We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hoteliers!”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Casper, WY
1 review
“Best Hoteliers!”
Reviewed 16 February 2008

Although I have only been in 30+ countries, I believe that the owner-operators of Inn on the Bay--Normand Viau and his wife, Louise Boucher--cannot be equaled anywhere in the world. Whatever information you would like about what to see and do and whatever reservations and transportation you may need, Norman will flawlessly advise you and immediately make arrangements for you. Their five-room inn is located above the entrance to Marigot Bay (which James Michener reportedly said is the most beautiful bay in the Caribbean) in the cooling trade winds. Around the small bay you'll find 6-1/2 excellent restaurants, a small grocery store, a bank (with an ATM machine), a small beach and, of course, a few gift shops. Taxis are always available to go elsewhere on St. Lucia.

  • Liked — Helpfulness of owners.
  • Disliked — Nothing--all great.
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank bmoore3541
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
531
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2008

Our visit to Marigot Bay, St Lucia was made priceless because we stayed with Norm and Louise, the owners of Inn on the Bay.

Normand is a humorist and Louise makes wonderful breakfasts. Combined, they are great hosts that ensure that their guests are always comfortable. The inn is clean and well furnished. We stayed for 2 nights as we were going from South to North of St Lucia. Should we visit St Lucia again, the Inn on the Bay would be our first stop.

The Inn on the Bay is perched on a hill overlooking the bay with 360 degrees of breath-taking scenery.

Two thumbs up to this charming Bed and Breakfast. And thank you Norm and Louise for a memorable stay

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
Thank smuggy1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, UK
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2008

It's been a few months since we returned from our stay at Inn on the Bay and our memories of that glorious week continue to remain warm and bright.

The rooms and furnishings at the inn are clean, bright and cool, the views, from front and back, are amazing and the breakfasts are delicious and well prepared.

It isn't however these elements alone which make Inn on the Bay such a wonderful place to spend your holiday. Your stay at Inn on the Bay and on St Lucia will be nothing but amazing because Louise and Normand, the owners of the inn, will make sure that it isn't anything less.

From arranging trips, supplying a free taxi service up and down the hill to offering advice on where to go and what to do Louise and Normand truly make you feel welcomed and looked after.

Louise and Normand could run a B & B with the worst views, in the coldest, wettest country in the world and people would still return year after year!

If you're going to St Lucia a stay at Inn on the Bay is a must. If, however, you end up at one of the big all-inclusive hotels you may one day wonder what's missing from your holiday, it might not be the lack of good food or the lack of a decent beach, it might not even be the lack of a tropical view. What it will be is a certain kind of human contact with people. People who actually care that you are having good time, people who are willing to go out of their way to cater for your requests and people who say 'Good Morning' with a smile-not just because they have to but because they want to! You can find those people running Inn on the Bay!

  • Liked — The hospitality
  • Disliked — Leaving!
  • Stayed November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank murray71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlingtonn, VA
1 review
Reviewed 1 February 2008

We're just back from St. Lucia where we spent half our time at the Inn on the Bay. It's a real find, though it is not exactly on the bay. It is on a hilltop which gives one great views and marvelous sunsets, and as your host Normand is ready at a moment's notice to drive you down to Bay level or pick you up, the location is one of its nice features. (The quiet at night was unbelievable. We always slept well. Also we preferred to walk both down the hill and back for the exercise.) Our unit was amply spacious and clean, with lots of drawers and good closet space. The bathroom, though on the small side, had a cabinet with generous space for toiletries and the like. The included breakfast usually featured (your hostess) Louise's home baked muffins as well as a variety of fresh fruit, various cereals, juice, teas and coffee. As with all good bed and breakfasts conversing with the hosts was part of what made the stay enjoyable, and Normand's guidance on what to see and how to get there was invaluable. (We would recommend renting a car for at least part of one's stay - there is a car rental place in Montego Bay and those staying at the Inn get a 10% discount.) We expected Montego Bay to be somewhat isolated and it is, but there was more there than we had anticipated. There is a nice small beach, about one minute and a $1.00 ferry ride across the bay. (Normand has arranged for Inn guests to get free beach chairs) and a number of shops and restaurants. The fresh fish (grilled dorade, kingfish and snapper) is good no matter where purchased, and there are two particularly fine restaurants. One (Boudreau) with a French chef served food that would be justly regarded as one of the better high end restaurants where we live in Washington, D.C. though its prices are not at high end D.C. levels. In short, we had a great vacation in St. Lucia, and part of the reason was our choice of the Inn on the Bay and Normand and Louise's hospitality.

  • Liked — Our hosts and the beautiful views
  • Disliked — Driving up the hill
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lisaandrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire
2 reviews
Reviewed 24 January 2008

I found this great place on Tripadvisor in December. I won't repeat all the good things that others have pointed out about the Inn on the Bay, though they're absolutely correct. Normand is a natural host - friendly, flexible, cheerful and a great organiser. He'll let you have all the privacy you require or if you want he'll suggest trips - eg a water taxi to a beautiful beach for sun and snorkelling, or a sail to visit the botanical gardens, or a fishing trip. He'll arrange them with local people and there you are directly helping the local economy, not some multinational hotel chain. Maybe other guests have the same idea and you'll go together and return as firm friends. Meanwhile I'd be surprised if Normand hadn't discreetly telephoned to make sure everything was going to plan. We extended our stay there to a week. Perhaps a few day's car hire would have extended our horizons, as Nikki suggests (Hello Nikki & Elliot), but most people seem not to bother.
If that's the sort of place that you're looking for, go now, Normand and Louise won't be there for ever.

  • Liked — The Hosts
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank 0p3nB00k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2008

The Inn on The Bay is one of the best places I've ever stayed. All the great reviews on this page are completely justified - it's stunningly located, beautifully designed, and brilliantly run. And great value. Normand and Louise are fantastic (and very entertaining) hosts. Nothing's too much trouble. It feels like a real home from home.
The rooms are spacious, light and clean; the breakfast is delicious (we even stole Louise's recipe for date and walnut cake), and sitting with a G&T watching the sun set (and looking for the elusive "green flash" on the horizon) from the terrace is about as good as life gets.

I'd suggest you hire a car - Norm's always happy to drop you into the town, but the restaurants aren't amazing (and not that cheap, either), so if you want to go further afield it's best to have your own wheels. Norm can sort it out for you when you get there.

Go now.

  • Liked — the hosts
  • Disliked — no complaints!
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nikkihaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
1 review
Reviewed 14 January 2008

To say that we were charmed by Inn on the Bay is an understatement. The Inn could not have a more spectacular setting, high up over Marigot Bay, and is itself is wonderfully pleasing: rooms are high-ceilinged, airy and serene. It also makes a good home base from which to explore the island: there is a beach and some very nice restaurants quite close to home (as it were), Castries is not too far north, and the drive south to Soufriere, the Pitons, Anse Chastenet and other destinations is an hour or less. Much as we loved all of this, though, the real draw here was our hosts. Normand and Louise are wonderful: warm, welcoming, highly knowledgeable about the island, and seemingly able to work magic with restaurant reservations and more. Two very different highlights of our trip: Daily breakfast by the pool, with Louise's home-made muffins and time to contemplate how to spend the day. And a one-day sail down the coast of the island that Normand arranged for a number of us staying at the inn. We can't say enough good things about our stay ... it was a delight.

  • Liked — The spectacular setting and our hosts.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing