We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and take in the view with a Piton or two”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Marigot Bay
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Relax and take in the view with a Piton or two”
Reviewed 20 April 2006

We stayed at the Inn on the Bay 14th to 26th March and had an excellent time!!!

What can we say that hasn't already been said a hundred times before... the views are some of the best we have ever seen in the caribbean.

Normand and Louise were the perfect hosts, and went out of their way to be friendly and helpful.

Cheers Normand for the Pitons!!

This is the only accommodation we have stayed in, in the caribbean that actually has "HOT" water, not luke warm like even the best accomodations have.

For anyone worrying about the Discovery project down in the bay... Yes there is mess down there with the development, but where the Inn is you cannot hear or see it, and the restaurants don't suffer at night for dinner because of the work going on. Parking during the daytime down in the bay when we were there was a bit of a nightmare, but they were just finishing a car park for the contractors as we were leaving.

The people in the restaurants seemed really nice especially Chateau Mygo... you've got to try the "Red Diesel" spice rum... it'll knock your socks off :-)

The snorkelling in the smaller bay next to Marigot was absolutely superb - parrot fish, butterfly fish, squid, pufferfish, spotted moray eels to name but a few. You have to wear rock shoes to go out past the low water level, but it's worth it when you're out there. You can get them in sport shops, wall mart etc. You do not need rock shoes to go snorkelling from Doolittles restaurant, we didn't go snorkelling but saw some huge pufferfish at night from the restaurant.

The boat trip from Marigot bay down to Soufrier with Michael at the helm (arranged by Normand) was really good - real sailing and not the "cattlemarans" that sweep in and out of Marigot Bay by day. I must say that the volcano is a bit of a dissapointment - quite small. The Botanical gardens were quite good, although Mamiku gardens on the east coast were better.

Night Time in the Inn is fantastic, with amazing views overlooking the sea and boats moored for the night.

We had a fly-drive for our 12 nights there, and we thought that it was really useful to get out and about when we felt a bit too hot or tired to stay in the sun, and be able to drive to the Coal Pot Restaurant in Castries by night. We also toured the Island with the car, and that was really good, not being tied to deadlines to get on the bus/taxi etc. AND THEY DRIVE ON THE CORRECT SIDE OF THE ROAD!!! (ish).

The Pitons were really beautiful, and we had an amazing view from Ladera for sunday BBQ - that was also good (US$20 per person).

We met some really nice people staying at the Inn, and also next door.

To sum everything up, we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves, and have not been sooo chilled on any holiday we have previously taken, and Normand and Louise rounded off the whole package for us.

Hope this helps make up your mind.

Huw and Helen

Swansea (Wales)

PS we haven't included picutres - they have all been done before and they don't do the Inn justice, you have to see it with your own eyes.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank huwball1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

709 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    682
    23
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
10
529
12
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Grass Valley, California
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Inn for four days in late February-early March; we would have stayed longer but the Inn was booked. Normand and Louise were very prompt in securing our reservation and assisting with our airport arrival with a minimum of advance notice on our part.

We visited a dozen islands on our five-week vacation and the Inn at Marigot Bay on beautiful St. Lucia was our favorite memory. The location is spectacular, the hosts are warm and friendly and very accomodating to all the needs of their guests who are treated like family. The rooms are spacious, airy, comfortable and clean (thank you, Rose). There is a nice clean pool for a cooling plunge though we never used it, preferring to enjoy the beach at Doolittle's on the bay. The breakfasts feature Louise's very tasty homemade treats and tropical fruits, good strong coffee, served on a delightful patio with spectacular views.

Excursions are easily arranged by Normand who has reliable, safe drivers at his beck and call. Albert helped me locate a long-lost St. Lucian friend who I stayed with 39 years ago; we drove from village to town until we made contact (everyone seems to know everyone else on St. Lucia!). Seldon was our skipper on a great sailing trip down the coast to the Pitons. Other guests at the Inn easily became friends on these trips, which is much harder to do in the more impersonal, larger resorts.

Normand was always available when requested to drop us off or pick us up at the beach or a restaurant at Marigot. We never had to wait after calling him and he always had a smile for us even if we called during his evening meal. Louise and Normand brought everyone together for sundowners featuring French wine and fabulous sunsets on the front deck.

We will be among the many repeat visitors at the Inn on the Bay in the future. Thanks to Normand and Louise for making this such a special place, a real island jewel.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Brima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2006

This was our first trip to St. Lucia, and our hosts, Normand and Louise, made our vacation better than we could have hoped. They went out of their way to arrange side trips for us and ensure that we got the most out of our visit. Their small comfortable inn has the best views of Marigot Bay where the original Dr. Doolittle movie was filmed. If you enjoy nature, birding, tropical shubbery or just plain relaxing we highly recommend the Inn on the Bay! We especially enjoyed Louise's wonderful breakfast buffet and Normand's friendly banter and quick wit.
All in all, it was a wonderful getaway!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Rooms
Helpful?
5 Thank nannylou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, OH
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Inn on the Bay for about 5 days and just love it! Normand and Louise are such wonderful hosts. The breakfast is delious fresh baked breads and muffins, fresh fruit from the island, all made for a wonderful experience. The hospitality is incredible! Normand is always willing to give you a ride to the town for lunch, dinner, or to hang out at the beach! The 300 steps to the water from their home is a hike, but well worth it! A little rocky at the bottom, but there is great snorkeling. The trips he can book for you are incredible also! A day trip to the capital city, Castries, or a day sailing cruise to the Pitons are magnificent! I would recommend this inn to anyone staying in St. Lucia!

Thank you!

Amy & Rich

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AmyTV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Riding of Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2006

We have just returned from a perfectly delightful 11 night stay with hosts Normand & Louise.

Much has been written about Inn on the Bay and it truly deserves the outstanding comments posted.

The location, mine hosts,the accomodation & the lack of tourist bustle is a perfect combination for a relaxing, memorable holiday.

The views from both side of the property are truly stunning! The decked area and garden facing south deserve a special mention for views and spectacular sunsets.

The rooms are a good size with the added benifit of 'natural air conditioning' whereby the constant breezes blow gently through the rooms keeping them fresh and cool.

Breakfasts are delicious with fruits, breads, home baking, cereals, teas [from a selection], coffee & fruit juices.

We hired a car and benifitted from being able to explore the island ourselves, but the 'in house' taxi driver Albert can fulfill this option if needed.

There is a wonderful ambiance to the place with much witty conversation amongst the quests, Noramnd & Louise. Perhaps more of a 'house party' than Inn? A truly marvelous place to stay whilst in ST Lucia.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank sharlot-roos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2006

We stayed at the Inn on the Bay in November lasty year. Normand was an absolute fantastic host- Nothing was too much trouble, and he was happy to organise, advise and suppor without being pushy. His willingness to fetch us to and fro from the Bay was much appreciiated.

The setting is breathtaking, and meeting up with the other guests in the morning over breakfast and the glorious bay view at the same time was awe inspiring.

The rooms were spacious, well maintained and ver y clean. There was plenty of choice for breakfast.

Louise (Normand's better half) was always there with a smile and a steady hand to Normand's enthusiasm.
We would recommend this is a brilliant place for anyone.

Mohammed and Caroline

Stayed November 2005
Helpful?
4 Thank Mossadaq1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Howard Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2006

We have just returned from a wonderful, relaxing stay
at "The Inn on the Bay" owned and hosted by Norman
and Louise Viau. This small Inn sits a top Marigot
Bay on St. Lucia and offers one of the most spectacular views in the Caribbean. The hosts, Norman and Louise, are attentive and very thoughtful as they help with all your island plans and arrangements. They provide a marvelous morning
breakfast with fesh baked goods, island fruits,
juice and a very memorable cup of coffee. Their rooms are spacious and confortable with a marvelous view of Marigot Bay below. If you're planning a trip to St. Lucia we highly suggest you book your stay here
as you could not ask for a more accomodating host,
comfortable room, or view of magnificent Marigot Bay.

Helpful?
6 Thank MINNESOTAJOHNSON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
4.5 of 5 bubbles 917 reviews
6.1 mi away
Villa Beach Cottages
Villa Beach Cottages
#1 of 12 in Castries
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
0.5 mi away
Capella Marigot Bay Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 12 in Gros Islet
5.0 of 5 bubbles 811 reviews
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
10.7 mi away
Cap Maison
Cap Maison
#2 of 4 in Cap Estate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Property: The Inn On The Bay
Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing