We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gorgeous setting, very pleasant room, boat rental on site” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Gorgeous setting, very pleasant room, boat rental on site”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

Having stayed here once in the '80s I was eager to bring my wife here for the first time. We were not disappointed. The small commercial area across from the hotel (where the small ferry embarks for the short ride across the harbor entrance) now has a nice market and of particular note, a dockside restaurant offering meals and snacks all day at very reasonable prices as an alternative to Dolittle's at the hotel and the much higher priced Rainforest Restaurant a short walk through the mangroves from Marigot Beach.

We rented a Hobie Cat for a 24-hour day and enjoyed sailing both within the harbor and up and down the coastline for a couple of miles each way on three occasions.

The only complaint (the sole reason for a less than excellent sleep quality rating) was having to sleep on an ancient, rock-hard mattress which at first the staff maintained was brand new. Removing the mattress pad revealed its age, and ultimately the staff apologized as we checked out. I mentioned that I had written several reviews for TripAdvisor and they asked that I not mention the mattress. Sorry, but I'm not going to risk TripAdvisor's or my own integrity here. Given the general level of attentiveness, I'd have to assume they're going to take care of this soon although the recent review by "maggymolly" ("OK hotel with a nice view) seems to have encountered a similar mattress problem.

If you walk towards the Rainforest Restaurant along the boardwalk within the mangroves east of the hotel, you can reach a trail up hill past another small B&B establishment and from there up a steep (with rope assists) path to a ridge trail which gives great views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Walking along the ridge westward you get to an overlook just past the intersection of an easier trail leading back down to the upper reaches of the Marigot Beach property (all condos) and the tram which runs from just above the restaurant. (A much easier route to the overlook.)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smaller and at a lower level than the remainder of the accommodations as best I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    132
    126
    37
    33
    27
See reviews for
43
187
22
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful day at the Marigot Beach Club. We were on a week long cruise in the Caribbean and we chose to spend the day at this resort. This was the third time we chose to spend our one day on St. Lucia here. The beach, pool and restaurant are consistently great with friendly service, there is no cost to take advantage of the beach and the Marigot Bay is one of the most beautiful sights throughout the entire Caribbean.
We have never stayed at this hotel so this review does not include the rooms. If you are on a cruise ship, it is very easy to take a taxi from the pier to the resort. There is a very short ferry ride to the resort once the taxi drops you off but the ferry is run by the resort and there is no charge.
You must try the Pina Coladas here, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ZacandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi Zacandcar,
Thank you for making here one of your best stops in St. Lucia. We are happy to accommodate guests from everywhere even if they may not be staying at our hotel. We thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us soon again.


ML
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
petersburg, va
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, this place could be great. We requested lower level with kitchen, and that is what we got. Unit was very tiny, and there is a reason they don't really show 'kitchen' in their pictures. It is like being in a tiny camper. The 'kitchen' consists of a double hot plate, and the lighting is terrible. Knives very dull, and when we asked to borrow one from kitchen, they chased me down later that morning because the chef needed it. Seriously, the poor chef only had that one little knife. There is plenty of storage, and the bathroom had a nice shower, and hot water was never a problem. The a/c was fine although it needs a key to run which is attached to your room key. It was hot so we just separated the two keys. While the room was very charming, it was the smallest place we have ever stayed. Two people could not pass without squeezing. We had to invent our own way to leave the suitcases open and live out of for the things we couldn't hang up. We had a corner unit which was gave us better breezes on the veranda. If not for the veranda, we would have gone crazy in the tiny space. The bed was very uncomfortable, and we didn't sleep. Learned later that we should ask for different mattress. They let us check out the room next door, and wanted us to move our stuff, but we got them to just exchange mattresses. If 1 is soft, and 10 is hard, our first one was -5, and the replacement was a 15! The hard one was better than the mushy one, but still very unconfortable. Because we tossed and turned all night we had to listen to the loudy squeaky bed. No fault of the resort, but the tree frogs at night will drive you crazy. I had to fold up a shirt and put it over my head to muffle the racket. There is also a large light that shines right into this room, but it does go out later. They sell ear plugs in the store across the way for a reason.
The pool is ok, but not very big, but the bay is right there.
As you know, you must take a little ferry to get there. You park in a very rough, pot hole parking lot with huge piles of smelly garbage, and it is dark. Then you walk down a steep street to catch the ferry which looks like it has been through a war or two. The day driver was very prompt, but the night time driver was often busy on his cell phone and we had to wait to get picked up. Sometimes a driver of a different boat took pity on us standing there so long in the rain, and took us across, but we felt obligated to tip him since it wasn't his job. Several days the ferry was broken, and a different one would pick you up, but often had to make other stops. On the last day, it was still broken, and we had to haul our luggage across the beach to get picked up by the other one.
All the staff we encountered was really polite and helpful. Thanks Yellow and Suzanne, and the girl in charge of our room whose name I don't remember.
The food at the restaurant was fine, but like others have said doesn't change if you are there for any length of time, but we went elsewhere when we could.
People have said the beach was small, but we found it to be just fine. Who needs a huge beach? Yellow would always bring chairs for us when we went down to the beach.
Internet is available only near the office and the restaurant, and sometimes didn't work, but we were on an island after all. We were lucky in #54 because it was right above the office, and we could usually get internet on the veranda, and sometimes in bed. Some days I could even get connected on the beach.
Remember to take your chargers and devices with you when you are in the restaurant so they can get charged.
Because of the storm the bay was very clowdy, and not good for snorkeling, but seemed to be clearing up nicely when we left. It was fun to watch the huge yachts and tiny boats coming and going all the time.

Room Tip: Resort is on a steep hill so if steps are an issue, ask for a lower unit. Corner is better for vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank maggymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trinidad
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Food were delicious also. Overall it was a nice experience and the people were very helpful. Location was ideal. Lovely restaurants in the surroundings. Catamaran cruise and tree top zips lining is a must do in St Lucia lol.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank shameer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Front Office Manager at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 14 February 2014
Hi Shameer M,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us :)
We are pleased to know that you both had a great time and that your expectations were met.
Thanks for choosing our resort to celebrate your honeymoon. On behalf of team MBC we join in wishing you both all the best.
We look forward to having you join us again sometime in the near future.


Best wishes,
ML
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014

My wife and myself stayed in Marigot beach club last December 2013, and i must say it was terrific. We had a really lovely room with tropical flowers on the bed when we arrived, and invited to complementary rum punches, so we could chill out after a long journey from the UK. The staff were really friendly especially the barman Glen, who was really entertaining and made everyone welcome to his bar. The rooms were kept very clean and fully serviced each morning .Staff were very helpful when we required information on what to do on island, also introduced us to all the local tours and how to get about, which made our stay so pleasant.The owner who is generally around during happy hour , made himself known to all guests ,and asked if they had any problems that he could attend to, but we never heard a complaint during our entire stay in his lovely hotel situated in what i can only describe as Paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in the panoramic rooms which are fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kingshead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 12 March 2014
Dear Valued Guests,
:) Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It gives us great pleasure to know that you have enjoyed your short vacation. We wish you all he best and we trust that you would choose our resort should you decide to vacation in St. Lucia again.


Best Wishes,
M.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

And that expectation was met.
All the issues with the room were not worth troubling the owner/manager with as they couldn't have been rectified within the period of our stay. And reading his unspeakably rude retorts to previous negative TA reviews I didn't want to encounter his wroth and spoil my experience of the fantastic idillic location. Two to three full days labour, plumber and builder would have sorted our room. Clearly that's never going to happen during the period of our stay.
Please go and enjoy this breathtaking, unique location, but be prepared for rooms in need of a serious overhaul.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank wingdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
After literally crawling on our hands and knees we finally recognized your very zoomed in macro image of building debris (plaster and a paint spot) and it was only after contacting you and your giving us a diagram that we located the macro detail .Indeed the mirror 3 inches X 5 inches ( 1 year old ) which was clean but was flaking behind ( since removed ) and the 1 inch plug had minor rust markings ( since changed) Do not kid yourself that you are encouraging guests with the publication of your grossly exaggerated pictures and remarks of taking days to fix when in fact all was done in a matter of minutes. The room was a redecoration and you were the first guest. I really cannot understand that (a) you did not report this and get us to rectify it (b) you did not ask for a room change if it bothered you so much ( which it obviously didn’t as it could hardly be seen, it wasn’t flagged because it wasn’t seen because it was so tiny ) amazing what cameras can do these days isn’t it. It therefore brings to my attention WHY ? what do you gain by this undeniable pedantism that obviously satisfies you. Trying to destroy businesses rep over such minor details. The pipe you are referring to just clips back in place, I guess some guests like swinging on it :) .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2014

I travelled solo to Marigot Bay in Dec 2013 for 7 nights staying in a deluxe Grande studio. The website gives the impression that the resort was well maintained and offers several different healthy life style exercises such as yoga, pilates, etc. On arriving, I was informed there was no such exercises and for the 7 nights I was there, there was no option to attend such classes (which the website claimed to have continuously – a bit like the sunset cruise option that never eventuated).

On initial impressions, the Grande studio looked very comfortable however, looking a little closer it was obvious that no one had bothered to clean the studio for quite some time. Adding to this, the shower barely worked and I had to request bath towels for 2 days once the shower was fixed. In the 7 nights I stayed there, my room was not vacuumed once.

Food at Marigot is alright if you can get it. I had to ask 5 times for a menu on my first attempt at dining at Doolittle’s and was given a death stare every time I asked for something (like a menu or a drink).

The staff in reception were equally as unhelpful and unfriendly as the restaurant staff and seemed to have an excuse for everything, mostly resulting in me being the one who misunderstood the situation or was wrong.

Finally, the beach outside the Marigot Beach Club plays host to a group of weed smoking locals (you can smell it a mile off) who are more than happy to harass hotel guests both on the beach and while guests are trying to enjoy tanning time by the resort pool or eating in the bar/restaurant without the resort staff paying any attention to guests being made to feel uncomfortable by beach boys requesting drinks be bought for them on guests accounts.

I have had the opportunity to travel the world and have stayed in an array of accommodation from back packers to a 6 star hotel and have to say that I will never stay in Marigot Beach Club and would highly recommend staying elsewhere if you are visiting the beautiful St Lucia.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jenna A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.8 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 896 reviews
9.0 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,003 reviews
0.3 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
9.2 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#3 of 6 in Rodney Bay
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,592 reviews
6.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Property: Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotelopia, Agoda, Hotels.com, West Indies and Odigeo so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing