We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Customer Service”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Customer Service”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Norm and Louise are great hosts. Norm has a good variety of breakfast items. After the first day when I asked for ice for my coffee, Norm had a cold cup of coffee waiting for me every day! If you need something, just ask Norm and if it's in his power (and within reason) I'm sure he'll make it work for you. Norm made all of our taxi and food reservations and personally drove us to the bay multiple times a day. The cell phone he provides is a perfect touch and provides a sense of comfort.

Norm is very knowledgable of the island and took all of the stress of planning out of our vacation. We were confident he would book the best trips. He has done his research to know prices and who is good at what. While he is extremely accommedating, he is not overbearing. He has a great sense of when you want privacy or when you want company.

You really can create any situation you want at The Inn on the Bay. It's in a great location overlooking the bay. The rooms are large, clean and well maintained. The bed was very firm; I could have used a mattress pad. But I'm sure if I had asked, Norm would have got one for me. :)

My vacation was just perfect.

Amy

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    683
    24
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
531
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

We planned a last minute trip to St Lucia with the intent of scouting destinations for our wedding. We were looking for something more personal in order to get more information about St Lucia and options for a wedding of our size and price point. Based on reviews on TripAdvisor, we contacted The Inn On The Bay to see if they had any rooms available. They responded very quickly and offered us their 20% discount for booking within 2 weeks, which was great! When we explained our goal of scouting destinations, Normand and Louise were more than happy to share suggestions on places for us to consider, and offered to chat more with us when we were there.

Upon arrival, we were greeted by Normand and Louise who showed us around the lovely property and helped us into the room we would be staying in. We stayed in the honeymoon suite, which is on the top floor next to Normand and Louise's own quarters. The view was simply amazing! They gave us an overview of the options for dining and exploring, and Normand offered to go over the list of resorts and give his input the following morning.

Not only did Normand give us his opinions on the many resorts St Lucia has, he also had mapped out a plan for us to follow over the next couple of days. It was so incredibly helpful, and with this we were easily able to explore everything we wanted to see within the short amount of time that we were there, and still had a day and a half to actually be on vacation!

We rented a car while we were there because we wanted to explore all of the resorts on the island, but it is definitely not necessary if you're staying at The Inn On The Bay. Normand is always willing to drive you down to the water, where you can eat, relax, or catch a boat to explore the island, and pick you up when you're ready to come back.

We had a wonderful experience and would not hesitate to stay at The Inn On The Bay each and every time we vacation in St Lucia! Normand and Louise are amazing hosts and make this Bed and Breakfast the perfect place to stay!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nichole M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at inn on the bay for our daughters wedding. The view and surroundings are stunning. The inn on the bay offers excellent personalised accommodation, everything to a high standard and nothing is too much trouble for Normand & Louise. The bay has a good range of restaurants and we enjoyed a day bird watching, a day kayaking, as well as a day on a coastal sailing cruise. All this as well as a wedding simply but excellently facilitated by our hosts.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 May 2014

We stayed at the Inn on the Bay because we needed to be close to our son and his fiancée who were staying at a private home in Marigot Bay.

The owner Normand and his wife Louise were our hosts. Normand oversaw every aspect of our stay, from giving us detailed directions from the airport, to booking excursions for us, to making sure I had brewed decaf coffee every day. He was rarely more than a hello away. Louise made sure we had a delicious continental breakfast of fruits, cheeses, cereal, bread and jams, and a different pastry each day.

The location is special, with wonderful views of the bay and sunsets and it also enjoys a cool breeze pretty much all of the time, which keeps the rooms cool through the cross ventilated windows.

Three caveats:
The roads to and from the inn are steep and if you are renting a car, 4-wheel drive is recommended. We rented a Suzuki Jimny, which was fine for getting around for up to 4 people.

Most, if not all, of the restaurants in Marigot Bay are extremely expensive but unless you want to spend more time driving then eating you will probably have to go with the local choices.

Finally, there is no a/c and no TVs in the rooms, so if these are more important to you than peace and tranquility in a beautiful setting then this is not the place for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bebo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Let me just start by saying Normand and Louise are fantastic! We spent 7 lovely days at the Inn on the Bay and could not have been happier. The views are phenomenal, the rooms are spacious and private, and the whole atmosphere is relaxing. Viewing Marigot Bay from the pool was quite a site (exactly like the pictures) and it was only a 5 minute walk down the hill, or a 1 minute drive by Normand, to get to all the restaurants and water activities in Marigot. We never felt pressured to do a thing, but there were also plenty of activities available that Normand could and did arrange for us. He always had preferred taxi drivers and events selected that ensured we were getting the best on the island.
Normand and Louise went out of there way to make everything perfect. Whether it was the fresh baked goods & fruit every morning or serving as our taxi (even taking us to Castries with them!) there was nothing to big or to small that they wouldn't do. We loved staying there and hope to be back soon!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Justin_Rancour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My fiance (at the time) and I originally discovered this gem while exploring options for a destination wedding. We had considered at one point going to a resort, but after our experience at the Inn on the Bay, I could not see us having stayed anywhere else.

Normand was prompt to answer all of my emails prior to our arrival regarding any questions we had about booking excursions on the island, the available accommodations, as well as restaurant options in and around Marigot Bay. He also recommended a wedding planner to help us setup and plan our special day during our stay. Needless to say, everything went well and all of our needs were taken care of.

On our arrival to the inn, we were given a brief tour and shown to our room. Normand set us up with the most private room since we were to be newly weds, a request that I had not asked for prior but was graciously given anyway. No request was too much for Normand as he was able to book all our our excursions, answer any questions about the island, and give us a complimentary lift to and from the bay whenever we needed it (most of the time we walked back and forth, but it was great to have the shuttle option especially after a large dinner and drinks). Furthermore, we met many other kind and fun-loving couples from all over the world during our stay that helped make our experience very memorable and that we were able to book excursions with on the island to help reduce costs. Both Normand and his wife Louise were a delight to stay with and helped make our trip hassle and worry free. The Inn on the Bay is exactly what it promises to be, a relaxing getaway in a serene and private setting with a fantastic view. Normand is a great innkeeper and makes his guests comforts and needs his top priority. The worst part about this trip was having to come back home!

Our trip was perfect in every way and my wife and I are very glad we booked to stay at the Inn on the Bay during our stay in St. Lucia. We will certainly book here again if we travel for our anniversary some day. Thanks again Normand and Louise for a fantastic time and experience!

Room Tip: All of the rooms have an excellent view. I believe we had room 5 which was the most private and had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cwh84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Ditto to everything my boyfriend (AKC23970) said and more! Our week at The Inn On The Bay was the perfect getaway that we both needed - fun, relaxing, beautiful, and thanks to Normand and Louise, absolutely worry free. These top notched hosts, with their personal touch, handled every little detail from the time we booked our trip until we left to come home. We even got an email the next day, making sure we arrived home safely and thanking us for our visit. Words and photos don't fully capture the view, the breeze, the cleanliness, and homey feel that you get here. It really is a "best kept secret" and one that hate to share but I promised Normand I would. You must experience for yourself!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eoh789
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
944 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
658 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing