We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm welcome and wonderful hosts!”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Warm welcome and wonderful hosts!”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 7 nights here in March and couldn't be happier with our choice. True to the reviews, Normand and Louise are adorable and we felt totally at home. Normand helped me surprise my boyfriend with a bottle of champagne for his birthday, which was very appreciated. Plus, on our last night, they invited all of the hotel guests for a glass of wine on the terrace and it really was exemplary of Norm and Louise's fabulous hospitality.

The breakfast every morning was great (homemade muffins baked by Louise, grapes, melon, bananas, coconut, papaya, bread, butter, jam, tea, coffee) and they leave the breakfast room open for tea / drinks throughout the afternoon and evening. Finally, the view is really fabulous and the pictures don't do it justice!

A few practical recommendations for future guests:

- We rented a car and found that it gave us more freedom to visit outside of Marigot Bay. We went to Reduit Beach once (35-40 min from hotel) and then Anse Cochon (~20 min from hotel) almost all of the other days.

- There are restaurants to eat at near Reduit Beach, but for Anse Cochon, the restaurant at the beach at the Ti Kaye Resort wouldn't serve non-hotel guests on our last day there, so pack a sandwich if you want to stay the whole day

- Normand can arrange a boat tour for a day where you visit Anse Cochon, Anse Chastanet, and Sugar Beach. Worth it considering that it's an hour+ drive to Sugar Beach. Ask him for the rate.

- There is shampoo and liquid soap in the bathrooms but no moisturizing lotion or conditioner, so if you're particular about your spa products, take a few of your own with you

- There are a bunch of restaurants around Marigot Bay, so the location is good for your evening dinner. However, budget ~$100 / couple per dinner if you want to have a drink and dessert with your meal.

- If you're a runner, the beaches aren't really long enough for a good run, so count on doing most of your runs on the roads, which are very, very hilly!

In short, we would not hesitate to stay here again and in addition to having a wonderful experience, we feel like we came away with new friends.

Room Tip: Room #5 is the most private if you are in honeymoon mode and want to be more isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycpomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
531
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perham, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Lovely stay at Inn on the Bay. Hosts Louise and Normand were very accommodating, offering a fine breakfast, rides up and down the hill, activity suggestions and excursion planning assistance.

While some people might prefer staying closer to the waters of Marigot Bay, we enjoyed being able to experience the other homes, villas and abundance of flora during our walks down and up the hill. And the views from Inn on the Bay were astounding: bay on one side, ocean on the other. Envision it as your own special aerie on the island.

If time, a trip or two to Castries is worthwhile, if for no other reason than to mix with the indigenous St. Lucia people, experiencing life---as much as is possible--- through their eyes. You might even enjoy riding the local buses.

All in all, a great island to visit and great hosts with whom to stay at Inn on the Bay.

Thomas and Alyce

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nanaimo, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Eight days in paradise at the Inn on Marigot Bay was pure bliss.
Not only are the views spectacular in any direction you look, but the atmousphere was totally relaxing. When we toured the beautiful island of St.Lucia, and saw the crowded, noisey beach resorts that we had considered when planning our holiday, we were so happy that we chose the Inn. The room was clean and bright and the hosts, Louise and Normand, treated us like family. We received great advise on what to see, and our outings were all arranged for us - totally hassle fee. Isn't that what a holiday should be? We all have enough stress is our lives; we don't need any while on vacation. Given the chance, we would certainly go back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 & 2 are away from the pool and have great views directly in front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

We had a wonderful time at the Inn on the Bay.The view of Marigot Bay from the Inn is spectacular. One of the very few times a picture has matched the actual location exactly.

Louise and Norman are perfect hosts. There were there to help at all times, but were not the least bit intrusive. The room was basic, but clean and well maintained. Breakfast was served every morning and was very nice with variety of homemade breads and muffins, plus fresh bananas and coconut. Everyday was fun and relaxing. Lots to do and see.

Norman can arrange anything you desire - airport transfer, snorkeling, day sail, or restaurants. He even picked a loaf of bread for us while we were out sailing.

We plan to return in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri_and_Leigh_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We came to the Inn on the Bay after hearing about the great hosts and the pleasant social vibe that the inn creates. I'm most happy to say it delivers!

The inn itself is gorgeous and clean. The views of Marigot Bay don't get much better (they get lots of rainbows here so bring your camera :D ). We stood in room 5, the smallest, but most private. I really recommend that room for the privacy and private patio chairs.

But to the point: the stars of the show here are Norm and Louise. They are perfect hosts: very hospitable, have great attitudes, and are truly knowledgeable. It is worth coming to the Inn on the Bay just to know them. :)

One of my favorite parts of our stay: on our last night there Norm and Louise hosted a sunset get-together on the patio with all the inn's guests. They brought out tons of wine and snacks and we all sat around and chatted. It was a great highlight of my stay. Those couple of hours flew by and it was truly wonderful to get to talk with everyone about life. :)

So if you're looking to be catered to by great hosts, meet other awesome travelers, and maybe even do some awesome well-priced excursions with them, you have to come to the Inn on the Bay. It will add some great depth of character to your vacation when it seems like the only things out there are tourist traps.

Room Tip: Room 5 was small but private. I probably would pick this room again!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xsearingheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

A most relaxing two weeks spent at the Inn on the Bay. I am more a fan of lazing about by the pool, eating (which I will come back to shortly) and dipping my toe in the pool now and again. My wife preferred to be out and about visiting this that and the other. The flexibility of using the local bus, land taxi, water taxi or Shanks’s pony meant we could mix laziness with such activities in just the right measure. So as well as climbing the Tet Paul and Millet trails, inspecting plants my wife pretended to know the name of, chasing elusive parrots, tasting fresh sugar cane juice, eating freshly dropped coconuts, snorkelling for the first time in the calm waters of Sugar Bay, taking the local bus into and out of Castries, and walking down to and up from the bay, we lazed by the well-kept pool and looked out at the perfect scene doing absolutely nothing! Perfection.
We stayed in the larger room on the upper floor. We could not find fault with the comfort of the bed or the sofa and the cooling and refreshing cross breeze through the windows allowed for a good night’s sleep. Breakfast has been spoken about quite a lot on here and it is indeed a pleasing array of fruits, cereals, cakes, and breads. Plenty of fuel for the day ahead and enjoyment for lovers of melons and bananas alike. (Special shout out to Louise for the cakes too)
Normand’s advice was free flowing, along with the rum in my coffee and tea. My seemingly being a bit of a grumpy old Brit gave our infamous host’s humour a ready-made foil. As did my diet, which in the UK is and remains vegan. The variety of foods available in Marigot Bay made it quite difficult to remain fully so during our stay. Visits to the Doolittle restaurant for their Teriyaki Tofu dish and frequent bowls of chips at the Hurricane Hole kept the wolf from the door on many occasions. I did however succumb to the odd vegetarian pizza. These were very tasty and actually not quite as odd as the vegetable burger from one café, which appeared to have what looked like meaty cat food chunks served under it in the bun. Throughout these ordeals Normand maintained his clearly genuine concern for my dietary welfare and he would frequently check- up as to whether I had been able to find the suitable fuel required for a man of my physique. His amiable joking regarding my gastronomic predilections also became something of a source of amusement to my wife, who lovingly informs me one of her highlights was her eating locally cooked fresh red snapper fish at the Anse-la-Raye fish fry up - for which Normand had organised transport of course.
We both have no hesitation in recommending the Inn. If you are really fortunate when you stay you may even meet a grumpy old vegan Brit (and possibly his wife) paying a return visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deerfield, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Incredible views, Marigot Bay and the Caribbean Sea
No noise, night and day
Normound, the ever-gracious host

Only bad part, we had to leave
No kids, that makes it great

The rooms are spotless, courtesy of Rose
Happy, relaxed and peaceful vacation site
Enjoy the company of new people from around the world

Breakfast by Louise, très magnifique
Air conditioning, definitely not needed
You will love the 5-star experience

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeffreyF715
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
945 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,265 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing