We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A friendly place with great views over the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
“A friendly place with great views over the Bay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2005

We stayed with Normand and Louise for a couple of days and after several weeks touring the US and staying in hotels it was a refreshing change to feel we were being welcomed into someones home.

Breakfasts and Normands transfer service were great and the position can´t be beat. This has to be one of the best spots to stay, particularly with the construction currently taking place further down the Bay.

Rooms were large, clean, simple and comfortable. Back deck had beautiful views of the sea at sunset and is protected on windy days.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    679
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
526
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (132)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2005

We had a great time on our honeymoon. It is nice and quiet, large comfortable rooms and superb views and breakfasts. The hosts are really friendly and have lots of information on stuff to do locally - we saw a lot more than the folk on package tours. It's 280(ish) steps down the cliff to the water where you can snorkel, or 1km to the beach. At the beach there are lots of good restaurants but the road is pretty terrible. However, Normand the owner will drive you down or pick you up. We'd recommend hiring a 4x4 to really explore the island - it's incredibly beautiful and worth getting off the beaten track. (If you're feeling a bit adventurous you can save on the cab fare to the inn by taking a taxi to Vieux Fort, then a local bus to Castries, then a taxi from there. It's far cheaper and good fun, and doesn't take much longer.)

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2005

We were only there one night because it was close to where we flew in, but we wanted to get down to the Pitons. We got there around 8:30 pm so didn't have much time there. Normand & Louise were very nice and let us check out well past their usual check out time which was very helpful for us so we could go swimming and have lunch in Marigot Bay and then come back, change and pack up. Also helpful with directions to our next place. The only thing to be aware of is that the road to the Inn is pretty long and is very bumpy. I would not want to have to travel it very many times even though Normand will drive you down to the bay.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jey544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2005

The Inn on the Bay was the second location we stayed at during our trip to St Lucia. We had a really warm welcome from Normand and Louise, and they could not have been more helpful in telling us about the area and suggesting restaurants. Any time we wanted to make a trip, Normand supplied details and directions, right down to the best place to stop for lunch! The rooms are spacious and spotless and the pool area is great. Breakfast with an incredible view on the terrace with great company of other guests. A relaxing, peaceful location and highlight of the holiday.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Borehamwood, Herts, UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2005

If you want a large impersonal hotel with 5 star trappings then this is definitely not the place to stay. However, if you want a quiet, relaxing and romantic holiday with the friendliest of hosts then the Inn on the Bay is perfect! Normand and Louise are warm and welcoming people, the views overlooking Marigot Bay are breathtaking, and the room we stayed in, light, airy and quiet. We certainly miss it when we look over our holiday photos.

  • Stayed December 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karlupa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2005

Inn on the Bay is a wonderful, unique hotel in which to spend your holiday. We were there on honeymoon and Norman and Louise made our stay in St Lucia very special. We felt as though we were friends staying at their house rather than guests at a hotel. Louise makes the most delicious muffins for breakfast and to eat in the sunshine on the balcony outside your room overlooking Marigot Bay is a fantastic start to the day. Norman will drive you to the bay whenever you need to go and took us down each evening to eat in one of a selection of restaurants. For longer trips, he arranged transport with reliable, trustworthy taxi drivers - both of car and boat!
I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing, romantic hotel which offers a more intimate experience than the normal all inclusive resorts.

Thank you Norman and Louise for a truly unforgettable honeymoon!

  • Stayed August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2005

Firstly let me re-inforce the other positive reviews on this site that give the Inn on the Bay a very enviable reputation.

If there were awards for customer service in hotels in the same way as the oscars, then we would be getting bored watching Normand and Louise picking up the gong for each category. There is simply nothing to fault these two on their effort to make each and every guest as welcome as possible.

The location of the Inn within Marigot Bay provides a plateau for you to view the beauty and quiet life that encompasses the whole inlet.

We were fortunate to recieve all st.lucian forms of weather whilst staying at the Inn and found that even in the rainy sessions, entertainment could be found with a large array of games and books that is kept literally for a rainy day.

The rooms are cleaned every other day, and with stone floors and plenty of space this was ideal with no disturbances to the relaxation available.

Travelling anywhere from the Inn requires transport other than walking as the Inn resides at the top of a steep road, of course Normand provides this free of charge to anywhere on the Bay - and if you are heading further afield then Albert the taximan can be arranged to pick you up from the door.

St.Lucia definitely offers more than the sandy beaches shown in all the brochures, and the recent history of the island being a ping-pong between Britain and France ensures many eclectic approaches to modern day life.

The Rum is amazing - take the tour - enough said.

One of the restaurants that is on the bay 'The Rainforest Cafe' is excellent, a real find - rum and raisin ice-cream - top of the class.

Anyway - back to the Inn - any downsides?

Nothing at all from our perspective - however this is not a party town by any stretch of the imagination - if you want all night bars, go to Ibiza.

The isolation could be seen as a disadvantage if a large amount of social interaction is what you are looking for, but on the plus side given the commonality of thought in the reviews you are likely to meet several like minded people at the Inn itself.

Thats it - nothing else I can think of as a problem.

Top Tips then...

If you have a GSM phone take it with you as it works there.

Go see the Pitons via the South Sailing Tour that picks you up from the Bay.

Bring back lots of Rum!

Thanks Normand and Louise for a great second week to our honeymoon.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank coldsoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 906 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 801 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing