We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slice of Heaven”
Review of The Inn On The Bay

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Inn On The Bay
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 July 2010

We stayed at The Inn On The Bay for 3 nights in early June 2010. The view of the bay was hands down the best! It was comfortable, safe and romantic. If you like a peaceful, restful place to vacation at, the Inn On The Bay is perfect. Louise and Normand were extremely welcoming and made you feel quite at home. Get the honeymoon suite if possible (room upstairs) as it has the best view, most private, recently remodeled and decorated tastefully. Although the others were also nice.
The pool was small but heavenly and always clean. The grounds were very exotic and kept up beautifully!

The only con to this place would be that it is about 1 mile or so from small town/beach/harbor so you may not always want to walk (as its a steep hill on the climb back) so you have to coordinate rides with Normand. He does this cheerfully and for free up to 10pm but it requires scheduling which limits spontaneous leisure. And other then breakfast, which was great, you need to plan all other meals out. 3 nights was the perfect amount of time, as activities are limited for those who need more action.

All in all, it was our favorite place to stay on the island for true relaxation and romance.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ginols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (712)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

462 - 468 of 712 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2010

We decided to stay at the Inn On The Bay after reading excellent reviews and we have to agree - it was a good choice. You can find out everything you want to know in other reviews, so really not sure what else to add...
From the very beginning, when we contacted Norman to request some info regarding accommodation and booking, he was quick to answer all the questions and very helpful.
We were also impressed by our big and spacious room at the top floor which gave us extra privacy (the only disadvantage were singing birds who woke us up early in the morning :) ) We enjoyed breathtaking views, beautiful bay, and trips around the island. Wonderfull place to spend holidays for couples.
There are "secret" steps leading down to the sea. If you want to snorkel it is well worth the effort. Forget snorkelling at the big resorts on the island- this is better (no wonder so many boats anchor there to enjoy the sea life).

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaniM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2010

I really like The Inn on The Bay! I would go back anytime! Was the best idea to stay there while visiting St. Lucia. The owners are so so so nice and helpful! VERY NICE STAY! Great breakfast!! :)

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ElisabethM28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

We originally chose this hotel based on the TripAdvisor reviews and they were more than accurate! Normand and Louise truly make this a wonderful hotel and turn visiting St. Lucia into something more akin to visiting friends who let you stay at their house. From the communication prior to arrival to make sure everything is set up through our stay, they were incredibly helpful, friendly and just all around great!

The rooms themselves are spacious and well-appointed. The bed was comfortable, the shower and bathroom large and there was a couch and lots of closet space. The room was clean and quiet, with only the sounds of crickets and frogs to lull us to sleep at night.

Every morning Normand and Louise put out a spread of fresh fruit, breads, cereal, coffee, tea, juice and fresh baked muffins (banana on the first day, then chocolate chip and then blueberry). Everything was delicious and they were always there to greet us and help arrange any activities we needed.

The hotel has a small pool that we didn't use, but i'm sure is fine. It is situated at the top of the hill on Marigot Bay which has positives and negatives. There is no immediate beach access, but if you are in decent shape you can walk down the steep steps to the bay below and swim. Or Normand will drive you down to the Marina where you can take a $2 round trip (US) ferry across to the beach. I guess you could just swim across, but then you need a dry bag :).

Marigot Bay itself is a small little town with a Marina, several restaurants, and lots of activities at your door step. Normand and Louise will help arrange anything and everything for you and can provide helpful tips. It does not have a touristy feel, and the hotel itself really does make it feel like your a bit of a local and just enjoying the town.

I would highly recommend this to anyone that doesn't want the tourist experience, but instead wants a quiet location with a beautiful Bay view and incredibly friendly staff. This was one of the least expensive lodging choices and the value is worth much more than they charge. Stay here if you can, I know I will again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NautArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Amazing...we really can't say enough about The Inn on the Bay and how much we enjoyed our stay. The scenery was fantastic. We didn't want to have a typical, resort type of honeymoon...we wanted a romantic get-away and the Inn was just that for us. The service was better than excellent - it was superb. We were so impressed and each day felt like one spent in paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JRSmith8806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2010

Ok, so I have to apologize, as this review is about a month late. My tardiness should not be confused with our love and adoration for the Inn on the Bay. Normand and Louise have been amazing hosts, sharing their home and catering to our every need. Whether we wanted to watch the sunset on the front porch eating brie and baguettes or waking up with a generous portion of fruits, jams, cheese, etc, our stay was filled with beautiful scenery and even better food! The inn was clean, the views beautiful, and we never felt like we missed a beat with our super attentive host with great input on things to do. Marigot Bay was simply a dream come true.

We actually split the trip in half, starting at Rodney Bay to experience the more local side of the island. There we focused our trip on the lively beach, 2 for 1 drink specials, the "jump Up", and a sailing tour (that actually could have been done from Marigot if we wanted). The second part of the trip was coordinated to be more restful, landing us in Marigot Bay. There we snorkeled (walking straight from our bedroom door 300 steps to our private snorkeling area). We went to the rainforest and sat at the Marigot Beach reading under the shade of palm trees for hours. Each night was a filled with amazing food at the restaurants in the area. Our favorites were Rainforest Hideaway for a romantic (expensive) experience, Hurricane Hole (more low key, outside of the Discovery Hotel), and Julieta's for a local experience overlooking the entire bay. Norman arranged transportation to each of the places which was so nice.

Inn at the Bay lived up to the reviews we read on the site. We are really pleased we selected this bed and breakfast, and would recommend it to anyone looking for a nice, romantic stay.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank smocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2010

We had a wonderful time at the Inn on the bay, and in St. Lucia, too! The sight is beautiful!
Our room was big, clean and we felt well there! The warmth of the pool was genial. We spended hours in it! Marigot Bay is realy a wonderful point. You can snorkle down the staircases directly at the inn on the bay, or drive by watertaxi to one of our two favourite beaches with very nice reefs, Anse Chastanet or Anse Couchon. Normand and Louise organised every trip we want to do. The hotel lays on the top of the bay, Normand has a shuttleservice that makes this for people who don´t want walk the 10 minutes to a no problem! (I´m sorry my english is not so good, i hope you understand;-))
We loved our holidays there so much!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank joypap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Marigot Bay
7.6 mi away
Jade Mountain Resort
Jade Mountain Resort
#1 of 11 in Soufriere
955 reviews
7.2 mi away
East Winds
East Winds
#1 of 13 in Gros Islet
857 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marigot Bay Resort and Marina by Capella
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
Sugar Beach, A Viceroy Resort
9.3 mi away
Ladera Resort
Ladera Resort
#2 of 11 in Soufriere
1,275 reviews
7.7 mi away
Anse Chastanet
Anse Chastanet
#5 of 11 in Soufriere
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn On The Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn On The Bay

Address: Seaview Avenue, Marigot Bay SLU, St. Lucia
Phone Number:
Region: Caribbean > St. Lucia > Castries Quarter > Marigot Bay
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Marigot Bay
Price Range: £239 - £241 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in paradise between beautiful Marigot Bay and the deep blue Caribbean Sea, The Inn On The Bay will sweep you away with its breathtaking view from Sunrise to Sunset. With only five comfortable guest rooms in all, The Inn On The Bay is about as far away from conventional, all inclusive and tourist resorts as you can get... and our special guests wouldn’t have it any other way! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Inn On The Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn On The Bay Hotel Marigot Bay
Hotel On The Bay
On The Bay Marigot

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing