We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfection....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection....”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A most relaxing two weeks spent at the Inn on the Bay. I am more a fan of lazing about by the pool, eating (which I will come back to shortly) and dipping my toe in the pool now and again. My wife preferred to be out and about visiting this that and the other. The flexibility of using the local bus, land taxi, water taxi or Shanks’s pony meant we could mix laziness with such activities in just the right measure. So as well as climbing the Tet Paul and Millet trails, inspecting plants my wife pretended to know the name of, chasing elusive parrots, tasting fresh sugar cane juice, eating freshly dropped coconuts, snorkelling for the first time in the calm waters of Sugar Bay, taking the local bus into and out of Castries, and walking down to and up from the bay, we lazed by the well-kept pool and looked out at the perfect scene doing absolutely nothing! Perfection.
We stayed in the larger room on the upper floor. We could not find fault with the comfort of the bed or the sofa and the cooling and refreshing cross breeze through the windows allowed for a good night’s sleep. Breakfast has been spoken about quite a lot on here and it is indeed a pleasing array of fruits, cereals, cakes, and breads. Plenty of fuel for the day ahead and enjoyment for lovers of melons and bananas alike. (Special shout out to Louise for the cakes too)
Normand’s advice was free flowing, along with the rum in my coffee and tea. My seemingly being a bit of a grumpy old Brit gave our infamous host’s humour a ready-made foil. As did my diet, which in the UK is and remains vegan. The variety of foods available in Marigot Bay made it quite difficult to remain fully so during our stay. Visits to the Doolittle restaurant for their Teriyaki Tofu dish and frequent bowls of chips at the Hurricane Hole kept the wolf from the door on many occasions. I did however succumb to the odd vegetarian pizza. These were very tasty and actually not quite as odd as the vegetable burger from one café, which appeared to have what looked like meaty cat food chunks served under it in the bun. Throughout these ordeals Normand maintained his clearly genuine concern for my dietary welfare and he would frequently check- up as to whether I had been able to find the suitable fuel required for a man of my physique. His amiable joking regarding my gastronomic predilections also became something of a source of amusement to my wife, who lovingly informs me one of her highlights was her eating locally cooked fresh red snapper fish at the Anse-la-Raye fish fry up - for which Normand had organised transport of course.
We both have no hesitation in recommending the Inn. If you are really fortunate when you stay you may even meet a grumpy old vegan Brit (and possibly his wife) paying a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

705 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    678
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
526
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Deerfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Incredible views, Marigot Bay and the Caribbean Sea
No noise, night and day
Normound, the ever-gracious host

Only bad part, we had to leave
No kids, that makes it great

The rooms are spotless, courtesy of Rose
Happy, relaxed and peaceful vacation site
Enjoy the company of new people from around the world

Breakfast by Louise, très magnifique
Air conditioning, definitely not needed
You will love the 5-star experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Herndon, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2014

My husband and I visited Marigot Bay over Christmas and we are so thankful we stayed with Normand and Louise! The location, hospitality, view, and serenity can't be beat. I have to admit I am very picky about where I stay - cleanliness, service - and especially noise - but this has genuinely been one of the best travel experiences I've had. Relaxing, quiet and peaceful.

From the very first email contact with Normand - the customer service was top notch and I felt genuinely taken care of and appreciated. Normand booked a car for us when we arrived, and it was great to not have to worry about a car rental or car service after a long flight. When we arrived at the Inn both Normand and Louise came out to greet us and made us feel welcome immediately.

You really don't need to rent a car. Normand is so accommodating and will take you down to the harbor anytime you'd like, or call for a taxi for you. He arranged for a water taxi for us one day to go to Soufriere and it was an amazing day.

Louise's baked goods in the morning were a special treat, and there was also delicious fresh fruit, coffee, etc. in the morning.

Normand is a gracious host. He is somehow amazingly always there when you need him, but he is not in the least overbearing and will give you all the space you need. If you are looking for a high end, five star stay with 24 room service, air conditioning, on site restaurants and bars well, this special place may not be for you. But if you are looking for a relaxing, magical and romantic getaway, the Inn on the Bay is superior. (And regarding the air conditioning, you don't even notice there is none - there are lovely ocean breezes and a ceiling fan in the room which keeps everything very comfortable.)

We would not hesitate to go back to the Inn on the Bay... and hopefully we will someday!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Don't stay here if you are looking for a big resort atmosphere - this place has only five rooms and no pina collada service. If you are looking for a TV to watch when you get back from dinner - forget about it! Want to know what time it is when you wake up in the middle of the night? Sorry no clocks. Got to have A/C? Don't have it - don't need it (and I like a/c)!

What you do have is a warm, comfortable and clean place with unmatched views from the top of Marigot Bay. You've seen the pictures and they don't do the location justice. You have hosts who become your friends not just hotel proprieters. You have an opportunity to meet the other guests around the outdoor breakfast table and the pool and sunset terrace who become more than faces you pass on the sidewalk.

Your hosts, Norm and Louise will help you plan your days and arrange the transportation. Make life simple and add the trips to your tab and take care of everything including the tips when you leave. Want to just lay by the pool to read and watch the boats go by - that is also allowed! pick up some of the wonderful locally made Piton beer and chill.

Bottom line - a wonderful place for relaxation and basing your St. Lucia trip.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mchud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annandale, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

I just got back from a short getaway in St. Lucia where I stayed at The Inn on the Bay. Not enough praise can be said of the wonderful hosts, Normand and Louise. They were both delightful, helpful and a hoot! Louise's breakfast was delicious every morning.

The Inn is nestled on top of a hill overlooking the beautiful Marigot Bay. My room (5) had a separate lounge area that was quite relaxing; the view certainly helped my mood! The patio and pool area is very nice and great to cool down from the tropical climate.

I tried most of the restaurants in the bay, which all had something special about them. Normand was very knowledgeable about the bay and restaurants. He, along with Louise, have so much respect from the locals, which makes sense as all their hard years of work have certainly paid off.

The nature of the Inn is one of community. You can't help but get to know your neighbors but you also have a tremendous sense of privacy. There is a wonderful breeze throughout the Inn; air conditioning is unnecessary and there are fans for those who need them. The water pressure is terrific as is water temperature. The maid makes sure each room is spotless and the grounds are meticulously maintained. The view from the deck (with the pool) is incredible. As is the view from the front of the house where there is a small deck for reading and enjoying the sea.

I look forward to my next trip at the Inn! The true diamond is the wonderful hosts. Normand and Louise were concerned when my companion got sunburnt, provided him immediately with sunscreen and even offered aloe which grows naturally on the property. C'est très apprécié Normand and Louise.

With best regards,
A very happy traveller (Nick)

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nplynch90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

I just returned from a five day stay with my boyfriend Nick. The trip to the Inn was quick and affordable given the Inn's distance from the airport. Norman and Louise pick only the best drivers, who are both knowledgeable and safety conscious.

The Inn is located at an ideal spot looking out over the bay. It provides easy access to the bay's restaurants, beaches and grocery store. The walk to and from the Inn into town is quick and is not strenuous. At the same time, the Inn is completely secluded, private and quiet... which is great given the hustle and bustle of the bay. The bay itself will take your breath away, as will the Inn and it's accommodations.

Not enough can be said for Normand and Louise. They are funny, charming and go above and beyond helping their guests feel comfortable. Check in and check out was painless. Normand did a great job booking us a day trip on a sailboat and it becomes apparent that both are well respected on the island. Louise's muffins/breads are delicious; one of best complimentary breakfast's I've had.

I would recommend asking Normand and Louise which restaurants they recommend. Finally, take advantage of the wine you can purchase from them. We bought a bottle of white wine and were extremely impressed by it's quality and affordability.

The only regret I have is not staying their longer and I look forward to my next trip with Louise and Normand.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tlacuache909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bluffton, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

A touch of Canadian hospitality awaits at the Inn of Louise and Norman. We had such a great stay last week. Terrific location overlooking the Marigot Bay. The Inn is simple but very nice. Our room (Room 5) was conformable and quiet. After looking around the island, we concluded the Inn is a great value and location. You should rent a car at the airport if you stay here... big walk up hill and taxi is expensive.

Room Tip: Room 5 is quiet and away from the pool area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gjm55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
theinnonthebay, Owner at The Inn On The Bay, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you very much for your post!

Over the years, we've noticed that only 5% of our guests are renting a car.

Our other guests will rely on our free round trip shuttle service available all day/evening long to get to the beach, shopping, lunch, dinner, etc... or to pick up on of the many excursions that leave from the bay (sailing, snorkeling, diving, fishing, biking, ziplining, etc...).

Upon your arrival, Louise and I will let you have one of our cell phones to use during your stay. Just give us a call from the bay when you are ready to come "home" and we'll pick you up right away!

Keep in mind also that if you decide to rent a car to explore our beautiful island at your own pace but dont feel like driving down to the bay for dinner, we'll be pleased to offer you the same shuttle service available to our other guests. Just ask us: it's included in your stay!

Free shuttle service to the bay (and back to The Inn), a cell phone to get in touch with us (from the bay or from anywhere around the island!), tours and excursions tailored to your needs, our goal, for the last 18 years, has been to offer our guests a unique, unfussy, unpretentious (and no-brainer!) St. Lucia experience.

Like hundred of couples who stayed with us over all those years, we hope you'll enjoy it too!

See you soon...

Normand & Louise
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
903 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
640 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing