasing the scallops.
Quite simple about the juices coming first and your children getting served first, and that is the soft drinks are served by the waitress and the wine is served from the bar and if the barman is serving someone already then it would cause a small delay. i can assure you that we do not use bachelors cook in sauce ( shame on you for suggesting it ) we have an open planned glass Kitchen and ALL can be seen , maybe i could take it as a compliment if i thought you were the kind of person who handed out compliments, touche ! certainly not the most expensive in fact we are very competitive and a lot cheaper unless you were eating on the beach. ! No Madam i dont think my chef had an OFF day ( 35 years in the trade and ex Sandals ) could it possibly be that it was you that had the off day .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed DOOlittle's restaurant + bar also viewed

Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
Marigot Bay, Castries Quarter
 

Been to DOOlittle's restaurant + bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing