We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Know before you go”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Reviewed 28 February 2014

We stayed in the 3 bedroom villa at Marigot Beach club with two other couples. I had my doubts about staying there after reading some of the reviews, but figured we could still make the best of it (which we did). We enjoy smaller hotels, being near the water, enjoy great Caribbean views,and especially Love St Lucia (which this place fulfilled). However, I truly rely on tripadvisor as I know a lot of you do, so I have to let you know the pros AND cons before you go.

It is truly in need of a renovation, Especially the 3 bedroom villa we stayed in. Bedroom 21A - air conditioner worked on and off (mostly off) for the first 3 days, they did fix it but then it was so noisy that we could not sleep with it on at night. The bathroom is so outdated- faucets that barely work, a mirror that is 6 feet off the ground, ripped and falling shower curtain,cabinets that did not shut properly, and a dilapidated old window shade. The sliding glass door curtain was so long and dirty at the bottom( like it had been stepped on and caught in the greasy door many times). The curtain rod was very corroded (yes it's humid, but it's no excuse). The chair cushion in our room was covered with white paint spots, and the curtain on the window behind it had rips in it. The matting in the wall pictures were even falling out of the picture. Many dust bunnies behind night stands and under bed. The bed was hard as a rock. In 21B- air conditioner broke, but was fixed. There was a huge nest of ants behind the shower faucets. When you showered the ants poured out into the tub- took 2 days for them to get rid of problem. This bathroom and 21C were also very outdated and in great despair.

The first night we got there, no one was available to give us keys for our room safes. I made the mistake of leaving my ipod in the night stand. The next morning while we were out for breakfast ,it disappeared. My fault...maybe...but reallly?!

So let's move onto the rest of the resort. Reception women were very rude and aloof. I tried to book a massage, but there was never anyone in there. So I finally asked Reception about it. They told me that there is only one spa person and if she is with a client she locks the door. I asked If I could book with them, no, only the spa gal makes the appointments. I gave up and went on with the rest of the day. (I was NEVER given an appointment). We never received our rum punch when we arrived or fruit tray that is promised in their brochure if you book for 7 nights. And if you are excited that you get a free sunset cruise, don't be. There is no cruise boat, or champagne. Its the owner and his small 8 passenger boat. Not terrible, after all it's free. But don't plan on anything romantic or fun.

I cannot write without complimenting the breakfast wait staff. The two gals that waited on us each day were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast was also very tasty.

I will finish up with the last but certainly not the least issue...the part where I am now missing part of my big toe. Yes, cut off....from the broken tiles in the pool! I slid into the pool (no I did not jump, as if that really makes a difference). I thought I stubbed my toe on something. I Got out of the pool and there hangs part of the end of my toe. Thank goodness my friend is a doctor, and that the bar staff was fast. They were able to cut the piece off, then bandage it up with some bandages my husband always packs and with some electrical tape from a fisherman. I knew I was going to need many more bandages for the week (this happened on our first day). I asked for stuff from reception, they said they would go to the store and get some bandages. They did not have them the next day, so we purchased some ourselves. It took 3 more days to get any bandages from them, and then the owner complained that I took too many!

I was very aware of the unprofessional and mean comments the owner puts here on tripadvisor, so I talked to the owner about all of these issues, and wrote him a note before we left. I received an email from him after we returned home. He had an excuse for all of the resort problems. I can let most of this go, (I am not a demanding or mean- spirited person). I can't however let the safety and well being of others be ignored The pool tile is very dangerous. I also saw another gal cut the bottom of her foot, while her husband picked up some of the broken tiles out of the pool. I told her to tell reception, but evidently never did. If they do not drain the pool and fix the tiles, please do not get in there, you cannot see the small step on the deck side of the pool, and you can certainly not see the broken tiles.

I have never had to write a poor review on tripadvisor before, We have always made sure we eat or stay at places with good reviews. The Marigot Beach Club was not my first choice, but there were others in the decision making process. So my advise to you is always go with your gut feeling, it it seems sketchy, do more and more research.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Kim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

This is the actual reply I gave this person in response to her letter

Dear Kim
I do hope that you all arrived home safely and came home to no snow. Thank you for your comments, some of which are correct and others I am afraid that you have either got wrong or misunderstood completely. I notice generally that you enjoyed your vacation and am pleased for that and that in the main my staff did their job well.
1. Your welcome rum punch is served at the bar and you should have asked for it and you would have received it , the room amenities are for full rate package, you were given a discounted rate which does not include welcome pack but you were given a “starter pack”.
2. The “sunset cruise “ You are talking about with champagne is $155 per couple, you received a “Complimentary cruise”
3. The therapist was busy with clients and from what I am told, you were getting impatient, I think that you will agree that if you were being massaged you would not want to be interrupted. You were given an appointment time of 4-00 pm but never showed up.
4. The ants were eradicated as soon as it was reported by you but apparently you reported some more from the same source and was dealt with immediately I am told.
5. Thank you for your compliments on the waitress staff.
6. The bandage seems to be a little “stretched” as it was supplied the day you jumped on the step, the buying staff who were asked to fetch some bandages forgot the order but came back the next day with a full box of first aid and left it for your total use. (TLC)
7. Your IPOD was stolen from your room because, against advice you took undesirables from the beach and we do not hold ourselves accountable, this is why we advise you store all your valuables in your safe to protect you as well as our staff. BTW there is an outstanding bill of $97.20 for the safes
8. The Fawcett ( checked by myself) did not appear to have any problems, it turned on and off perfectly well. Just checked it again to make sure. Bet yes it could do with a new one ( Noted) since been changed .
9. Just checked the new curtains and see no rips in them and shocked that you should tell me so, they are washed regularly and did not appear dirty at all. 10. Whilst the rods were corroded ( brass and the sea air) they were not rusted.
11. Checked the a/c for noise and found none, I did receive a report that the engineer went up 3 times as the settings were continually changed by you, necessitating its being reset.
12. Finally, we never got any reports of anyone else cutting their toes.

I have personally been to inspect all of your complaints ( TLC ) and the above replies are all I can do and I went with the room manager who agreed with me.

Again, I see that overall you enjoyed and I am thankful for that. Hope you will check us out again next year.

All the best.

David Shimeld.

your so called toe wound was minor and had it been as you have exaggerated , you would have been straight to the hospital for stitches. you openly admitted that it was your own fault as you had jumped onto the step. It was no more than a graze.

the curtains had some dye marks but not dirty, however they have since been changed. As has the tap, not necessary but we do actually listen.

as for mean spirited and demanding I am afraid that the staff would disagree as you were in the reception every 3 minutes. my saying that you had used too much bandage is an outright lie, nothing of the sort was said at any time.

getting an award of excellence is no mean feat and I would ask others to recognize this fact

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (390)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

191 - 197 of 390 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We just returned from a week at Marigot beach club. We were a party of 6 including two children ages 8 and 11. We really had a a fantastic time. I will admit I was nervous before coming to the resort due to all of the negative reviews. If you are looking for huge 5 star resort, this is not the resort for you. The resort is small and very island like. The size of the resort makes is great for kids and adults. The staff was very family friendly. Our villa was perfect and the view of the bay was stunning. Doolittles has a great bar and is very fun for happy hour nightly. There are several great restaurants on the bay and all accessible by ferry. The food at all of the restaurants was very good. The ferry's run continually so you never really have to wait for more than 5 minutes. The bay was absolutely beautiful and both the guests and the staff at this resort were great.

The only negatives were the locals on the beaches continually trying to get you to buy things (but that happens on a lot of islands) and the restaurants on St. Lucia are pretty pricey.

We did the ziplining, snorkeling, and went to Rodney Bay Beach. The island has so many great features and fun things to do.

All in all we had a great trip. I would absolutely recommend this hotel and location.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Shellyrmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hello Family Muhugh,
:) What a pity your vacation wasn't longer! We are pleased to know that your expectation was met many times over. We did enjoy having your family vacation with us and are thankful that you have chosen us.
All the best to you and we do hope that you will vacation with us next time around.


XXX
M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Surrounded by water, this is the only resort in Marigot with nightlife well into the evening. David, the owner, and his dog, Pepsi, make you feel like you have arrived home, as does Glenn, the bartender, Sam, the masseuse (female), and everyone else who works here.
Don't worry about it being on the island,accessible only by boat. It is two minutes across, and it runs all the time (you can even swim it). Everyone from the mainland hotels come here at night and sunsets should not be missed. Taxis are ever present when the boat docks, and Curtis was our own guide for the week - we just text him when we were coming over.

Great beaches, great weather, great people

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
4  Thank StaceyR07760
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Hi Stacey,
You were a wondeful guest. We enjoyed having you with us. We are happy you had a great vacation here in St. Lucia and Marigot Beach Club. Thanks for reviewing your experience and we do hope you will make us your number one choice should you choose to vacation in St. Lucia again in the near future.

Take good care and best wishes to you.
M.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Was almost put off staying here after the reading bad reviews, and more importantly the comments left by the owner in response to them! (Seriously, have a look SO scathing and unprofessional!)

Nevertheless we stayed for 2 nights and it is truly beautiful and the resort is lovely, rooms themselves perfectly fine.

However just a couple of things stopped it being perfect - the terrible restaurant service (waited an hour for starters, they forgot our drinks entirely). Tried to order last happy hour drinks at 7pm and told very bluntly we were too late. Staff couldn't be bothered to fetch beach towels or help out with small requests like extra pillows.

Overall this resort is the best placed in marigot bay, but lets itself down a bit on going the extra mile!

Also tip to the owner - I wouldn't respond to negative trip advisor reviews with such brutal comments abusing your customers, you'll just put potential customers off staying with you!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Caro-ds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Owner at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Caro ds . you were not man enough to complain to either the food and beverage director nor the supervisor nor the chef , nor the general manager , nor the owner. I have spent my life caring for visitors well being! you could have approached many members of my team to complain about your problems and get them rectified ;) a sympathetic ear, free meal, bottle of wine , apologies etc , but instead you chose to hide behind you fictitious name as a cowardly weak person and join the list of liars who just want to destroy businesses and peoples livelihood. is it no wonder that you get my irritated but truthful replies ? . Just to let you know that I fired 3 of my staff on the back of your email, hope you feel good about that ! see I do listen, hope you do too. these staff have children, mothers, and other family and it really is not easy to get jobs here with 25 percent unemployment. have a nice day ?

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2014

Having stayed here once in the '80s I was eager to bring my wife here for the first time. We were not disappointed. The small commercial area across from the hotel (where the small ferry embarks for the short ride across the harbor entrance) now has a nice market and of particular note, a dockside restaurant offering meals and snacks all day at very reasonable prices as an alternative to Dolittle's at the hotel and the much higher priced Rainforest Restaurant a short walk through the mangroves from Marigot Beach.

We rented a Hobie Cat for a 24-hour day and enjoyed sailing both within the harbor and up and down the coastline for a couple of miles each way on three occasions.

The only complaint (the sole reason for a less than excellent sleep quality rating) was having to sleep on an ancient, rock-hard mattress which at first the staff maintained was brand new. Removing the mattress pad revealed its age, and ultimately the staff apologized as we checked out. I mentioned that I had written several reviews for TripAdvisor and they asked that I not mention the mattress. Sorry, but I'm not going to risk TripAdvisor's or my own integrity here. Given the general level of attentiveness, I'd have to assume they're going to take care of this soon although the recent review by "maggymolly" ("OK hotel with a nice view) seems to have encountered a similar mattress problem.

If you walk towards the Rainforest Restaurant along the boardwalk within the mangroves east of the hotel, you can reach a trail up hill past another small B&B establishment and from there up a steep (with rope assists) path to a ridge trail which gives great views of the bay and surrounding countryside. Walking along the ridge westward you get to an overlook just past the intersection of an easier trail leading back down to the upper reaches of the Marigot Beach property (all condos) and the tram which runs from just above the restaurant. (A much easier route to the overlook.)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are smaller and at a lower level than the remainder of the accommodations as best I c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenton B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Thank you for your review. Yes, we have taken care of the mattresses. We await your soonest arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

My wife and I spent a wonderful day at the Marigot Beach Club. We were on a week long cruise in the Caribbean and we chose to spend the day at this resort. This was the third time we chose to spend our one day on St. Lucia here. The beach, pool and restaurant are consistently great with friendly service, there is no cost to take advantage of the beach and the Marigot Bay is one of the most beautiful sights throughout the entire Caribbean.
We have never stayed at this hotel so this review does not include the rooms. If you are on a cruise ship, it is very easy to take a taxi from the pier to the resort. There is a very short ferry ride to the resort once the taxi drops you off but the ferry is run by the resort and there is no charge.
You must try the Pina Coladas here, they are wonderful!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
3  Thank ZacandCar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2014

Hi Zacandcar,
Thank you for making here one of your best stops in St. Lucia. We are happy to accommodate guests from everywhere even if they may not be staying at our hotel. We thank you for your review and we hope that you will visit us soon again.


ML

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

As other reviewers have said, this place could be great. We requested lower level with kitchen, and that is what we got. Unit was very tiny, and there is a reason they don't really show 'kitchen' in their pictures. It is like being in a tiny camper. The 'kitchen' consists of a double hot plate, and the lighting is terrible. Knives very dull, and when we asked to borrow one from kitchen, they chased me down later that morning because the chef needed it. Seriously, the poor chef only had that one little knife. There is plenty of storage, and the bathroom had a nice shower, and hot water was never a problem. The a/c was fine although it needs a key to run which is attached to your room key. It was hot so we just separated the two keys. While the room was very charming, it was the smallest place we have ever stayed. Two people could not pass without squeezing. We had to invent our own way to leave the suitcases open and live out of for the things we couldn't hang up. We had a corner unit which was gave us better breezes on the veranda. If not for the veranda, we would have gone crazy in the tiny space. The bed was very uncomfortable, and we didn't sleep. Learned later that we should ask for different mattress. They let us check out the room next door, and wanted us to move our stuff, but we got them to just exchange mattresses. If 1 is soft, and 10 is hard, our first one was -5, and the replacement was a 15! The hard one was better than the mushy one, but still very unconfortable. Because we tossed and turned all night we had to listen to the loudy squeaky bed. No fault of the resort, but the tree frogs at night will drive you crazy. I had to fold up a shirt and put it over my head to muffle the racket. There is also a large light that shines right into this room, but it does go out later. They sell ear plugs in the store across the way for a reason.
The pool is ok, but not very big, but the bay is right there.
As you know, you must take a little ferry to get there. You park in a very rough, pot hole parking lot with huge piles of smelly garbage, and it is dark. Then you walk down a steep street to catch the ferry which looks like it has been through a war or two. The day driver was very prompt, but the night time driver was often busy on his cell phone and we had to wait to get picked up. Sometimes a driver of a different boat took pity on us standing there so long in the rain, and took us across, but we felt obligated to tip him since it wasn't his job. Several days the ferry was broken, and a different one would pick you up, but often had to make other stops. On the last day, it was still broken, and we had to haul our luggage across the beach to get picked up by the other one.
All the staff we encountered was really polite and helpful. Thanks Yellow and Suzanne, and the girl in charge of our room whose name I don't remember.
The food at the restaurant was fine, but like others have said doesn't change if you are there for any length of time, but we went elsewhere when we could.
People have said the beach was small, but we found it to be just fine. Who needs a huge beach? Yellow would always bring chairs for us when we went down to the beach.
Internet is available only near the office and the restaurant, and sometimes didn't work, but we were on an island after all. We were lucky in #54 because it was right above the office, and we could usually get internet on the veranda, and sometimes in bed. Some days I could even get connected on the beach.
Remember to take your chargers and devices with you when you are in the restaurant so they can get charged.
Because of the storm the bay was very clowdy, and not good for snorkeling, but seemed to be clearing up nicely when we left. It was fun to watch the huge yachts and tiny boats coming and going all the time.

Room Tip: Resort is on a steep hill so if steps are an issue, ask for a lower unit. Corner is better for vera...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maggymolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marigot, Director of Sales at Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2017

Dear maggywolly,

Thank you for your review. We are now in 2017 and quite a few has changed. We have the most tranquil resort in St.Lucia. We await your soonest arrival.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
5.8 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#2 of 11 in Castries
673 reviews
9 mi away
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
Bay Gardens Beach Resort
#4 of 15 in Gros Islet
2,244 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
St. James's Club Morgan Bay
8.6 mi away
Coco Palm Resort
Coco Palm Resort
#2 of 6 in Rodney Bay
1,714 reviews
7.2 mi away
Windjammer Landing Villa Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort

Address: Marigot Bay | St Lucia, Marigot Bay 000123, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £100 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is the place to be if you want to de-stress on your Caribbean holidays, and if you prefer St Lucia hotels and resorts that offer a laid-back and friendly atmosphere where the emphasis is on relaxation and fun. Uniquely situated in a stunning and secluded part of St Lucia that's only accessible by boat, Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort is nestled in lush tropical rainforest overlooking one of the most beautiful and exotic bays in the world. From the veranda of your studio or villa you'll enjoy spectacular St Lucian sunsets, and within a few steps you'll be on our palm-fringed white sand beach, sipping exotic cocktails from Doolittles Restaurant and Bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with West Indies, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Marigot Beach Club and Dive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marigot Beach Club And Dive Hotel Marigot Bay
Marigot Beach Hotel Dive

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing