We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just returned from a week at Marigot beach club. We were a party of 6 including two children ages 8 and 11. We really had a a fantastic time. I will admit I was nervous before coming to the resort due to all of the negative reviews. If you are looking for huge 5 star resort, this is not the resort for you. The resort is small and very island like. The size of the resort makes is great for kids and adults. The staff was very family friendly. Our villa was perfect and the view of the bay was stunning. Doolittles has a great bar and is very fun for happy hour nightly. There are several great restaurants on the bay and all accessible by ferry. The food at all of the restaurants was very good. The ferry's run continually so you never really have to wait for more than 5 minutes. The bay was absolutely beautiful and both the guests and the staff at this resort were great.

The only negatives were the locals on the beaches continually trying to get you to buy things (but that happens on a lot of islands) and the restaurants on St. Lucia are pretty pricey.

We did the ziplining, snorkeling, and went to Rodney Bay Beach. The island has so many great features and fun things to do.

All in all we had a great trip. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Shellyrmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello Family Muhugh,
:) What a pity your vacation wasn't longer! We are pleased to know that your expectation was met many times over. We did enjoy having your family vacation with us and are thankful that you have chosen us.
All the best to you and we do hope that you will vacation with us next time around.


XXX
M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2014

Surrounded by water, this is the only resort in Marigot with nightlife well into the evening. David, the owner, and his dog, Pepsi, make you feel like you have arrived home, as does Glenn, the bartender, Sam, the masseuse (female), and everyone else who works here.
Don't worry about it being on the island,accessible only by boat. It is two minutes across, and it runs all the time (you can even swim it). Everyone from the mainland hotels come here at night and sunsets should not be missed. Taxis are ever present when the boat docks, and Curtis was our own guide for the week - we just text him when we were coming over.

Great beaches, great weather, great people

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank StaceyR07760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Stacey,
You were a wondeful guest. We enjoyed having you with us. We are happy you had a great vacation here in St. Lucia and Marigot Beach Club. Thanks for reviewing your experience and we do hope you will make us your number one choice should you choose to vacation in St. Lucia again in the near future.

Take good care and best wishes to you.
M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Was almost put off staying here after the reading bad reviews, and more importantly the comments left by the owner in response to them! (Seriously, have a look SO scathing and unprofessional!)

Nevertheless we stayed for 2 nights and it is truly beautiful and the resort is lovely, rooms themselves perfectly fine.

However just a couple of things stopped it being perfect - the terrible restaurant service (waited an hour for starters, they forgot our drinks entirely). Tried to order last happy hour drinks at 7pm and told very bluntly we were too late. Staff couldn't be bothered to fetch beach towels or help out with small requests like extra pillows.

Overall this resort is the best placed in marigot bay, but lets itself down a bit on going the extra mile!

Also tip to the owner - I wouldn't respond to negative trip advisor reviews with such brutal comments abusing your customers, you'll just put potential customers off staying with you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caro-ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Caro ds . you were not man enough to complain to either the food and beverage director nor the supervisor nor the chef , nor the general manager , nor the owner. I have spent my life caring for visitors well being! you could have approached many members of my team to complain about your problems and get them rectified ;) a sympathetic ear, free meal, bottle of wine , apologies etc , but instead you chose to hide behind you fictitious name as a cowardly weak person and join the list of liars who just want to destroy businesses and peoples livelihood. is it no wonder that you get my irritated but truthful replies ? . Just to let you know that I fired 3 of my staff on the back of your email, hope you feel good about that ! see I do listen, hope you do too. these staff have children, mothers, and other family and it really is not easy to get jobs here with 25 percent unemployment. have a nice day ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Having stayed here once in the '80s I was eager to bring my wife here for the first time. We were not disappointed. The small commercial area across from the hotel (where the small ferry embarks for the short ride across the harbor entrance) now has a nice market and of particular note, a dockside restaurant offering meals and snacks all day at very reasonable prices as an alternative to Dolittle's at the hotel and the much higher priced Rainforest Restaurant a short walk through the mangroves from Marigot Beach.

We rented a Hobie Cat for a 24-hour day and enjoyed sailing both within the harbor and up and down the coastline for a couple of miles each way on three occasions.

The only complaint (the sole reason for a less than excellent sleep quality rating) was having to sleep on an ancient, rock-hard mattress which at first the staff maintained was brand new. Removing the mattress pad revealed its age, and ultimately the staff apologized as we checked out. I mentioned that I had written several reviews for TripAdvisor and they asked that I not mention the mattress. Sorry, but I'm not going to risk TripAdvisor's or my own integrity here. Given the general level of attentiveness, I'd have to assume they're going to take care of this soon although the recent review by "maggymolly" ("OK hotel with a nice view) seems to have encountered a similar mattress problem.

If you walk towards the Rainforest Restaurant along the boardwalk within the mangroves east of the hotel, you can reach a trail up hill past another small B&B establishment and from there up a steep (with rope assists) path to a ridge trail which gives great views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Walking along the ridge westward you get to an overlook just past the intersection of an easier trail leading back down to the upper reaches of the Marigot Beach property (all condos) and the tram which runs from just above the restaurant. (A much easier route to the overlook.)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smaller and at a lower level than the remainder of the accommodations as best I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Yes, we have taken care of the mattresses. We await your soonest arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful day at the Marigot Beach Club. We were on a week long cruise in the Caribbean and we chose to spend the day at this resort. This was the third time we chose to spend our one day on St. Lucia here. The beach, pool and restaurant are consistently great with friendly service, there is no cost to take advantage of the beach and the Marigot Bay is one of the most beautiful sights throughout the entire Caribbean.
We have never stayed at this hotel so this review does not include the rooms. If you are on a cruise ship, it is very easy to take a taxi from the pier to the resort. There is a very short ferry ride to the resort once the taxi drops you off but the ferry is run by the resort and there is no charge.
You must try the Pina Coladas here, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ZacandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Zacandcar,
Thank you for making here one of your best stops in St. Lucia. We are happy to accommodate guests from everywhere even if they may not be staying at our hotel. We thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us soon again.


ML

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, this place could be great. We requested lower level with kitchen, and that is what we got. Unit was very tiny, and there is a reason they don't really show 'kitchen' in their pictures. It is like being in a tiny camper. The 'kitchen' consists of a double hot plate, and the lighting is terrible. Knives very dull, and when we asked to borrow one from kitchen, they chased me down later that morning because the chef needed it. Seriously, the poor chef only had that one little knife. There is plenty of storage, and the bathroom had a nice shower, and hot water was never a problem. The a/c was fine although it needs a key to run which is attached to your room key. It was hot so we just separated the two keys. While the room was very charming, it was the smallest place we have ever stayed. Two people could not pass without squeezing. We had to invent our own way to leave the suitcases open and live out of for the things we couldn't hang up. We had a corner unit which was gave us better breezes on the veranda. If not for the veranda, we would have gone crazy in the tiny space. The bed was very uncomfortable, and we didn't sleep. Learned later that we should ask for different mattress. They let us check out the room next door, and wanted us to move our stuff, but we got them to just exchange mattresses. If 1 is soft, and 10 is hard, our first one was -5, and the replacement was a 15! The hard one was better than the mushy one, but still very unconfortable. Because we tossed and turned all night we had to listen to the loudy squeaky bed. No fault of the resort, but the tree frogs at night will drive you crazy. I had to fold up a shirt and put it over my head to muffle the racket. There is also a large light that shines right into this room, but it does go out later. They sell ear plugs in the store across the way for a reason.
The pool is ok, but not very big, but the bay is right there.
As you know, you must take a little ferry to get there. You park in a very rough, pot hole parking lot with huge piles of smelly garbage, and it is dark. Then you walk down a steep street to catch the ferry which looks like it has been through a war or two. The day driver was very prompt, but the night time driver was often busy on his cell phone and we had to wait to get picked up. Sometimes a driver of a different boat took pity on us standing there so long in the rain, and took us across, but we felt obligated to tip him since it wasn't his job. Several days the ferry was broken, and a different one would pick you up, but often had to make other stops. On the last day, it was still broken, and we had to haul our luggage across the beach to get picked up by the other one.
All the staff we encountered was really polite and helpful. Thanks Yellow and Suzanne, and the girl in charge of our room whose name I don't remember.
The food at the restaurant was fine, but like others have said doesn't change if you are there for any length of time, but we went elsewhere when we could.
People have said the beach was small, but we found it to be just fine. Who needs a huge beach? Yellow would always bring chairs for us when we went down to the beach.
Internet is available only near the office and the restaurant, and sometimes didn't work, but we were on an island after all. We were lucky in #54 because it was right above the office, and we could usually get internet on the veranda, and sometimes in bed. Some days I could even get connected on the beach.
Remember to take your chargers and devices with you when you are in the restaurant so they can get charged.
Because of the storm the bay was very clowdy, and not good for snorkeling, but seemed to be clearing up nicely when we left. It was fun to watch the huge yachts and tiny boats coming and going all the time.

Room Tip: Resort is on a steep hill so if steps are an issue, ask for a lower unit. Corner is better for vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear maggywolly,

Thank you for your review. We are now in 2017 and quite a few has changed. We have the most tranquil resort in St.Lucia. We await your soonest arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Food were delicious also. Overall it was a nice experience and the people were very helpful. Location was ideal. Lovely restaurants in the surroundings. Catamaran cruise and tree top zips lining is a must do in St Lucia lol.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shameer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Front Office Manager at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Shameer M,
Thank you for sharing your experience with us :)
We are pleased to know that you both had a great time and that your expectations were met.
Thanks for choosing our resort to celebrate your honeymoon. On behalf of team MBC we join in wishing you both all the best.
We look forward to having you join us again sometime in the near future.


Best wishes,
ML

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
10.2 mi away
Fond Doux Plantation & Resort
9.1 mi away
blu St Lucia
blu St Lucia
#6 of 13 in Gros Islet
474 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#3 of 13 in Gros Islet
2,188 reviews
7.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
8.6 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £87 - £184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, West Indies, Expedia, Holiday Gems, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing