We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Initimate, Charming Inn w/Breathtaking View - Like Visiting with Friends”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Initimate, Charming Inn w/Breathtaking View - Like Visiting with Friends”
Reviewed 1 January 2008

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience at the Inn on the Bay in late Oct / early Nov 2007. It had a gorgeous view, the rooms were comfortable and clean, and Louise prepared a wonderful breakfast buffet for us each day. Both Normand and Louise made us feel as though we were guests visiting them in their home.

The walk to and from the village provided great exercise and was pleasant during daylight and dry weather. As an alternative, Normand always made himself readily available to drive us at our convenience.

Normand and Louise provided great advice with respect to excursions, restaurants etc., and made all of the necessary arrangements for us.

The steps down to the snorkeling site could be challenging when wet - and physically taxing to some - but it was one of the highlights of our trip. It was very peaceful and quiet, the snorkeling was good, and we found some great shells!

We have no regrets with selecting Inn on the Bay for our visit to St Lucia and would recommend it for consideration by anyone who prefers a more intimate vacation experience.

  • Liked — the view and the hospitality
  • Disliked — accessibility, i.e. transportation was needed to get most places (which is probably true of most places on the island)
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Rstls_Lady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
529
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 December 2007

A wonderful place (high overlooking Marigot Bay) in a wonderful location (away from the more crowded areas of the island) hosted by gracious, caring people. IWe were lucky to have chosen this Inn and this location - in retrospect - a no brainer!

Helpful?
Thank jimuf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilmslow, Cheshire. UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2007

We stayed at the inn on the bay in July this year and what can I say it’s just like the photos – paradise.



The Inn overlooks Marigot Bay, with one of the best views on the island; I could have sat there all day and watched the yachts come in and out.



The room was lovely and cool, no need for aircon, as there was a lovely breeze blowing (I think they has been designed that way) – great for all you green travellers. It was also very large and had everything we needed, and just three steps from the pool, which was always the perfect temperature to jump in a cool down.



As the Inn was on top of a hill there was no mosquitoes and was generally a bit cooler because of the breezes, the atmosphere is very relaxed and peaceful (no Children), so it is the perfect place to chill out – I think we read 3 books each (there is a small swapping library).



If you are concerned that the Inn is on top of a hill don’t be – it is a bit of a steep walk to the top, but there is a free taxi to the top virtually any time you want (just call Normand or ask at one of the bars and they’ll arrange for him to come and pick you up)



Our hosts Louise & Normand were fantastic – they could not do enough for us – organising trips, lifts to and from the bay when ever we needed and of course the breakfast freshly cooked muffins and fresh fruit every morning.



They can also book any of the restaurants on the bay – they are all good Château Margot was always excellent – the best steak and pizza ever and in the middle of St Lucia – who would have thought it.



The rainforest hideaway is also worth special mention it is some of the best food I have ever had worthy of a Michelin Star. Also great service and very good value.



Louise & Normand also recommended lots of places to eat around the Island – and without exception, they where all good.



As we went off season in July, Marigot Bay was a little quieter, but that was good as we never struggled to get a table or get on a trip.



We hired a car for a couple of days – but you can also get around by local mini bus – but a car does give you some freedom.- beware all the road in St Lucia appear to be vertical hills – so if you are not a confident driver you may find it a bit daunting.



Overall we could not fault the Inn – remember it is an Inn not a Hotel and you are paying for piece and quiet and that view – it is a holiday to relax and get away form it all. (the all-inclusives are on Rodney Bay)

PS Sorry it took so long to write this Normand & Louise

  • Liked — The Hosts and the View
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank James-and-Jenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2007

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at "The Inn on the Bay". The facilities were perfect - comfortable, spacious, airy and meticulously presented. We liked the pool, the view and the more than adequate breakfast, but best of all was the way we were looked after by Louisa and Normand, whose committment to their guests is second to none. It was a great way to begin our Caribbean holiday.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank suzieScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
1 review
Reviewed 6 November 2007

Having read the reviews we took the plunge and booked a week at the Inn on the Bay. We were not disappointed.

Inn on the Bay is in a beautiful location with excellent views. Our hosts, Normand and Louise, could not have been more hospitable and helpful.

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend them to anyone who is looking for a peaceful holiday away from the tourists.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank AMEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2007

Everything we'd been expecting from the previous excellent reviews tuned out to be just as described. Hosts Normand and Louise were most attentive and friendly - and the views were to die for!
Highly recommended.

Stayed October 2007
Helpful?
Thank DandR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tahoe City, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2007

I was a rare type of visitor to St. Lucia. I wasn't going for my honeymoon or wedding anniversary. I wasn't going with my family or a significant other. I was flying solo...and struck gold in scoring a room at the Inn on the Bay for 4 nights during my trip. It was by far the best accomodations that I had during my trip. Normand and Louise are your ideal hosts- warm, welcoming, laid back yet very attentive, and generally good people to spend time with. The setting is absolute perfection- a handsome white structure perched above Marigot Bay with amazing views from all directions. The rooms were minimal and cozy while still classy. The veranda, where you can eat breakfast or enjoy a late afternoon cocktail is set surrounded by Louise's beautiful garden and it overlooks the water. I enjoyed many a sunset here.

Normand and Louise go out of their way to ensure that their guests are getting the most out of their trip to St. Lucia. From dinner reservations in Marigot to boat tax rides and snorkling trips at Jalousie...they seem capable of coming up with just about any itinerary that you could ask for. It really made for an ideal vacation.

My experience endeared me to my hosts and the Inn just that much more- I arrived one day early to Marigot Bay to provide as much shelter from Hurricane Dean. Normand and Louise were very accomodating. In fact, knowing that I was a solo traveler, they took steps to ensure that I felt safe during the storm and placed me in a room near their personal quarters in case I needed anything throughout the night. Myself and two other couples endured the storm right along with our hosts and it ended up being quite enjoyable. I felt safe and secure and couldn't imagine being anywhere else for my first hurricane.

You won't be disappointed as I think this is the best value and best lodging option on the island.

  • Liked — What wasn't there to like? Great hosts, great rooms, beautiful location, good dining nearby
  • Disliked — Located in an upscale bay, so the dining was a bit more expensive
  • Stayed August 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Girlski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 919 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 651 reviews
0.5 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing