We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip w/ Great Hosts!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great Trip w/ Great Hosts!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I just got back from a short getaway in St. Lucia where I stayed at The Inn on the Bay. Not enough praise can be said of the wonderful hosts, Normand and Louise. They were both delightful, helpful and a hoot! Louise's breakfast was delicious every morning.

The Inn is nestled on top of a hill overlooking the beautiful Marigot Bay. My room (5) had a separate lounge area that was quite relaxing; the view certainly helped my mood! The patio and pool area is very nice and great to cool down from the tropical climate.

I tried most of the restaurants in the bay, which all had something special about them. Normand was very knowledgeable about the bay and restaurants. He, along with Louise, have so much respect from the locals, which makes sense as all their hard years of work have certainly paid off.

The nature of the Inn is one of community. You can't help but get to know your neighbors but you also have a tremendous sense of privacy. There is a wonderful breeze throughout the Inn; air conditioning is unnecessary and there are fans for those who need them. The water pressure is terrific as is water temperature. The maid makes sure each room is spotless and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The view from the deck (with the pool) is incredible. As is the view from the front of the house where there is a small deck for reading and enjoying the sea.

I look forward to my next trip at the Inn! The true diamond is the wonderful hosts. Normand and Louise were concerned when my companion got sunburnt, provided him immediately with sunscreen and even offered aloe which grows naturally on the property. C'est très apprécié Normand and Louise.

With best regards,
A very happy traveller (Nick)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nplynch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    671
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
520
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just returned from a five day stay with my boyfriend Nick. The trip to the Inn was quick and affordable given the Inn's distance from the airport. Norman and Louise pick only the best drivers, who are both knowledgeable and safety conscious.

The Inn is located at an ideal spot looking out over the bay. It provides easy access to the bay's restaurants, beaches and grocery store. The walk to and from the Inn into town is quick and is not strenuous. At the same time, the Inn is completely secluded, private and quiet... which is great given the hustle and bustle of the bay. The bay itself will take your breath away, as will the Inn and it's accommodations.

Not enough can be said for Normand and Louise. They are funny, charming and go above and beyond helping their guests feel comfortable. Check in and check out was painless. Normand did a great job booking us a day trip on a sailboat and it becomes apparent that both are well respected on the island. Louise's muffins/breads are delicious; one of best complimentary breakfast's I've had.

I would recommend asking Normand and Louise which restaurants they recommend. Finally, take advantage of the wine you can purchase from them. We bought a bottle of white wine and were extremely impressed by it's quality and affordability.

The only regret I have is not staying their longer and I look forward to my next trip with Louise and Normand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlacuache909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A touch of Canadian hospitality awaits at the Inn of Louise and Norman. We had such a great stay last week. Terrific location overlooking the Marigot Bay. The Inn is simple but very nice. Our room (Room 5) was conformable and quiet. After looking around the island, we concluded the Inn is a great value and location. You should rent a car at the airport if you stay here... big walk up hill and taxi is expensive.

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and away from the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theinnonthebay, Owner at The Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for your post!

Over the years, we've noticed that only 5% of our guests are renting a car.

Our other guests will rely on our free round trip shuttle service available all day/evening long to get to the beach, shopping, lunch, dinner, etc... or to pick up on of the many excursions that leave from the bay (sailing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, biking, ziplining, etc...).

Upon your arrival, Louise and I will let you have one of our cell phones to use during your stay. Just give us a call from the bay when you are ready to come "home" and we'll pick you up right away!

Keep in mind also that if you decide to rent a car to explore our beautiful island at your own pace but dont feel like driving down to the bay for dinner, we'll be pleased to offer you the same shuttle service available to our other guests. Just ask us: it's included in your stay!

Free shuttle service to the bay (and back to The Inn), a cell phone to get in touch with us (from the bay or from anywhere around the island!), tours and excursions tailored to your needs, our goal, for the last 18 years, has been to offer our guests a unique, unfussy, unpretentious (and no-brainer!) St. Lucia experience.

Like hundred of couples who stayed with us over all those years, we hope you'll enjoy it too!

See you soon...

Normand & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
montreal
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

The art of good hospitality is difficult to master, but Normand and Louise have perfected it. Their warm greeting on arrival, comfortable rooms and common areas (the pool side and the patio), the lovely breakfast, their wealth of knowledge about activities, their willingness to arrange excursions, Normand's good natured 'taxi service' to and from restaurants, and the perfect balance of friendliness without being intrusive--these combined to make our first visit to St. Lucia wonderful. Louise and Normand are both gracious and generous hosts. As an added bonus, the Inn seems to attract a congenial group of people who definitely enhanced our holiday experience.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lori B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel, Indiana
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband booked our St. Lucia trip at the last minute, so we only spent our last night with Normand and Louise.... I wish we could have stayed with them longer! They are so friendly and welcoming and made us feel right at home, like we were visiting them personally, not just renting a room in their beautiful Inn. It's a steep drive up to the top of the cliff where Inn on the Bay is located, but totally worth it. We had the most amazing view of Marigot Bay from our room, and enjoyed lounging by the pool feeling the cool breeze that comes from being so high above the bay (no air conditioning needed!). The rooms were comfortable, spacious, and clean, the bed was comfy, and we never experienced any noise from our neighbors, even though the hotel was full. Louise's homemade breakfast in the morning was so delicious, I highly recommend her raisin toast! We had a great time talking to them as we checked out on our last morning, and hearing their story was so interesting. If you stay with them, make sure you take the time to chat! They were also very knowledgable of the Island and recommended a great beach where we spent our last day. If we ever go to St. Lucia again we will definitely go back to Inn on the Bay!

Room Tip: We got the room on the far end of the porch, which was much more private than the ones opening onto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenna O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Wow, what a fantastic holiday we have just had, we arrived on the 9 Feb and stayed for 10 nights where Norm and Louise looked after us. Norm sorted out everything from organising taxis , boat trips to anything you wanted, and Louise's breakfasts with her freshly baked cakes every day were something to die for. The wonderful views from the terrace's on both sides were amazing. ,just a wonderful place to spend a very relaxing holiday.
Many thanks to you both,
Peter, Suzanne.Eric, Liz.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlemorton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

My husband and I have just returned home after 14 nights at the Inn on the Bay. We have been to other Caribbean Islands but this was our first trip to St Lucia. We had a very pleasant drive from the airport to the Inn on the Bay and were warmly greeted on our arrival by Normand and Louise. Our room was large and airy and it had a huge bathroom, it was kept clean on a daily basis by Rose, the very sweet maid. The breakfast was continental style with plenty of fruit and freshly baked cakes and bread and there was tea and coffee making facilities available all day. Five rooms in total allowed us to get to know other guests during our stay, much nicer than the unfriendliness of large hotels.

Normand ensured we knew where all the amenities were around the Bay Area and was always happy to help and advise on where to go and what to see. Normand was always on hand to drive guests down to the Bay and to collect them again afterwards. We walked down and back each lunchtime and down for most of our evening meals, it only took about 10 minutes each way.

St Lucia is certainly a really lovely green and hilly island and the people are very friendly and welcoming. At no time did we feel unsafe. We hired a car and spent a few days sightseeing, to the Botanical Gardens and volcano and several visits to Pigeon Point, where the beach was very peaceful.

I was very reluctant to review the Inn on the Bay as it was so lovely, I didn't want to share my experience with others!!

Thank you Normand and Louise, you are definitely 5 star and more.

Denise and Jim

Room Tip: I imagine all the rooms are top quality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 936Denise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 895 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 633 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 794 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 712 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing