We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unlike anything you'll ever experience.”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 March 2012

There isn't a rating system available on any site to accurately rate the experience you get from staying with Normand and Louise. You aren't a client, you are actually their guest.

At the end of your trip you're somehow tricked into thinking it was they were your guests, that's how great the service is. We read great reviews but you really haven't experienced anything like it. The room was clean everyday . . . the morning breakfasts were fresh and, Louise bakes a mean muffin!

We would and will plan to return to St Lucia and it's impossible for us to stay anywhere else. There's a reason you won't find a bad review on here. It's not a trick . . . it's the truth. My wife was 6 months pregnant and we were on our honeymoon, you can imagine the high-maintenance nature of our stay. Normand and Louise made it seem effortless. Normand is a great resource and even offers his own vehicle as a way to see the bay which is handy because, if it's your first time to St. Lucia, it's very "hilly". The Inn is located at the top of a very large hill but, Norman will take you down anytime you want.

Above all this, they are both ambassadors for the island. Normand compliments every local business and will happily point out their personal favourites. Because of this, the people of the island have the same compliments of Normand and Louise which qualifies their decency as people and as a part of the community.

Somehow, The Inn on the Bay is the perfect blend of close customer service while not ever being intrusive or overwhelming. If you are a honeymooner or a couple looking for the epitome of Rest & Relaxation, look no further. You wouldn't get customer service like this at a 5 star resort. Honestly.

We arrived as strangers and left as friends . . . which we remain as today.

Room Tip: Each room is unique but the room on the end had the most privacy. We stayed there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jordan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

348 - 354 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a truly relaxing holiday where we enjoyed all the ingredients for a fabulously interesting and healthy 9 days in the warmth of the lovely Caribbean air. As per all other Tripadvisor comments, Normand and Louise were terrific hosts who really care about the guests' wellbeing. The rooms are good, the location is fantastic. We enjoyed swimming in the bay below the Inn even though the journey there makes one feel an intrepid explorer (300+ steps through the lush woods) and the little town of Marigot Bay has some nice restaurants in a very laid back way. N & L are great at advising what to do and how to do it. We took a water taxi and / or a bus to places, which was quite exciting, and had a nice sailing trip. Fabulous!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gummington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My Wife and I stayed 4 nights with Normand and Louise and had a great time. We rented a car, which is a great thing to do to see the Island. Normand will point out all the areas for you to see and do and will answer all your questions. Louise makes a great continental style breakfast with great fresh fruits and baked goods. This is a B and B style place so don't expect an all inclusive resort. The Inn is a great value in a great location with great hosts. My wife(who was almost 7 months pregnant) and I Had a great visit at the Inn and spent the rest of our stay at TI Kaye(a more all inclusive style resort and also a great place). I am glad we started our Stay at the Inn, it just seemed easy to go around the Island, especially in the Bay and up North. There is a reason this place is the top ranked. Thanks Normand and Louise for a great vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pat D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

We had no idea what to expect from Marigot Bay or the Inn on the Bay, but my boyfriend and I wanted a peaceful, beautiful spot with a few good restaurants and some activities on offer should we choose to pursue them. Neither disappointed. Marigot Bay is definitely THE place to stay in St Lucia, and the Inn on the Bay is a truly special find. Normand and Louise are the perfect hosts and they really made our holiday. Nothing was too much trouble. They were incredibly helpful with tips and suggestions of things to do, and making the arrangements if we wanted to go ahead. We also really appreciated the way Normand made sure to introduce the guests to each other when new arrivals appeared. As this is an intimate place with only 6 rooms, it really made a difference to our experience and broke the ice. The breakfasts were lovely and the room was quiet and spacious - just what we needed. On another note, the Inn offers excellent value compared to many other options we looked at - and nobody else had that million dollar view! Highly recommend this place. Thank you Normand and Louise!

Room Tip: Upstairs room is a little larger I think, but we had a double shower and it was fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Erika L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

It's hard to say much that hasn't already been said, the view is incredible, we had the upstairs room which is a little bigger than the rest, it was always very clean, comfortable and had a very nicely renovated bathroom. And if you like a little exercise, the walk from the bay to the inn will help you keep the extra pounds you'll put on from all the great food to a minimum. The back patio is also probably the best spot in the bay to sit with a cold beer and watch the sunset before dinner.

But the icing on the cake here is Normand and Lousie, you will never find service like this in any hotel or resort. Have a look at any of the excursions or landmarks in St Lucia, tell Normand what you want to do, and he'll make it happen, or if you want to be really laid back, Normand will even make the suggestions for you and save you the trouble of researching on your own. Louise prepared breakfast every morning and I would honestly go back just for a batch of cheese muffins, but everything that came out of her oven was incredible. She was also very helpful in recommending baby names, a few are still on our short list.

My wife was 3 months pregnant when we arrived, on the first morning Normand found out she was having peanut butter cravings, in a matter of minutes she had half a tub and a spoon all to her self. These are fantastic hosts and will be the highlight of your trip, I guarantee it!

Room Tip: I'm pretty sure there's not a bad room in the house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ajweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2012

View and situation is amazing; service offered by Louise and Normand is second to none.Nothing was too much trouble.It was a very restful and rejuvenating stay with lots to do and see with every arrangement able to be made by Normand or help to do it individually. Definitely the place to stay if you can get a booking.

Room Tip: All excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank paul o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

My husband and I spend one night at the Inn on the bay. Being 5 months pregnant at the time, a safe and relaxing place was what we were looking for. We found more than that at this white villa. It was the greatest hotel we stayed at during our week in St.Lucia. Normand and Louise were fantastic hosts and it felt more like visiting a friend. We could only spend 1 night there but as soon as we saw the hotel, we wished we could stay for a longer visit. We wouldn't have used the A/C if there was one, our room was very large, the bathroom, newly renovated, was clean and spacious. The breeze felt great and kept the room cool all day/night. At sunset, go on the front terrasse to relax and enjoy the view. In the morning, do not skip the delicious and complete breakfast; fruits, banana bread, toasts, cereals, coffee, juice and more. We highly recommend this place to any traveler.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
956 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
858 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,276 reviews
7.7 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#6 of 11 in Soufriere
1,186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £241 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing