We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
Reviewed 10 April 2014

If you’re looking for comfortable and stylish B&B accommodation in the best location in St Lucia, look no further than The Inn on the Bay, Marigot Bay. The views are fantastic and the Bay itself has a choice of restaurants and cafes to enjoy good food, a cocktail or three, or just people watch. Normand and Louise genuinely want everyone to get the most out of their stay in St Lucia and greet each and every newcomer like an old friend. Normand (quite literally) goes the extra mile; always willing to ferry guests up and down the hill into the bay, or book trips and restaurants. Louise provides an excellent breakfast with homemade cake and muffins daily. We have just returned from a thoroughly relaxing and enjoyable stay in a beautiful location. Lovely.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 4 on the upper floor - spacious room with a smart bathroom and lovely views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JPD37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
530
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The Inn on the Bay is a gem of a place. The value you get is incredible - for a very reasonable price, my husband and I were treated to a pristine property, a spacious and clean room, views to rival all others (from both the front balcony and from our bathroom) and an incredibly nice and funny (especially Normand!) couple. He does anything and everything you ask and tries to cater the stay to each guest's desires. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WienyLang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

If you want somewhere different then the usual resort type experience go to The Inn On the Bay, it really is something unique and special Louise and Normand are perfect hosts and go that extra mile to do whatever they can for you to make your holiday as carefree and relaxing as possible. You arrive not knowing anyone and even after our 4 days therewe left feeling like we'd met new friends. Marigot Bay is beautiful and the Inn On the Bay perched high up on the hill has stunning views on both sides, on one you can watch the sunrise and the other watch it go down whilst sampling the local rum! Like most people I picked the Inn from the reviews in Tripadvisor and for once the reviews were all true! It's a wonderful place with wonderful hosts and wonderful location. Already thinking of when we can go back.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TracyPren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Inn On The Bay last November to celebrate a special birthday and I couldn't have wished for anything more. I chose the Inn mainly due to the reviews on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed.....everything you read is true! Normand and Louise are the perfect hosts and nothing was ever too much trouble. Our room was spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. We enjoyed breakfast by the pool with stunning views overlooking the bay and Louise's freshly baked bread and muffins were to die for! Normand is very knowledgeable about the island and helped us arrange our outings including trips to Castries, Pigeon Island and Anse La Raye. The highlight of our trip would have to be my birthday when we went "zip lining" through the rainforest followed by a wonderful meal at The Rainforest Hideaway across the bay in the evening.

I would also recommend a visit to Soufriere if you are looking for a more cultural atmosphere with dinner at The Hummingbird Beach Hotel.

We travelled on to Barbados from St Lucia and although it was lovely it just didn't compare to our fabulous trip to St Lucia and our stay at The Inn On The Bay! Thank you Normand and Louise for helping to make my birthday a very special memory!

Gerry & Steve

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Detroit, MI, USA
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

So glad we chose The Inn. Our friends stayed elsewhere on the Bay, and we were always glad to come back to our piece of paradise. Norm and Louise were wonderful and knowledgeable hosts, and their recommendations were always great. We stayed in Room #4 and loved it. You can never get tired of the views, either.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank SueMooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. John
2 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2014

"Arrive a stranger....leave as a friend".

The Inn on the Bay is perfectly located in the community of Marigot Bay. You can view the sunrise with a cup of coffee from the poolside verandah...and enjoy the sunset with a cocktail from the deck on the west. Rooms are spacious, updated and clean. There is no shortage of personalized excursions, restaurant recommendations, nor local information from your hosts. Guests are provided with a local cell phone with Normand's number....adding to that feeling of comfort on an island. Basically, my husband and I extended the length of our stay primarily because of our excellent and gracious hosts, Louise and Normand. The personalized service makes all the difference!

Having stayed at Inn on the Bay we can easily understand why this inn is rated #1 on Trip Advisor!

Room Tip: Room #1 is our #1 choice! You can select rooms away from the pool for more privacy, or select rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My boyfriend and I spent 7 nights here in March and couldn't be happier with our choice. True to the reviews, Normand and Louise are adorable and we felt totally at home. Normand helped me surprise my boyfriend with a bottle of champagne for his birthday, which was very appreciated. Plus, on our last night, they invited all of the hotel guests for a glass of wine on the terrace and it really was exemplary of Norm and Louise's fabulous hospitality.

The breakfast every morning was great (homemade muffins baked by Louise, grapes, melon, bananas, coconut, papaya, bread, butter, jam, tea, coffee) and they leave the breakfast room open for tea / drinks throughout the afternoon and evening. Finally, the view is really fabulous and the pictures don't do it justice!

A few practical recommendations for future guests:

- We rented a car and found that it gave us more freedom to visit outside of Marigot Bay. We went to Reduit Beach once (35-40 min from hotel) and then Anse Cochon (~20 min from hotel) almost all of the other days.

- There are restaurants to eat at near Reduit Beach, but for Anse Cochon, the restaurant at the beach at the Ti Kaye Resort wouldn't serve non-hotel guests on our last day there, so pack a sandwich if you want to stay the whole day

- Normand can arrange a boat tour for a day where you visit Anse Cochon, Anse Chastanet, and Sugar Beach. Worth it considering that it's an hour+ drive to Sugar Beach. Ask him for the rate.

- There is shampoo and liquid soap in the bathrooms but no moisturizing lotion or conditioner, so if you're particular about your spa products, take a few of your own with you

- There are a bunch of restaurants around Marigot Bay, so the location is good for your evening dinner. However, budget ~$100 / couple per dinner if you want to have a drink and dessert with your meal.

- If you're a runner, the beaches aren't really long enough for a good run, so count on doing most of your runs on the roads, which are very, very hilly!

In short, we would not hesitate to stay here again and in addition to having a wonderful experience, we feel like we came away with new friends.

Room Tip: Room #5 is the most private if you are in honeymoon mode and want to be more isolated
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nycpomme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
936 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
656 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
832 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing