We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!”
Review of Mango Beach Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mango Beach Inn
Ranked #3 of 7 Marigot Bay B&B and Inns
Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a fantastic 3 nights at the Mango Beach Inn (we wish there had been more.....) It is not only located in a beautiful bay but you also get one of the best view of it from the Inn. We stayed at the Sunshine room which was lovely! Since it is located by the reception had a really good Internet connection. The Harbour room was amazing. They view from it is simple spectacular. It was so nice to have a tasty breakfast there every morning, windows open, little birds coming in and out... It was always available, so we could enjoy it anytime. The swimming pool is a plus, to enjoy after the beach or after a day out and you still get the bay views. We did the trek up the hill. It is worthy but not an easy one, you had to be fit. We went up from the Mango and down towards Oasis Hotel which was less stiff. Judith is a really nice woman who loves her work and the Island. She gave us really good ideas. She suggested us to rent a car which we did for a day. It turned out to be the cheapest and most enjoyable way to visit Souffriere, we saw what we wanted and stayed as long as we wanted. Highly recommended. Judith also recommended us a nearby beach which we reached after 15 walk, we were on our own for most of the morning, so romantic. Overall we love the Mango Beach Inn and we would come back if we go back to St Lucia.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank pablines
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2014

Thanks to you both for this lovely review! We always recommend that our guests rent a car for part of their visit because it is such an easy way to see the island and much cheaper than taking taxis all the time. We can recommend some really reliable and helpful car rental companies. There's a lot to see and do in St Lucia!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (222)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

75 - 81 of 222 reviews

Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed for a full week at this wonderful inn in the middle of March 2014. Before, during and after our stay Judith was unbelievably helpful with information, tips, suggestions, etc. about restaurants, sites, tours, timing, customs, etc., etc. She really made us feel like we were part of the family. John, Marie, Melissa (M&M) and Kiki and the dogs (Lady and Belle) were all extremely friendly and all added to making our stay truly memorable! The breakfast room up on the second floor has a splendid view of Marigot Bay and it is intimate enough that it is relatively easy to mix and mingle with other inn guests. Judith introduced us to the taxi driver, Curtis, who drove us all over the island. This way we visited almost every site worth visiting and Curtis would wait for us while we visited restaurants, festivals, beaches, etc. and then drive us back.
We will definitely be staying at Mango Bay Inn again when we return to St. Lucia!

Room Tip: The Green Fig Room (Fig means banana in the local Patois language.) is really nice because it has a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CosmicImp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for writing this lovely review. And for entertaining us all at breakfast time - breakfast in the Harbour room is usually fun thanks to the Mango Beach Dream Team (the M&Ms) but the writers of this review were elected honorary members of the M&Ms and we hope they come back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Thanks to Judith and John for making our stay at the mango beach so wonderful. We stayed there with our two children (aged 2 and 4) and were made to feel so welcome from the moment we arrived. The breakfast room is wonderful - fabulous views and great breakfast. The beach was great and our children loved the pool for a cooling dip. We had a delicious meal at the Rainforest cafe too. One of the highlights of our stay at The Mango Beach was our boat trip to Soufriere.. We visited the volcano and botanical gardens, had a delicious lunch onboard and went snorkelling off the boat. Definitely the stuff memories are made off.

Marigot bay itself is beautiful - great restaurants all around the bay. Even the little ferry that takes you across the bay was great. On one trip when we had the boat to ourselves, the ferry man let my 4 year old drive.... He was so happy.

We will definitely return to The Mango Beach.

Thanks for a wonderful few days x

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rebecca N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

This was another of our visiting families who had fun - the children loved everything and we loved having them around. There's enough space at Mango Beach for families, couples and older guests to happily holiday without disturbing each other at all.

Thanks for the review, Rebecca - we missed you all when you left!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at Mango Beach Inn! Judith and John were fantastic hosts and made us feel special and welcome. The Inn has a very relaxed, home away from home feel which was only made better by their two sweet dogs, Lady and Belle. There is a beautiful great room to enjoy breakfast in or just relax and take in the stunning view. The Rainforest Hideaway served us the best meal we had in St. Lucia with the most romantic atmosphere you could imagine! Would highly recommend the hiking trail behind the Inn for a great workout and gorgeous view of the Bay.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allymac9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you! Lady and Belle enjoy meeting visitors but they only say hello if they are introduced or invited. Guests who don't like dogs will hardly notice them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

The Mango Beach Inn was the perfect end to a sailing trip that my wife and I took. The hospitality was top notch and the Rainforest Hideaway served amazing food with a great atmosphere. Judith was wonderful and welcoming, she also provided invaluable advice on taxi services - water and land. We will be coming back for another stay with out a doubt.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josh T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

We have a lot of guests who are topping or tailing sailing trips (sometimes both). IT's nice to spend a few days on dry land after being afloat for a while! You can sit in the Harbour Room having breakfast and watch your boat arriving or departing - and a lot of other boats as well. Some famous, some small, it's a constantly moving nautical landscape!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Just returned from the most beautiful setting at The Mango Beach Inn! The hosts, Judith and John were most gracious. Close to fine dining. Dinner at the Rainforest was exceptional.
The location was between popular destination. Reasonable rates with all necessary amenities.
Many activities on site or near by. Look elsewhere if interested in large, all inclusive resort
vacation. Definitely in our plans to return....

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TMT1355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

Thank you for the review - we are looking forward to seeing you again and of course we have discounts and special offers for returning guests!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Mango Beach Inn is Marigot Bay little gem. The inn has stunning views on the bay, and it feels so cosy and relaxed that you will never want to leave.
We had the courtyard room, and although it was not very big, it has the advantage of being very closed to the Harbour room: this incredible room can be used at any time. We spent hours there playing games (good selection of board games available from reception, useful on rainy days), reading, drinking John's rum punch, and having delicious breakfast.
John and Judith were fantastic host, and Marie a great manager.
The pool is a good addition to the inn, although we did not use it that much because the beach is just a two minute walk from the inn!
Try the trail going up behind the inn and down back to the beach. A little adventure!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank celine m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mangobeach, Owner at Mango Beach Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2014

So glad you enjoyed staying with us!

We do have two smaller rooms (and they are obviously cheaper) but all our rooms have private bathrooms and four out of five of them also have air conditioning.

Mango Beach Inn is a charming old building, made of stone from the hillside behind and it wasn't designed to be an inn so it doesn't have uniformly shaped and size bedrooms. However, we have good plumbing and electricity, comfortable beds, a beautiful garden and stunning views!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
0.1 mi away
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
0.1 mi away
Oasis Marigot
Oasis Marigot
#3 of 4 in Marigot Bay
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Marigot Palms Luxury Caribbean Guesthouse and Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
7.4 mi away
La Haut Resort
La Haut Resort
#1 of 9 in Soufriere
451 reviews
0.6 mi away
Nature's Paradise
Nature's Paradise
#2 of 7 in Marigot Bay
279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mango Beach Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mango Beach Inn

Address: North Side, Marigot Bay MB2009, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 B&Bs / Inns in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £115 - £180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mango Beach Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic, rustic, ramshackle inn, on Marigot Bay waterfront. Clean, good plumbing, in "the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean (James Michener)". En-suite bathrooms, AC, TV, fridges, tea & coffee. Breakfast anytime. Stunning harbour views, pool, gazebo, barbecue area, private patios and lush tropical gardens. 1 minute from sandy swimming beach. Restaurant. Great choice of restaurants, bars, spas, shopping, sailing, watersports, diving, and nature trails a few minutes walk away. Children welcome, babysitting available. King size beds in two rooms and the third room has a four poster queen size plus a childrens room adjoining. Most rooms can convert to singles and add extra child beds. 2 friendly dogs & 2 cats. Only accessable by the free ferry (24 hours a day in season) 2 minute ride across the bay. Free parking by the ferry dock, car hire, taxis and water taxis available. Not suitable for with visual impairment or mobility problems. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Mango Beach Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mango Beach Hotel Marigot Bay

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing